We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,949 results
Traveller rating
743
624
327
140
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
624
327
140
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa business class roomavril kiernanoverlooking the riverjunior suiteshannon riverhotel is in a great locationbar foodfamily roombar staffhot foodtown centresteam roombreakfast was excellentenjoyable staygreat selectionstayed here for one nightstaff were lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,591 - 1,596 of 1,949 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a wonderful holiday at the Radisson Blu Athlone last week. Went with my sister and husband and stayed in a Junior Suite and an Executive suite on the third and fourth floors respectively. The rooms were super - spacious and comfortable with stunning views of the Shannon. Loved sitting on the terrace watching the world go by - my husband even got sunburned! Dinner in the restaurant was superb - one of the best fillet steaks ever! The real accolade however must go to the staff who were so friendly as well as efficient. A special mention must be made of Claudine McLoughlin in reservations who, from the first e mail contact and until check out, made sure we had the very best of experiences. You suceeded Claudine. This was possibly our best holiday ever - and we've had a lot!

Room Tip: Go higher to get the best views and a suite is worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anngDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Playing 'Irish Radisson Blu Bingo', this was the 5th Radisson I have stayed in since February this year. It was just OK really.

When hotels were first born, the principle of charging people for a room / bed, was bound to catch on. The customer wants to sleep for the night, in a bed! Despite the thousands of years that have passed since the principle first occurred, and all the refinements and luxuries that are now commonplace in hotels, the basics of bed / sleep for money are inextricably linked.

I was upgraded (free) to a Business Class Suite, which i think was the result of having stayed so frequently in Radisson hotels recently. The room was large and overlooked the marina / river outside - very nice. The huge floor to ceiling windows, (difficult to keep clean), as far as I knew didn't open and there was no aircon. I spent the first two nights on a low light, emerging the next morning hot, grouchy, from no sleep & dehydrated. Suite or not - there was no water available to drink! There wasn't actually anything to drink - the mini bar was empty too - not very business class?

When a housekeeper had opened a side window, the penny dropped! Once opened though, as it was a full length, you could happily jump, or fall straight into the drink below! (No warning signs)!

The gym was very good, the bar was large, but service was slow. Norma Douglas was excellent though, coping very well under difficult conditions, thanks. Food options for room service were limited.

WiFi was very good & freely available!!

Breakfast was good, self service, with DIY toast though! No fish available for breakfast was disappointing though.

All up, an OK stay, but with some missing finishing touches.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodgergammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on a Groupon Break midweek June Bank Holiday. 2 B&B in Business Class Room + 1 bottle of wine + Viking Cruise Tour. Really good value for what we got !

Our Business Class Room was large and very clean, bathrobe and slippers awaiting us, really comfy large bed (i have a bad back and had no problems), large immaculate bathroom with toiletries, working desk area, fridge, TV, Nespresso Coffee Machine, tea,coffee, hot chocolate ! with view of the Shannon River.

Room Service Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with lots of healthy options, they even had salt and pepper shakers which are often forgotten by many hotels, and usefuly for scrambled eggs ! It's the little things that make the difference really. Lovely homemade bread as well.

Ate in Quay side Bar/Cafe twice, again food was very nice and lots of it. Duck spring rolls came inside a bamboo basket which was a lovely surprise, fish and chips were melt in the mouth and massive portions ! Club sandwich was huge with chips inside a mini wire basket as a novelty, soup was delicious too with fennel bread. We didn't have any room left for the desserts am afraid, we were stuffed. Comfortable couches and chairs all around the Lobby area to lounge in and read and relax.

Went to the 16m swimming pool, heated, which was nice, clean changing rooms, locker operated (€1 euro which you get back), towels provided, had a nice peaceful swim about. Sauna is also available.

All staff in gym, restaurant and reception areas were all very nice to us and helpful, ringing the Viking Cruise Tour for us as well, You have to go, it was really relaxing and we enjoyed it very much, it lasts 1h 30mns going along the Shannon to Lough Ree, up to the Hudson Hotel and back (free tea/coffee and blankets on board the Viking Ship, tiny shop and toilets as well).

Having drinks on the terrasse overlooking the Marina was a bonus, just chilling out in the sun.

The only tiny bad point i would say is that our room was very hot indeed, even though the window was opened all the time we were there (can't open it very wide, it's on a latch for safety reason). But you could get a fan at reception. We stayed in 209.

All in all, i will recommend the Radisson Blu to all my friends and we will be back - Thanks !!

Room Tip: Room 209 is overlooking the River Shannon and is quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValandPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just returned from a two night groupon break at The Radisson Blu in Athlone and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a junior suite on the second floor with fabulous views of the River Shannon. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and was very clean. The bathroom was clean and came well equipped with toiletries. We were impressed with the staff who were very courteous and friendly. The restaurant served a limited but well thought out evening menu and breakfast was more than adequate. We also had a river cruise included in our package and that was a wonderful experience. The staff were well informed and kept us enthralled for the duration of the trip. We had never thought of Athlone as a destination before , merely as a transit point to the West. What a mistake that was. Athlone is a vibrant town with plenty of things to do and see, we hope to be back soon again.

Room Tip: A view of the Shannon is a real bonus.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twinkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Managed a group booking at this Hotel recently and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful! The food and accomodation were lovely and the location and setting of the hotel is perfect. The price was also very reasonable. We had over 100 people staying at the Hotel and everyone was impressed! I would definitely recommend to anyone and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews