We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Berehaven Lodge

Lodge exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge exterior
Entrance Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Lodge exterior
Entrance
Dining area
Stairwell
Private decking with furniture
Hallway of lodge
Master Ensuite
Main Bathroom
Twin Ensuite
Master Bathroom
Kitchen in white
Kitchen and Dining
Double Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kayleigh...
Castletown Bearhaven, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had our wedding here in Berehaven Lodge on Thursday 31st December 2015 with over 100 guests. We had an absolutely amazing day and that was down to the hard work and professionalism of Pat and Sarah Jane and all the staff at Berehaven Lodge. The service and food was absolutely excellent and we genuinely could not find fault with anything. In the lead up to the wedding the support and guidance we got from both Pat and Sarah Jane was extremely helpful. Pat called to my house on the morning of the wedding with chocolates and champagne for myself and the bridesmaids-a simple generous touch that means so much in the long run. The lodges themselves were absolutely spotless and so comfortable and our guests were all very impressed. It was lovely to have some food and milk in the fridge when we woke up the next morning as there was no need to rush out to the shop. Finally we cannot thank ye enough for all ye did for us both on New Years Eve and on the days and months leading up to our big day. Pat we are so sorry to hear that you are leaving as you were truly a pleasure to deal with. We both wish you the best of luck in your new endeavours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Dear Kayleigh and Gary.
What can we say. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You were a pleasure to work with. We hope that the day you envisaged was fulfilled. The team enjoyed working with both of you to ensure your Wedding Day was made as special as possible. We hope to see you and Alex and Danny soon.
Congratulations again and we wish you a very happy future together.
Looking forward to the 1st Anniversary Party!
On behalf of Pat and all the staff, Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthouse9...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellant Location and Accommodation.”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Meant to send this review last year !!

On the shores of Bantry Bay, overlooked by Hungry Hill, looking out on to Bere Island and the Atlantic, you will find this lovely holiday location. All the houses looked very nice - ours had ample room for the 6 of us (3 good sized bedrooms / 3 toilet / wash rooms, 2 of which were en-suite). Spacious open planned lounge / kitchen with leather chair's and big fire (if needed). Bright and airy feel about the whole house. Own car parking outside front door and own decking area with furniture. Good good function room / bar with beautiful views. If you are into walking, golf, fishing and good food etc, this is the place to go. Perfect base for exploring Beara and beyond - Will definitely return (hopefully) next year !.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility (and being so fortunate to have had lovely weather)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TL13
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent four nights here as guests of friends and I cannot find fault (well, maybe lack of wifi in the lodge itself, but hey, poor network coverage is not their fault). The lodge is large with a modern decor and all expected amenities thrown in. The location is breathtaking, right on the ocean opposite Bere Island.

We ate in the clubhouse one night and the food was fine. We chose from the bar menu and all six of us were pleased with the choice and quality. The staff were very friendly as we went there every day to fire up the only available on site wifi (and have the odd pint of Murphy's)

Just a couple of miles down the road is Castletownbere where you are sure of a warm welcome with plenty of pubs and restaurants to keep you occupied. It is not a tourist town though, which makes it even better IMO.

We were lucky with the weather but even if it was damp, it's still well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully within the next few months we'll have the fibre optic finally hitting town and there'll be wifi for everyone!!
Regards, Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkVisit...
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a find. Fabulous accommodation in a splendid location. Weather not the best but our lodge more than made up for this. Castletownbere and the Beara Peninsula is a magical place to visit. You gotta go and experience it. Don't tell too many people about the BEREHAVEN LODGE it might be fully booked when you try to book next year !!! Sincere thanks to all at the complex for making our holiday so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks Kerri & Co. The sun is finally shining today so hopefully you will get to make the most of it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious Family Accommodation”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect for family of 6 - ample space. On site restaurant remarkably excellent - even the restaurant space was very child friendly with the oversized Jenga blocks.

Lack of network coverage in Casltetownnbere area could be seen as a positive to switch off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, amenities
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We really hoped you enjoyed your stay and will come back to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drumcondr...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax and unwind.”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we were met with friendliness and efficiency with regard to showing us to our lodge and all the workings within the lodge re Kitchen / TV / washer / dishwasher etc. We were also left a welcome package including brown bread , Clonakilty black and white pudding / tea and coffee , orange juice , and items to get us through the first day or so. We also had a great deck area to enjoy the sunshine. The position of the lodges was excellent and gave plenty of privacy. One small disadvantage was having to travel to Castletownbere if needed to eat in the evening during the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Allover condition of the property and position.
Liked least: Pillows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Hi Billy & Pauline. Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and Rebel of course. During the summer we hope to have the restaurant/bar open 7 days a week with a Bar Food Menu on week days. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhanan...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday house with fabulous views.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and three daughters had a wonderful holiday here and the house was one of the best houses I have ever booked.We had fantastic weather but best experience was swimming down at the jetty.Lots to see and do and we felt very welcome by all the staff.Would definitely recommend this house and would love to return only for the 8hr journey from our home but will be back nonetheless.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing