We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent nice n cosy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gort Gower

Stunning views from the cottage across to Dingle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views from the cottage across to Dingle
The cottage is one of a pair once owned by The Knight of Kerry Living and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Stunning views from the cottage across to Dingle
The cottage is one of a pair once owned by The Knight of Kerry
Living and dining area
Kitchen
Ground floor bedroom 1
View from the front door of the cottage
Glanleam beach on Valentia
The slate quarry and grotto on Valentia
Ist floor family bedroom
Ground floor bedroom 2
The cottage rear garden (another picture below)
Valentia from Renard Point
Skelligs Islands - see where Luke Skywalker lives!
Ballyinskelligs beach near Valentia Island
View towards valentia lighthouse from Glanleam
Gort Gower Cottage, Valentia Island, Co Kerry
Kenmare on the Ring of Kerry
View of bray head from coffee shop on Valentia
The cottage rear garden
Rossbeigh - fishing at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Valentia Island, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent nice n cosy”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely stay in Gort Gower. Nice cosy cottage suitable for all the family. Great views and nice walks from the cottage.
Maureen was very helpful also. Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comments glad you had a good holiday and enjoyed the cottage; you are very welcome at any time. Regards Susanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazzyg201...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gort Gower, Vantentia”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Gort Gower, on Valentia Island, Co.Kerry is a beautiful old fashioned cottage in a stunning location.
My family and I spent a week there in August and had a very pleasant stay.
The cottage is very well equipped, however lacks all mod cons...
Maureen will look after any need you have and is a credit to the owners...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Hi Karen thanks for this - so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we agree Maureen is a gem! We try and keep a balance between maintaining the cottage character and fitting mod cons but always open to adding where we can, so thank you. I do hope we can welcome you back again one day. Regards Susanne .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kya R
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Glorious views.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The situation of the cottage cannot be faulted. Panoramic views in from East to West right out the front door. The cottage is modest but comfortable and an ideal location for touring the area of Valentia and the entire Ring of Kerry. We were blessed with great weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Hello Kya thanks very much for the review - yes the cottage is in a beautiful location and we love being able to welcome guests to enjoy it and Valentia - whatever the weather! Hope you come and stay again sometime. Kind regards Susanne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Gort Gower is a beautiful, peacefull haven on the island of Valentia. We had lovely weather for the time of year and the views from the cottage are stunning. Would highly recommend for a 'get away from it all' holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you, glad you had a relaxing time and we can welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe...
1 review
“Wonderful place, and wonderful people”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I travelled in august alone with my two daughters (8 & 12).
The location is really fantastic: the view on the bay, the lighthouse and the islands around is unique. I woke up everyday with that wonderful image.

The place was really confortable, enough room for everyone, and we really enjoyed the open fire. The kitchen is well equiped with everything needed to cook.

There are many possibilities for walks around the house (the lighthouse, the grotto, ...), and you should not miss a trip to Skelling Michael during your stay!

To sum-up, we had a wonderful time, and wished we could have more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Philipe thank you for your review, so glad you and the family enjoyed the cottage and Valentia - we look forward to welcoming you again one day soon!
Kind regards
Susanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie693
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The warm welcome from Maureen started the holiday off very well indeed; she is a fabulous host. Conviviality, incredibly beautiful landscapes, seascapes and great food and hospitality are the keynotes of a holiday on Valentia island. The cottage has breathtaking views, is quite rustic with background heat provided by the storage heaters; the open fire is very welcome. The garden is lovely and well kept. Off street parking on the drive too.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A great location and everything that is needed for a great holiday- lovely host, warm welcome and great communication. Lovely neat garden. Open Fire was very welcome during a blustery week.
Liked least: No shower-other than shower head over the bath-I missed this on the advertising blurb.Cold bathroom. Garden furniture would be great for sitting/dining outdoors, especially with that view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edel M
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Scenery”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and three children, two of whom are teenagers and one a young child. The cottage is in a beautiful location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. It's approximately two miles from the village, Knightstown. The cottage is pleasant , traditional and well-equipped for self-catering. It has an open fireplace and electric heating. It may be a little too cold for those who are used to warmer indoor temperatures but we were happy with our rustic experience.
As a family, we enjoy outdoor activities and were pleased with what Valentia had to offer. We enjoyed long walks and cycles around the island and made great use of the water activities in Knightstown. There is also a children's playground and tennis court there.
We particularly enjoyed the walk up Bray Head, the Valentia Heritage Centre and the second hand bookshop in Knightstown Coffee Shop. The stained glass windows in St. John's Church are very beautiful.
The scenery is breathtaking and the people are friendly. Valentia Island is a great escape from the demands of the modern world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing