We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in the sheraton for a 1 night midweek night.

On check in, we were given a room upgrade. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was delicious.

Also all the staff were very nice from start to finish.

Cant fault it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yelsewetuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear “Yelsewetuc”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel following your stay.

In particular you were very complimentary to the staff and it was a great pleasure to share this feedback with the team at out weekly meeting. Our management and associates place a great emphasis on guest care and on providing a warm and friendly welcome to our guests. It is very kind of you to have recognized this on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    442
    139
    37
    22
See reviews for
334
659
50
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howth, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second time staying here, and standards are still high.Excellent service by very friendly staff. Great dinner menu, something for everyone. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Irene,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience. I am delighted to read that you have chosen to stay with us a second time, we are very appreciative of your repeat custom.

Our active retirement programme has proven exceptionally popular in recent weeks and we have been receiving wonderful feedback, coming into the summer season, on our complimentary boat cruise, with the alternative of a spa voucher for our Sirana Spa should the weather not co-operate!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone soon and I would be delighted if you could ask for me at reception so that I might welcome you back in personally.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel has always been nice to us, and is very central to Athlone, where we spend a week each year. Sensible on rates in the current environment, and an extensive breakfast choice, healthy and otherwise. Bar service exemplary and front desk more than accommodating. Bedding very comfortable and room beautifully appointed. We'll hopefully be back next year.

Room Tip: Taking a room in the tower section can mean a bit of a trek back to reception, best rooms around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear “Greenmuggers”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

It is great to read that you found our packages to be sensible and competitive. We believe in offering an exceptionally good product at a very competitive price, and I am glad that you found this to be the case.

Our Colour Your Plate initiative has been launched in La Provence Restaurant, which is a simple approach to healthy eating, offering colourful, nutrient dense foods as part of a well balanced meal in order to increase energy and performance. However we do still have the plenty of alternatives for those who choose to spoil themselves a little bit on their breaks away!

Once again thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived for a one night B&B stay, was on 4th floor, lovely room, big queen bed, wardrobe, t.v, tea making facilities, iron/ironing board. Leisure facilities available, never got the chance to use.
Dinner was supplied by the company I was staying with, a lovely set menu and served with out any problems and accommodated people with diet requirements. Our group went to the bar afterwards - music was provided by the hotel and was lively, the bar manager was friendly and accommodating to our group, with full bar/waiter service. Breakfast was lovely in the morning with great variety.
Thanks

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear “Westhorns”,
Thank you most sincerely for providing such a comprehensive review of our hotel and for choosing to stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you found the team to be accommodating and welcoming of your group. We pride ourselves on being able to cater for a large range of dietary and special requirements for our guests.
It was a pleasure to share your feedback with Abdallah Ahmed, our bar manager, and Mark Glennon, our restaurant manager, along with their teams.
Once again thank you to both you and the guests of your group for choosing The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.
Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was a Lovely Hotel with friendly helpful staff, lovely clean rooms, excellent leisure facilities. The dining is excellent, the only down side is the bar area which is not comfortable.
The Hotel is built into a shopping centre which is a little odd but doesn't take away from Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Shane,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found of staff to be friendly and helpful and that the leisure facilities were excellent.

I have reviewed your feedback on our bar with our bar manager and we will be looking at various measures in response to your feedback. Guest feedback and suggestions are very important to us and I would welcome the opportunity to review this with you in more detail if you would like to contact me here at the hotel on 0906451000.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and a I look forward to speaking with you if the opportunity permits.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It was first time stating with this hotel even staying on Athlone so it was an experience usually it is Galway we head for. I decided to bring my mum away for an early mothers day present and choose to stay in a club room which came with a club lounge benefits which is a quite space away from the bar with minerals and snacks and wifi and you can bar food delivered to the area also. I though this was wonderful as we were the only ones using it was very nice. The room was lovely robes and slippers provided the only thing would COMPLAIN ABOUT WOULD BE THERE WAS NO ANTI SLIP MAT IN THE SHOWER I DID NOT FEEL SAFE HAVING A SHOWER, I could have had a bath but did not want one but apart from that the room was lovely. I did have to call a few times to the front desk for different things and every time I got a very nice staff member on it and it was sorted there and then. We had the club sandwiches in the club lounge and they were very nice and well worth the money we paid, the breakfast was nice a bit of confusion to start but after that was sorted it was lovely. The staff were all very nice and very helpful and we will stay again and my mum was very happy and that's all I was worried about but all was good and we will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Jewel18”,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and it is great to read that you chose Athlone as a destination for a leisure break away. Over the past few years a lot of effort has been put into developing Athlone and it’s surrounding lakelands as a tourism destination. Feedback from our guests has been very positive and there are more activities on offer in the area every season.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the team and our club lounge.

We have started a review of our showers for slip resistance and any appropriate measures will be implemented immediately as guest safety is of paramount concern for us. Thank you for highlighting this to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just want to say what a wonderful meal we had in La Provence for our christening. Joe, Tracey and all the staff were brilliant. We had young children with us, so we got a table that was out of the other customers way, the kids could play and not be in anybodys way. The Food was superb and my dad is still talking about the braised beef !!!! Thank you also to Abdalla and his team for reserving a table for us in the bar and your great service also. My sister and her family stayed in the hotel and had and excellent time and will be coming back.
Thank you Everyone
Clare

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Clare,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as a family christening with us. I am delighted that the service and food exceeded your expectations and that we helped you to enjoy celebrating this time with your family..

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with Abdalla and his team in the bar as well as the team in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.2 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.0 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.2 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing