We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wineport Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
857
188
99
41
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
857
188
99
41
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubchampagne suitebalcony overlooking the lakeon arrivalbreakfast in bedwalk in wardrobesteakcomplimentary upgradespecial occasionunderfloor heatinghappy birthdaywine listrelaxing breaklittle touchesbrowniestunning locationscones
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Spent one night here and it was a fantastic experience. The staff members were very attentive and polite. The food at the restaurant was outstanding and the room itself was very comfortable. The heated bathroom floors were lovely! Not cheap, but would definitely recommend it as a treat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeAaaCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Desha,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overnight stay with us & found Wineport had great service, fantastic food & lovely rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Recently I was invited to stay at the Wineport as a member of a group of ten. As it was January, the hotel wasn't over booked and we had the sense of having the place to ourselves.

From check-in to check-out, the receptionists and staff went out of their way to help us.

The lodge is unusually decorated with cat ornaments everywhere, which were quite amusing. Each room is named after a wine and fresh fruit was available in our room on arrival. There was a flickering light bulb which was dealt with immediately. The broadband wifi is very quick.
Unfortunately, I wasn't overwhelmed by the toiletries selection.

The food was good quality and sourced locally. It's always a good sign if all members of waiting staff can tell where the meats come from.

The beautician was ordered in for our group on the Saturday and it was a good sign that she was booked up by other guests in the end. She pointed out an underlying health problem, without being insensitive or attempting to sell me salon products. Services were relaxing and indulgent (particularly nice salt scrub using organic seaweed products from Voya, Co. Sligo.

Parts of the hallway are rather cold.

The view of the lake is breathtaking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on returning within the year. The other members of the party were very satisfied and the partners (taking care of business aspects for an AGM) were very pleased with the business facilities.

The overall price was excellent value, 50% of the same trip for the same group to a 5* hotel in Co. Kildare in January last year, so proves it's worth heading out of the Pale, even if on a corporate bill.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Brid M,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay in Wineport Lodge & are delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay & that you felt that our staff go the extra mile to ensure you are satisfied. I have passed you comments on to the rest of the team in the lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

All i can say is YOU GOTTA GO THERE!!!!! Fantastic amazing place... I had heard lots about it but the experience far out weighs the previous comments...
From the fab relaxed and totally professional, nothing too much welcome from the receptionist to the fab food, and of course the fabulous Wanda in the resturant who attempted to sing me happy birthday till my embarassment killed it!!!! To the beautiful room, the attention to detail... the scenery .. the wakening up to the sound of the water lapping up outside my window... to the atmosphere.... shall i just say that on my comment card in the section that asked me what could they do better... i said.... Just let me move in!!!!! Can i really say more... You gotta go there asap..

Room Tip: They all amazing me thinks!!!!! All with fab views and balconies.. Beautiful bathrooms and all amenities.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb7DublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear jcb7DublinIreland,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

i am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us for your special birthday celebration. i have passed your lovely feed back on to the rest of the team in Wineport.

We hope to welcome you back to the lodge in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband recently booked a night at the Wineport for my birthday and it was the ultimate treat. We stayed in St. Julien which is arguably the best room in the house. A large expanisve balcony teamed with floor to ceiling windows provides stunning unobstructed views of the lake. The rooms are so cosy and warm and lovely Voya products are provided in the bathrooms.

Dinner was an amazing experience. Dee in the restaurant looked after our every need, helped with recommendations and even gave us glasses of birthday champagne! The menu is really inventive and portions are huge. Remember to save room for the exciting desserts.

Breakfast in bed is hightly recommended! Fresh fruit salads, warm pastries and full irish breakfasts while taking in that view - we were set up for the whole day. They even drop up the day's newspaper with breakfast - what more would you want?!

We even took a stroll into Glasson village for a pre-dinner aperatif - highly recommended to build up an appetite.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lake with views but the St. Julien suite is stunning!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear chip-advisor,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted to hear you felt your birthday celebration at the Lodge was the ultimate treat & that dinner was an amazing experience. Your feedback is much appreciated & we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just home after 3 nights stay in this super heavenly haven.My husband and I were given this as a treat for special wedding anniversary and it certainly was a treat. On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe suite(St Julien) which overlooked the whole lough and the view was amazing.The staff are so friendly and welcoming and manager Norma; Tilly(from Michigan) Susie(beauty therapist) and all the staff certainly really make the whole visit a delight. The food is absolutely delicious and served to perfection- would certainly recommend Wineport for that special occasion and don't forget to use hot tub on the roof - brilliant !!While there we also visited Glasson(approx 1mile) where we enjoyed delicious food in The Fatted Calf and Grogans Bar - where Kevin will serve a great glass of wine!!

Room Tip: St.Julien 208
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear DownMadge,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for your special wedding anniversary celebration. It was great to hear that you felt our staff made your stay such a delight & that you would recommend Wineport to others celebrating special occasions!

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews