We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot wait to go back next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leitrim Quay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leitrim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leitrim Quay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We have been going to Leitrim Quay twice a year for a number of years and what ever the weather we have always had a great time, we travel with out grandchildren and it must be good if two eighteen year old boys and a fifteen year old girl are counting the days to next year and still want to holiday with grandparents.

Anka, Thomas Yany and the two Marys do everything they can to make sure your stay is great, from the cleanliness of the houses, the welcome packs, and the great little boats for either fishing or just cruising along the rivers and loughs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandieB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Just returned from a week in Leitrim Quay. Had a fantastic time. Weather was mixed but overall, wet. The house was excellently equipped and spotless clean.Anke and Thomas were super hosts and so helpful. The tea/wine and biscuits on arrival is a nice touch. The use of the boat with the house is excellent and fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pm2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks here - was supposed to be one week but stayed another week, - despite the rain! For the first time in ages our teenage boys were happy to come on hols with us! had lots of vistors including granny, friends, cousins of all ages who came to share our wonderful holiday for a couple of days at a time! Anke , John and all the staff are a pleasure , their welcome and personal service is priceless. No request was too much trouble, they are full of chat and make time for all ! Fantastic 10/ 10

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trish71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

It was a big risk - going from the typical 2+2 family sun holiday to leitrim quay. Alas it was a risk worth taking. Yes, the weather was typical irish, with heavy July downpours with beautiful sunny spells in between. We had a wonderful week. From the sence of achievement when we made our first trip on the boat from Leitrim quay to carrick on shannon, to the more tricky tasks of going through locks onto the lakes. My kids (two girls), loved the sence of adventure in packing the boat in the morning with a picnic & little bar-b-q and a couple of fishing rods, and just seeing where we end up.

Even though it was summer and quite warm, it was lovely to finish the day in the open plan house in front of a cosy turf fire. We very much enjoyed the boat/river life. Meeting people from all walks of life, being invited onto other boats and barges and exchanging stories. The village and the locals are very nice, friendly and full of chat. Anka and Thomas (who manage the houses / boats), make everyone feel so welcome. The only one negitave I can think of is kids might get a little board in the late evenings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzzzireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I was involved in organising a group of nearly 90 walkers to the area, of which 56 stayed in the accommodation at the Leitrim Quay, every spare bed they had. What a great time we had. Thanks to Anke and all the staff who were polite, friendly, flexible and accommodating in every way, nothing was to much trouble. The houses were spacious and extremely well equipped. The boats were a very enjoyable distraction from walking on Monday for those of us who remained behind, with our Barbecue on hand, we headed for Lough Key Forest Park a fun 2 1/2 hour sail.with the experience of a lock on the way. The village while having it's country village feel, catered for our every need to the highest standard, including dinner in The Barge for the whole group on Saturday evening, which was excellent, with very friendly staff and great value given the quality.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank GemmaLusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2008

we have stayed in leitrim quay a few times now and always find it amazing,and great value for money.getting the small cruiser is a gift in itself and its brilliant to get up in the morning and pack a picnic and head off on your own boat. Theres nothing like chugging up the shannon with the wind in your hair to clear your mind and lift your soul! anke the assistant at leitrim quay is most helpful and always ready with information or lend a hand if needed.just a phone call to her and she organised everything for you and has your house ready when you arrive. the houses are great, roomy and comfortable with all equipment you need,even a dishwasher!leitrim quay is a little slice of paradise and we will be there again this year very soon.

  • Liked — you get your own cruiser boat with the house
  • Disliked — having to pay electric charges when leaving, it should be factored in price
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

Stayed for a full week......the weather was mixed as was our company!Close friends stayed for the first weekend and we had a blast cruising and boozinng on the boat....no checkpoints on the river!Great fun at night in local pubs and good food.....Couple of romantic nights on our own in the house which are lovely and cosy.
Teenage son and friends arrived for a couple of days and they never whinged once!....then both set of parents arrived and they loved it too.
Having the boat made the holiday...for couples, family or groups its the biz.
Two must see's Arigna Mine and Andersons Thatch pub on Wed or Sat night for Trad music.

  • Liked — having your own day boat
  • Disliked — having to go home!!!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — make full use of the boat
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leitrim
0.1 km away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
5.5 km away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.3 km away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
5.5 km away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 km away
Riversdale Farm Guesthouse Ballinamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leitrim Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leitrim Quay

Property: Leitrim Quay
Address: Leitrim Quay, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon > Leitrim
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing