We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The West Cork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Delighted with our recent stay at the West Cork. We were a bit dubious after the last review but we had a wonderful time there. Our room was a comfortable size with a double & single bed. Very nice decor in gold & red, with a very comfortable bed. We had a lovely view of the river & experienced NO noise whatsoever. The room & bathroom were spotless with plenty of towels, shampoo, shower gel & shower caps. The West Cork excels when it comes to the food.. we had breakfast both mornings with a large menu cooked to order, the eggs benedict & french toast with almonds & banans just incredible.. plenty of fresh fruits, juices & home made delicious brown seed bread not to be missed.. freshly baked scones etc.. & the usual yoghurts & cereals with an added bonus of a ground & chopped nut muslie ( must be a chef special as I've never eaten anything like it before ), Dinner was a treat & All the food was just delicious.. the garlic mushrooms a must :) top class food I must say - compliments to their Chef... The bar menu is the same as the restaurant so no compromising there! We loved the little Snug bar at the entrance... nearby Mizen head is well worth a visit as is Skull's marina.. Overall we had a wonderful time, with special thanks to the staff for making our visit a thoroughly enjoyable one.. Go raibh maith agat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not beneath another room.. this will have a skylight giving wonderful natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay at The West Cork Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor - I'll pass on your compliments to our Chef! Hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Edel O'Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Like many hotels in Ireland the West Cork seems to shoot for average as their standard. The first room they housed us in had a small portal for a window that showed the true structure of the hotel is simply a series of pre-fabs. The entirety of this window was consumed with an extractor fan and every inch of the room vibrated with its perpetual hum. Upon request they provided us with another room which was perfectly adequate and comfortable.

For breakfast we waited 45 minutes and the scatty waitress blamed every one but herself for the fact that she neglected to pass our order to the kitchen. When the food arrived the produce was bottom of the rung and did not compare on any level to the meal that we were served the following morning by their contemporaries in a B&B around the corner.

However, all was not lost for this hotel for when we arrived a little late the evening before and we were past the closing time of the kitchen a very friendly waitress went out of her way to ensure we went to bed with food in our tummies.

Investigate your B&B options in Skibbereen before you fall back on this so called 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crosthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the West Cork Hotel for 2 nights and I would highly recommend it to everyone.
The food was very good and the room very comfortable and the staff were really friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eabhamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a hotel that has everything. Stayed here for a wedding and I can't rate it high enough. Honestly without a doubt one of the finest hotels in west cork. When we checked in the receptionist said breakfast is served up to 12. I said do you mean 10 she said no up to 12. How great is that knowing weddings go on late and you won't miss breakfast. The meal was so delicious and was piping hot. The service was great and the staff are genuinely helpful and friendly. Fantastic room comfy bed with 2 pillows instead of the standard 1 pillow and great size bathroom. If we didn't live in the next town we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Love this place. Was looking for a pad to head off from to tour round the Ring of Beara and this is it. A brilliant room, really great bar and restaurant and the beef I had for my first nights meal was make ya mouth water stuff. Classic breakfast, with porridge to keep you going all day. Really friendly service from all the staff. Car park at the rear which is such a plus. And perfect situation and location for heading off out into the landscape and exploring the wonderful, beautiful surrounding area. Top marks

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently had the afternoon tea in the West Cork. It was fantastic. it came on beautiful crockery with a 3 tiered plate. the chicken mustard sandwich was particularily good...The scones were still warm and as light as a feather. The lemon meringue pie was undoutedly my favourite though. It was such good value I will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Foyer & Dining Room of this Hotel were very welcoming so first impressions were very good. The serving staff were generally friendly and efficient..one or two were perhaps a bit brusque. The evening Menu & food was of a good standard & breakfast was adequate..
We were on a bargain break for two nights so I presume we were not given the best bedroom...however I did expect better than the one we were allocated. It was small with a double bed rather than the more usual king size in hotels now a days and a small window. It had a shower only which was ok for us but on the 2nd morning the water was almost cold at 9.30am. There seemed to be a very regular noise of fans buzzing during the night. The main reason I would never recommend this Hotel was the very stained cover particularly on the Dressing table stool & also on the bedroom chair. I just did not feel comfortable in this room. The T.V only appeared to have one Channel operating though this did not bother us. Why did I not mention this before checking out...Well I was waiting for the Receptionist to enquire about our stay (they usually do)...but when she did not bother to ask I did not bother to inform her.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan_392012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
19.3 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,213 reviews
17.0 km away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
715 reviews
9.7 km away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
22.2 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
29.4 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Cork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Cork Hotel

Address: Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Price Range: $115 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Cork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking full advantage of the peaceful River Ilen views, The West Cork Hotel offers the best of both worlds – tranquility and location. Situated in the town centre, with all that Skibbereen & the surrounding area has to offer on our doorstep, the hotel is more than ideal for a complete break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. 34 spacious, uniquely decorated guestrooms satisfy a variety of accommodation requirements, with many offering river views. The Ilen Bar is a place of relaxation, with luxurious leather seating and a delicious bar menu for a swift, casual snack. For those with more time to enjoy a leisurely bite – the Restaurant offers a carvery lunch by day, and full a la carte menu by night, featuring many of the local food producers on our menus.We are the ideal choice for those on business, those looking for an activity based holiday and those of you that just wish to kick back and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The West Cork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cork Skibbereen
Hotel West Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing