We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely peaceful romantic getaway”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful romantic getaway”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

stayed recently in riverbank barn for two nights
had a lovely stay and only fault i can find is my own for not booking extra days
champagne on arrival was lovely gesture and food delivery from the town to the cottage is a godsend!!
will be back again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villamancork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    50
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
15
413
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Spent two nights in Riverbank Barn - it was absolutely outstanding, so cosy and warm, ridiculously romantic, everything you need at your fingertips! Big, really comfortable bed, brought candles with me to set the mood but didn't need to - they were already everywhere! Jacuzzi was amazing - hot-tub was even more amazing, loved the vintage decor, sky tv, there were even books and dvds left there for us!! We did our shopping and had bought steak, when back at the cottage we realised we had forgot to buy oil to cook the steak in - looked in the cupboard, it was already there!! We just thought it was fantastic, couldn't have asked for anything more, thought the champagne and the big white bathrobes were a beautiful touch - we just did not want to go home, will be visiting riverbank barn again and again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

So cosey and chilled out, everything we needed was there the cottage was perfect with plenty of character and charm, one of the best weekends we had as a couple and will be back!!
Des

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny278803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

just back fom spending two nights in lassonroe cottage with my boyfriend and have to admit we were fairly depressed leaving. The cottage itself was fantastic. very spacious, big flat screen tv with sky plus and movies. we were given a bottle of champagne and a lovely note on arrival to the cottage and bathrobes and slippers. the jacuzzi bath and hottub were brilliant and very relaxing. we had no complaints and were regretting not spending longer there. would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice quiet romantic peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Rented one of the small cottages for new years. Emailed to say we would be arriving between 3.30-4, arrived at 3.30 and a lovely lady called Brenda showed us around and told us that Peter and Ann deal with the payment and that they would be back soon. We waited until 4.15 (as the check-in time is 4) and then decided to go do a bit of shopping, we got into the car and as we were pulling out P and A arrived home and A asked us to park again and come in and pay... I thought it could of waited until we got back. While we were in the hall of the main house waiting for A to get the paper work, P walked through talking on the phone and didnt even acknowledge us, even it if was a business call I would expect him to at least smile/come say hello after.
Anyways, cottage was lovely. Christmas tree and champagne was a lovely touch, a few small complaints; there was a good few cobwebs around... I understand it's a cottage but obviously wasn't dusted that morning. Also the shower it directly under the stairs so the roof of the shower looks like stairs and not very comfortable for a tall person! The wash basket was very was old and dirty... so people won't mind this, I admit I'm a bit obsessed when it comes to things being spotless! The kitchen, bedroom, sky tv was all great. The outdoor hot-tub was lovely as was the table and chairs on the deck but be warned you can see the hot-tub from the back of the main house (although we never saw anyone looking out!)
My last bit of advice it that it is not within walking distance to the town, even if you are prepared to walk the half hour it is a windy country road with no road path. But taxis are easy, paid 7euros into Skib.
Overall nice cottages and a good location to explore west cork.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent 3 lovely days in Cottage 2 in Grove House,the welcome was 5 star ,the accomadation was 5 star and the cottage just made you want to "wrap it up and take it home"
It was and is everything it says on the website.Anna made us very welcome and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubh73
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I decided to head here for two nights after Christmas having read the reviews on tripadvisor. Peter is the perfect host, very polite, warm and trusting. He gave us directions to lassanroe barn as it is not on the same site as Grove House and basically left us to ourselves. When we arrived we had a Christmas tree and a bottle of bubbly waiting for us and a lovely note. The barn is advertised as self catering but I must add I still brought Kitchen towels, oil to cook, milk, coffee sugar etc and honestly I didn't need too everything was there, even a nice touch of milk in the fridge so you could make a cuppa on your arrival. Heating at the barn was timed and broke down the second day, when we rang we were told how to reset it and we stole this opportunity to change it to constant, even at that the bedroom was freezing and damp with signs of mould and mildew throughout. Definitely needs a touch up and wait for Summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
18.4 km away
No photo provided
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,146 reviews
2.4 km away
No photo provided
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
27.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
No photo provided
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
929 reviews
12.0 km away
No photo provided
15.8 km away
No photo provided
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

Property: Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Address: Skibbereen Retirement Village | Coolnagarrane, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Courtyard Skibbereen
Skibbereen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing