We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveller rating
724
613
324
138
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
613
324
138
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa business class roomavril kiernanoverlooking the riverjunior suiteshannon riverhotel is in a great locationbar foodfamily roombar staffhot foodcentre of townsteam roombreakfast was excellentgreat selectionstayed here for one nightenjoyable staystaff were lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,567 - 1,572 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Reservation Staff particularly Claudine excellent pre stay communication and ongoing during our stay.
26 Rooms booked for Lady & Gentlemen golfers.
Reception Staff (Averil, Kasha, Aisling & others) friendly, polite and helpful.
Breakfast great fabulous fayre as much as you want. Staff extremely good.
Whilst a number of large functions being held during our 7 night stay the free car parking could accommodate all.
Bar restaurant food and drink good and again Staff most helpful & friendly.
Bar terrace over the Shannon fantastic.
Last night dinner and presentation allowed all 50 guests to choose a fabulous three course menu and feedback from our group was very positive.
House Keeping Staff very helpful.
On the negative side a large Wedding took place and went on to the very early hours and a number of our group had interrupted sleep, due in the main to wedding guests smoking outside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the River excllent views. Rooms over car park can be noisy due to smokers
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our tour of Ireland and loved it. The room was great - quite large and very comfortable. Nicely appointed with a fridge, wine glasses, etc which was very welcome as the weather was very warm. Nice bathroom. Lovely breakfast selection. The hotel has a lovely deck area overlooking the river. Drinks in the bar are of a comparable price to the pubs in town. There is a lovely swimming pool which sadly we did not have time to try out. Easy walking into town just over the bridge. Our friend who was travelling with us was given a business class room which had bathrobes and a coffee machine with pods for making fresh coffee. We got an excellent deal on this hotel and could not believe the value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Currently it's 6:38am and I have been up for an hour with the heat in the room. Since we booked the hotel through Groupon I'm fairly certain we were given the worst room possible.. There is stains on the carpet, the light switches don't work, very very noisy at night and worst of all.... The room is unbearably warm. We complainted after the first sleepless night and they put a fan in our room that did help at the start however the room is still roasting and the noise is driving me mad. My boyfriend got a nosebleed on the first night and there was a small blood stain on the pillow. The cleaning staff made the bed and just turned the pillow over which is highly unsatisfactory and unhygienic. Considering we are staying the the business "suite" a new pillowcase wouldn't of hurt. I most certainly would not stay agin and am genuinely looking forward to the drive home so I can get a bit of sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redmoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the River Shannon. There is a wonderful terrace overlooking the river and we were blessed with lovely weather.
Our room was very nice with a river view, good beds and facilities.
Reception staff were good but the hotel is really let down by badly managed waiting staff. It is unfair to blame the staff as most were students who are working part time and need direction.
We had lunch on the terrace and the service was so sloppy and disorganised. Totally Fawlty Towers stuff with staff giving us food we didn't order, coming to take our order when we had already given it, bringing the food in bits and pieces. They appeared to have no idea where the orders came from, as they constantly wandered around carrying trays looking for a table that would take the food. The staff were nice and polite but so very inexperienced and not at all helped by a manager who appeared to be confusing them further in front of the customers.
As that was Sunday lunch, we thought it may be a one off, but breakfast was no better, we had to search for a clean table and waited patiently for tea/coffee. The carvery while good was on the cold side with cold plates for the hot food also.
We sat in the foyer at lunchtime on Monday just sipping a glass of water as we waited for a friend and the circus began again. We were approached several times with food, we explained that we had not ordered any but it kept happening. It was a relief to leave!
Overall, we really liked the visit to Athlone and the hotel could be great if the service was sorted out.
The spa would be much improved by a hot tub or jacuzzi also.

Room Tip: Ask for a River view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here at the moment it's now 130am......

Emailed the hotel in advance of the stay and asked for quiet rooms as I knew we would be going to be early.... 130am and still aong time of dj to awful to go!!! Awful if a wedding on.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinitygirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews