We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,962)
Filter reviews
1,962 results
Traveller rating
749
629
328
140
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
629
328
140
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a business class room avril kiernan overlooking the river junior suite shannon river hotel is in a great location bar food family room bar staff hot food town centre steam room breakfast was excellent enjoyable stay great selection stayed here for one night staff were lovely
Filter
Updating list...
1,546 - 1,551 of 1,962 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly especially Avril who came to our rescue when one of our party had a flat car battery, thank you! It is in a great location very near the shops and over looking the River Shannon. It would have been so nice to sit ouside and enjoy the view but weather did not allow us to do that on this trip.next time though! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We look forward to a return trip very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoMayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2012

this hotel is well situated near the city centre has very well decorated and spacious rooms, the food was excellent and well presented with a lot of choice, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The only negative for me was the very firm beds but if you like a firm bed its not a problem

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is only 5 mins walk to the shops in Athlone and it is situated on the banks of the River Shannon. We ere on the 2nd floor with a view of the decking area and the river as far as the railway bridge. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is buffet and a very large selection from fruit to fry. The staff were very friendly and spoke to you if you passed them in the lobby. The front desk were very helpful in arranging our rooms together as there were 2 couples and it made a differance to the weekend.
We had bar snack menu on Saturday and the Irish burger was fantastic, Henrietta the waitress was very cheerful and very attentitive.
A great place to stay for visiting Athlone town and area

Room Tip: ask for river view when booking
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Many thanks for your super feedback. It is always very encouraging to receive a great review from such an established Tripadvisor contributor.

I will be sure to thank Henrietta for her great efforts.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Athlone in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed Radisson Blu Athlone from 10-12 October.

Great location.

Hotel seemed quiet. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the water.

Staff are all very helpful and friendly apart from 1 at breakfast who didnt speak at all, she just looked under her fringe and dropped the teapot on the table!

Food is lovely. We had dinner on the first night which was lovely and on both mornings breakfast was great with plenty of variety.

Room was comfortable and immaculate only fault I would have is that the bathroom fan wasnt working.

Would certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csjIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Lowry, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear CSJ,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed the food, we go to great lengths to source the finest local fresh produce to ensure our guests can enjoy the best food in Athlone.

I accept your feedback in relation to the staff member at breakfast and have asked our Food and Beverage manager to retrain the breakfast team to ensure all of the staff have the same excellent customer service standards as is evident throughout the hotel.

Thanks again
Justin Lowry
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Athlone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay,very nice helpful staff,lovely large modern rooms,nice bar with decking area over looking the Shannon which would be perfect on a summers evening,well cooked breakfast with lots to choose from,would definatly stay again

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews