We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hotel !! absolute perfection”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a hotel !! absolute perfection”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Myself and my fiancee :) stayed here for 1 night and from the moment we entered this hotel the service was second to none. The staff on checkout carried our bags to our room and we were greeted by a great big smile from Suzanne on reception. My fiancee had our engagement organised with the hotel and we were upgraded to a better room with compliments from the hotel and after the proposal we were greeted with 2 glasses of champayne compliments from the hotel to. The hotel has such a relaxed feeling and is spotlessly clean the rooms you could not fault and the view is breathtaking. The staff give a very personal approach to you and you feel at home there was not 1 member of staff that did not greet us with a smile and always knew when to leave you to have quality time. The food was exceptional and after our meal we received a plate greeted with congratulations on your engagement with biscuits and strawberries compliments from the hotel to.This hotel was worth every penny we spent and we will definetly be back we could not have stayed anywhere more special than this hotel to celebrate a very special moment. Its the little things the hotel do for you that just top it all. Congrats to the owners and staff from the Wineport Lodge you are doing an amazing job and thank you for making our day so special we hope to see you all again very soon :) Terri & Ian

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear terri s,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am thrilled to hear that your & Ian's special occasion was made so memorable by your stay in Wineport Lodge. We were more than happy to look after you during your stay with us. I have passed all your feedback on to the rest of the team in the lodge. Your comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    159
    87
    33
    9
See reviews for
117
675
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent one night here and it was a fantastic experience. The staff members were very attentive and polite. The food at the restaurant was outstanding and the room itself was very comfortable. The heated bathroom floors were lovely! Not cheap, but would definitely recommend it as a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Desha,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overnight stay with us & found Wineport had great service, fantastic food & lovely rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Recently I was invited to stay at the Wineport as a member of a group of ten. As it was January, the hotel wasn't over booked and we had the sense of having the place to ourselves.

From check-in to check-out, the receptionists and staff went out of their way to help us.

The lodge is unusually decorated with cat ornaments everywhere, which were quite amusing. Each room is named after a wine and fresh fruit was available in our room on arrival. There was a flickering light bulb which was dealt with immediately. The broadband wifi is very quick.
Unfortunately, I wasn't overwhelmed by the toiletries selection.

The food was good quality and sourced locally. It's always a good sign if all members of waiting staff can tell where the meats come from.

The beautician was ordered in for our group on the Saturday and it was a good sign that she was booked up by other guests in the end. She pointed out an underlying health problem, without being insensitive or attempting to sell me salon products. Services were relaxing and indulgent (particularly nice salt scrub using organic seaweed products from Voya, Co. Sligo.

Parts of the hallway are rather cold.

The view of the lake is breathtaking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on returning within the year. The other members of the party were very satisfied and the partners (taking care of business aspects for an AGM) were very pleased with the business facilities.

The overall price was excellent value, 50% of the same trip for the same group to a 5* hotel in Co. Kildare in January last year, so proves it's worth heading out of the Pale, even if on a corporate bill.

Room Tip: The Captains Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Brid M,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay in Wineport Lodge & are delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay & that you felt that our staff go the extra mile to ensure you are satisfied. I have passed you comments on to the rest of the team in the lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

All i can say is YOU GOTTA GO THERE!!!!! Fantastic amazing place... I had heard lots about it but the experience far out weighs the previous comments...
From the fab relaxed and totally professional, nothing too much welcome from the receptionist to the fab food, and of course the fabulous Wanda in the resturant who attempted to sing me happy birthday till my embarassment killed it!!!! To the beautiful room, the attention to detail... the scenery .. the wakening up to the sound of the water lapping up outside my window... to the atmosphere.... shall i just say that on my comment card in the section that asked me what could they do better... i said.... Just let me move in!!!!! Can i really say more... You gotta go there asap..

Room Tip: They all amazing me thinks!!!!! All with fab views and balconies.. Beautiful bathrooms and all ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb7DublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear jcb7DublinIreland,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

i am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us for your special birthday celebration. i have passed your lovely feed back on to the rest of the team in Wineport.

We hope to welcome you back to the lodge in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My husband recently booked a night at the Wineport for my birthday and it was the ultimate treat. We stayed in St. Julien which is arguably the best room in the house. A large expanisve balcony teamed with floor to ceiling windows provides stunning unobstructed views of the lake. The rooms are so cosy and warm and lovely Voya products are provided in the bathrooms.

Dinner was an amazing experience. Dee in the restaurant looked after our every need, helped with recommendations and even gave us glasses of birthday champagne! The menu is really inventive and portions are huge. Remember to save room for the exciting desserts.

Breakfast in bed is hightly recommended! Fresh fruit salads, warm pastries and full irish breakfasts while taking in that view - we were set up for the whole day. They even drop up the day's newspaper with breakfast - what more would you want?!

We even took a stroll into Glasson village for a pre-dinner aperatif - highly recommended to build up an appetite.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the lake with views but the St. Julien suite is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chip-advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear chip-advisor,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted to hear you felt your birthday celebration at the Lodge was the ultimate treat & that dinner was an amazing experience. Your feedback is much appreciated & we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
down
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Just home after 3 nights stay in this super heavenly haven.My husband and I were given this as a treat for special wedding anniversary and it certainly was a treat. On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe suite(St Julien) which overlooked the whole lough and the view was amazing.The staff are so friendly and welcoming and manager Norma; Tilly(from Michigan) Susie(beauty therapist) and all the staff certainly really make the whole visit a delight. The food is absolutely delicious and served to perfection- would certainly recommend Wineport for that special occasion and don't forget to use hot tub on the roof - brilliant !!While there we also visited Glasson(approx 1mile) where we enjoyed delicious food in The Fatted Calf and Grogans Bar - where Kevin will serve a great glass of wine!!

Room Tip: St.Julien 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear DownMadge,

Many thanks for your lovely review on trip adviser.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for your special wedding anniversary celebration. It was great to hear that you felt our staff made your stay such a delight & that you would recommend Wineport to others celebrating special occasions!

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Go to this hotel if you want pure relaxation, in incredibly beautiful surroundings (even in Winter). I can’t remember the last time I simply sat for an hour and just watched the light fade from grey to light purple as dusk settled over the gently lapping Lough Ree. The hospitality is genuinely warm and welcoming, the atmosphere is friendly and unpretentious. Our room was spotlessly clean. I was delighted to see the hotel use Voya organic toiletries - supporting an Irish company. The bed was incredibly comfortable which along with the peaceful surroundings and the luxuriant black out curtains contributed to two brilliant nights’ sleep. The food in the restaurant was excellent and service was competent, attentive and friendly.
It really is one of the best places in Ireland that I've stayed in and one of the few that I will make every effort to return to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear earthylady,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on trip adviser.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that you felt Wineport was one of the best places you have stayed in Ireland. It was really lovely to hear that you felt the lodge was a special hotel with real character.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,847 reviews
1.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
8.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
5.7 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing