We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mimidiamond
Rome, Italy

Lovely!

Review of Glanleam House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 3, 2019
We stayed in the Boathouse on the beach for one night and it was just fantastic. The place is magic and well equipped, but more suitable for longer stays. Jessica and Eoin have been really nice and hospitable and we adored their two dogs, Sandy and Duke up at the mainhouse. The little beach is lovely and secluded. If you need a break from your frenzy life, there is no better place.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Front view
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Glanleam House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    C$195
0.8 km from Glanleam House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Glanleam House
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.9 km from Glanleam House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from Glanleam House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from Glanleam House
    • Vio.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    5.1 km from Glanleam House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      2.3 km from Glanleam House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$135
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        C$135
      6.4 km from Glanleam House
      View more hotels in Valentia Island
      Reviews (76)
      Filter reviews
      76 results
      Traveller rating
      50
      8
      2
      1
      15
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      50
      8
      2
      1
      15
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      14 - 19 of 76 reviews
      Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

      Very comfortable house with 4 bedrooms, enough space to sleep 8 people, large lounge and fully equipped kitchen and dining room. Acres of great walks through lush gardens where to can see exotic species of plants and trees. The hosts Eoin and Jessica were very welcoming and down to earth, and the house was exceptionally clean.

      Date of stay: March 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Sudhir M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

      We just came back from Valentia .We spend a weekend in Boat house on the beach.This house is a part of those lovely garden. The view is incredable.House is big enough,very comfortable and warm.Very private ..so great time there .We can't wait to backe there again .

      Date of stay: December 2018
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank koliberek
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed October 10, 2018

      We stayed at Glanleam House the night before our Skellig Michael landing tour. The home is an old linen mill from the 1700s transformed into a guest house. It is quite secluded and located down a very narrow and almost overgrown road. It is peaceful and quiet. The property is beautiful and has a number of trails meandering through it. I wish we would have gotten to spend more time there, we do wish we would have booked 2 nights just to be able to experience the place for one more night. Our room was upgraded to a seaview room, it was beautifully furnished with antiques and spotless. The breakfast was served around a large dining table and was a special experience. The hosts are fantastic and hospitable. I would not hesitate to recommend this amazing place for anyone looking for a unique getaway and experience. It was a highlight of our vacation.

      Date of stay: September 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank Renee S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

      Before landing at Skelig Michael me and my family spent a night in the Glamleam House. The hosts were very kind preparing us an early breakfast and letting us benefit from a late check out. Beatiful sightseeing for the sea. I am addicted to lighthouses, so visiting the Valentia Island only 15 min walking distance passing through the Gardens is a must.

      Date of stay: August 2018
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank AAzevedo616
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 6, 2018

      We stayed for an extra night here (having escaped from another place a day early) and fell in love with it all: the house, the garden, the astonishing views, and the family (including the children and dogs) who own and run it.

      The house is vast, and old, and surrounded by a subtropical garden laid out in the 19th century which was restored some time in the 1970s.

      It is a family house, as evidenced by the wellies, buckets, trikes and other children's' flotsam and jetsam lying about. It is emphatically not a corporate sort of a place.

      The huge bedroom had a marvellous view of the bay, loads of storage space and a very large very comfortable bed. The bathroom was fine, with plenty of hot water.There was an enormous lounge, and dining room (with open fire), where we enjoyed a beautifully served, delicious home cooked breakfast: orange juice specially squeezed from fresh oranges in the kitchen; cereals, yogurt etc; the full cooked Irish, or variations thereof; fresh tea and coffee; all sorts of wonderful breads; and butter and jams properly put out in dishes.

      But the best thing of all was the relaxed warmth of the welcome and the hospitality. Jessica, Eoin, and Jessica's mother Meta run the house as a bed and breakfast, with benefits... nothing is too much trouble for them. When we went out to dinner, they offered to take and collect us from Knights Town, about a mile away. Breakfast essentially is when you want it.They seemed never too busy to answer a query or give advice, or just to chat.
      We would go back like a shot.

      Date of stay: September 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank MCrisell
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews