We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for a family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodges And Mews Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castlemartyr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodges And Mews Houses
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

lodges are simply modern houses, very spacious, well equipped, very comfortable. Great accommodation for a family. Our kids loved the house, the space outside and inside. Very peaceful surroundings. Welcoming basket with wine, fresh bread, jam and milk was a great touch. Gareth(lodges manager) was very helpful and friendly. We used hotel's swimming pool every day, it was really nice and warm. Golf course was perfect. The hotel bar and restaurant were fantastic. €65 4-course dinner was delicious. A bit far from Cork but close enough to Fota, Blarney or Monkey Maze. Perfect for a family break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Loved the lodges second time to stay there. Excellent welcome pack and so nice to arrive into a warm house on a cold evening. Staff in natural retreats and in the hotel are extremely accommodating and nothing is a problem. Love the setting hope to be back! No hesitation in reccomending the place. Very child friendly also.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just back from a family wedding in Castlemartyr We have two small children so we decided to go self-catering and stayed in a mews house adjacent to the hotel, this gave us use of all the hotel facilities but allowed us to be relaxed about mealtimes and noisy kids! The setting of the Resort is spectacular, it is located in fabulous grounds and the hotel itself is lovely, I was in a couple of the rooms and they were well kitted out. Our mews was a 3 bed, two double rooms and a twin room, the bedrooms were a good size but the double with the ensuite had no window in the actual bedroom and was very dark. The living area is combined kitchen/dining/sitting and was small enough but adequate for us, I believe that the living area in the lodges is huge! The kitchen area of our house was very clean (as was the whole house) well equipped and we had been left a little starter kit of tea, coffee, milk, bread and jam, a nice touch as were the little bottles of Molton Brown products in the bathrooms. One small negative for us was the fact that all the water in the house was pumped so everytime we flushed a loo or turned on a tap the noisy pump swung into action, we could also hear bottles being thrown out from the dining area at mid-night, a bit noisy too!! All in all we'd a great break in Castlemartyr and it's a fabulous location for a wedding or a romantic break!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

I have just come back from staying in the lodges in Castlemartr, we got a taxi from the airport, cost 65 euro, so first tip is if you are arriving by plane is to arrange with the hotel to pick you up, they have an arrangement with a company and it only costs 45 euro and they pick you up in a state of the art Bentley.
The lodges are really beautiful, we booked a 3 bedroomed one. All bedrooms have ensuite and televisions, there is a huge sittiing room and lovely kitchen and there was a welcome pack left for us which went down a treat. There was white wine, bread, eggs, marmalade, orange juice, butter and tea and coffee. If you want to go into the town you can just ring the hotel and they will arrange transport for you, but its a nice walk anyway. You can bring the hotel dogs out for a walk and its really pleasant walk, the surroundings are lovely and there are horses for you to pet. Only there for 2 days and one of those days we were at a wedding so didnt really get a chance to see much of the hotel, but from the bit we did see it looked lovely. Hotel staff were very friendly as well. Well worth a visit, i believe it isnt too far to fota wildlife park and Youghal and Cobh arent too far a drive either. Enjoy yourself if you go there. Oh and we were told there was a very early morning check out (10am) we didnt leave till 1 and noone said anything!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublingirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Stayed for 3 nights in the lodges. Very modern and bedrooms as good as the hotel, tioletries etc. Great value in this exceptional 5 star hotel. It was very quiet - don't think they advertise their existence!!!
The hotel facilities are very good - priced accordingly, dinner @ about €65 - but food quality v. good. Will be returning as like the independence and space yet near the facilities of the hotel. Didn't bother us that many lodges were vacant and really appreciated the open space, overlooking the golf course. Didn't have any problems with equipment etc.
Highly recommended for those looking for a modern feel, plenty space & near to hotel facilities.

  • Liked — Space, modern feel.
  • Disliked — Bit far from hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helandkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Great staff, good hotel facilities - terrible finishing in the houses.

The houses are well kitted out, best furnishings and white goods. It's a terrible pity that the finishes don't match the standard of furnishings.

Access to the spa/gym in the Capella Hotel was free and included in our stay. The staff and facilities in the hotel were second to none.

We wouldn't consider staying again until the problems are ironed out.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mo3art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castlemartyr hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
0.5 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
16.2 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
7.0 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
10.0 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
14.2 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodges And Mews Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodges And Mews Houses

Property: Lodges And Mews Houses
Address: County Cork | at Castlemartyr Resort, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing