We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expacteded after reading Trip Advicer DONT KNOW WHAT PEOPLE WANT FOR WHAT THAY PAY”
Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better then expacteded after reading Trip Advicer DONT KNOW WHAT PEOPLE WANT FOR WHAT THAY PAY”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Fantastic 4 nights stay Hotel first class, Staff Top marks, And Tom Restrant manager
FIRST CLASS Most delightful stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestlOdge55, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to West Cork

We hope to see you again soon

We are enjoying nice warm weather in Bantry and the gardens are perfect for evening walks after dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    184
    130
    72
    60
See reviews for
225
211
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I book a double room May bank holiday week-end. On arrival, I instinctively knew when entering main door, this was not going to be a quality hotel.
Got key to room. What a sight on entering room...dirty material on chair, scratched furniture. Curtains not hooked on properly. Net curtain one width across window. Depressing overall
Space between small double bed and wall, just a vacant wall. One locker. I ultimately returned
room key to reception and went to other hotel for €30 extra....what luxury in other hotel.
Can Westlodge management not "Cop- On" with negative reviews on tripadvisor. Never Again!
What an experience. "One gets what one pays for" Quality reflects price!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bantry hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay in the Pondlodge Cottages, Westlodge Hotel, Bantry.

The cottage on first impression was nice and spacious and clean. However, after being in the cottage a while it became clear that all was not as we thought. There was a stale smell of cigarettes and drink throughout the cottage. A blind in one of the bathrooms had mould all over it and another blind on one of the doors was broken.

The bed linen looked and felt old and the pillows were flat.

The Delph in the kitchen was dirty and the dishwasher did not work.

Staff in the hotel were friendly and the leisure centre was very good and clean.

Hotel grounds are fab and well kept.

I would rate our experience as only 'ok'. Don't think I would stay there again. Glengariff and kenmare look like much nicer places to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skiperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I hate writing bad reviews but... We arrived had driven for 4 hours and went to see the pondlodge cottages we booked part of a deal to find them old, tiny and uncomfortable seating area was wooden seats not couches reminded me of brownie cottage when I was a child. So anyways my friend had had a operation and we were comin for r &r and we asked to move to the hotel which was no problem... Receptionist even said she might be able to arrange breakfast in mornings as we had paid more for the cottage this never happened. So the first night we relaxed and in the morning when I went to shower no cold water!! I was nearly scalded by the way it was 11.30 am. We rang reception and this was sorted in 10 min. We ate in the lobby that day was nice but very basic for the price. 4 sausages and 3 scoops of mash for sausage an mash no veg. Any ways second morning second shower guess what no cold water again!! At 11am in a hotel! Rang reception and was sorted. Now I just thought I would add the staff are very good and super friendly and could not fault them that's why review is a 3*

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irish_fairy_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We had a delightful stay in Bantry and stayed in the Pond Lodge Cottages. Large kitchen and a quiet homelike atmosphere. The staff was first class and very helpful. The dining room staff were very attentative and the food...delicious! I highly recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Bantry. It is about a mile walk to downtown Bantry... walking by Bantry House (the hotel sits on part of the old estate property). Everyone should take the tour of the house and gardens. We will always stay here when in Bantry.

Room Tip: The cottages is always a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestlOdge55, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Good Evening from Bantry
Thank you for your review on the Westlodge. Delighted to have you stay with us when you are in Ireland.
We are enjoying nice Summer weather and the countryside looks great with new season flowers and green trees.
Hope to see you again soon in West Cork.
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Nice hotel we just ate in the restaurant thou, my husband and i had a toasted special each, it was lovely but paid a high price of 6.95 euro i thought it was a lot for a toasted sambo! My friends ate a meal and kids ate free so that was good!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adventurer010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestlOdge55, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Toasted Special.
We appreciate your comment but just to add the the Toasted Special consists of Ham, West Cork Carbery Cheese, Tomato, Onion and is served with Green Salad. We think 6.95 is good value and this is very popular on the Menu.
We do hope it will not deter you from visiting us again.
With best Wishes
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

So we stayed here last week end in the pond lodge cottages which are in the grounds of the Westlodge Hotel,we had a voucher from Boards.ie and this made it a great deal for 4 of us.the cottages are quite nice in a lovely area of the grounds,well equiped with a tv and a small kitchen,there were 2 bedrooms with comfortable beds,seating in the tv room were not great and need up dateing,we had a greeting package of a bottle of red wine 4 scones with butter and jam a block of cheese and strangely 4 eggs in a paper bag.One thing that was missing from the kitchen was a corkscrew,which would have been handy for the complimantry bottle of wine.We used the leisure center which had a nice pool sauna jacuzzi and steam room,there was also a gym which is not obvious,its up some stairs and was not in use you seem to need a code to get in so I did not bother.Big draw back about the place was the menu for the carbery lounge,It was very uninspiring,something out of the 70's with things like egg mayonaise and melon for starters,main courses were equaly boring,needless to say we did not eat here,anyone could prepare these meals,so maybe there is no chef there,if there is he should be ashamed of the menu.We found lovely places to eat in Bantry town,over all though I would recomend the cottages a great base to stay and explore the local and beautiful surounding areas.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages,it would seem from other reviews the hotel rooms are hit and miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestlOdge55, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Good Morning
Thank you for your review of the Pondloge Cottages which are beautifully located overlooking Bantry Bay.

I am sorry to hear that you did not find the Bar Menu good and can assure you that our Head Chef Teddy and his team only use local fresh produce and the Menus in the Restaurant and Bar are constantly reviewed. The Menu will change again on the 1st June for the Summer Season and the ethos is local fresh food simply cooked.
Looking forward to seeing you again and we welcome your review of the cottage and the bar Menu. With Best Wishes Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
1.5 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,145 reviews
1.7 km away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
97 reviews
6.1 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
365 reviews
10.1 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
501 reviews
19.6 km away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing