We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The View With A Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room Looking Out To Sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room
Looking Out To Sea
Roof Terrace with panoramic views of Cork Harbour
Kitchen with granite worktops
Master Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom No 2
Bedroom No 3
Bathroom No 2
Sunny Cobh
Harbour View
Ships passing
Colourful Cobh
The former White Star Line Offices now the Titantic Bar and Restaurant
Looking out to sea
Shiver me timbers !
Some American friends arrive in their own transport ! USS Leyte Gulf
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cobh, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KarDorset
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is a fantastic apartment within a short stroll of all the shops and bars of the wonderful town of Cobh. The apartment is extremely well appointed in a secure building in a central location with fabulous views of the harbour from every room. The apartment is very comfortable and the facilities include a well placed kitchen with all the appliances required and the standard of fixtures and fittings is very good. The beds were extremely comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep for us all and the bathrooms were well fitted with plenty of hot water any time we wanted it. The apartment is immaculate and very well cared for and the huge balcony leading from the living area has the most amazing views and is a fantastic feature. It was truly a delight to stay here and we definitely hope to come back in the future. The owner was very welcoming and extremely helpful and we thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views and comfort of the apartment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Great to hear you had a fantastic time in Cobh. Thank you for your very nice review of the The Waterfront Penthouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS1049...
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Break”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights. The place is as advertised. It is on the waterfront, the views are great and unspoilt and the apartment is decorated to a good standard. The apartment wants for nothing (except a tin opener!).

Location is a couple to minutes walk into town, train station (cheap,regular link into Cork) is just a few minutes more.

Lots to do for 2-3 days in Cobh and Cork without needing a car.

Would also mention that the owner, Ken, is extremely helpful, particularly with the local pubs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location/views
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
Glad you enjoyed your time at The Waterfront Penthouse and our excellent local pubs,particularly the Roaring Donkey.And thanks for the tip about the tin opener - our emergency response team (my wife!)is in action already.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSq007
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This apartment is stunning, very comfortable and Ken was very helpful before and during our stay. Cobh is an interesting destination, I would recommend a car if you are staying more than a couple of nights, although the train link to Cork is good. A great place to spend a few nights at a very reasonable rate. We would definitely stay again if we were travelling around Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Penthouse and thank you very much for your review.As you found there's plenty to see and do around Cobh even outside the busy summer months and car hire can be arranged in the town for anyone wanting to explore further afield.Come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qspencer
Lubbock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll look no further the next time I come this way”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled with a group of 6: parents, 2 kids, and grandparents. We were just looking for something in the Cork area that would fit all of us without spending too much money. We didn't really know anything about Cobh previously, but found the town and the apartment absolutely worth coming back to. The owner was helpful, the apartment was clean, with everything in it brand new. The views from the water are just amazing. I only regret not being able to stay longer. We expect to be back this way in the future, and plan on staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Glad you liked The Waterfront Penthouse and Cobh. Lots of our American visitors really enjoy the town and its historic connections. See you all again soon and thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire I
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just been to stay for the weekend at the Waterfront Penthouse and cannot argue with any of the reviews already written, it is a brilliant place to stay. Ken has a look of Prince Andrew and we can deffinately say that we were treated like royalty. We look forward to our return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brand new condition of the property and the terraced area outside is a deffinate bonus
Liked least: The stairway leading up to the property but this is out of their control
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thanks for the great review and glad you had a great time staying in The Waterfront Penthouse. It's not as big as my granny's house - Buckingham Palace - but we think it has a nicer view !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennis g
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location , amazing penthouse, fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had an amazing time here and it was first class from start to finish. We would like to thank the owners for the luxury penthouse and the information they provided on where to visit while there.
It is a credit to the owners and we would recomend and most definately stay again, a superb luxury penthouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say it was all great, Views were amazing.
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
We're so glad you and your wife had a great time in the Waterfront Penthouse and enjoyed the local pubs and restaurants that we recommended.
Come back soon - there are plenty more for you to try !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise E
Salisbury
1 review
“Six Star Penthouse”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A fabulous stay at The Waterfront Penthouse. The Penthouse is luxurious through out. The views across the ocean were breath taking from the large roof terrace. We felt very lucky to be able to stay in such a lovely place.Thank you Ken for making our weekend in Cobh so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful views from luxurious apartment.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thanks for the great review and so glad you enjoyed our view with a room ! Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing