We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I apologize for the delay in sending this review, but it has nothing to do with the quality of my stay at Inny Bay. I visited Inny Bay in August 2011 and had a lovely 3 night stay. The B&B is a bit off the beaten track, but that's what makes it really charming. It is a working farm and I had the joy of seeing the calves frolicking every morning at breakfast. The location cannot have been more beautiful and I saw some gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. I also had some wonderful evening walks with Jessie - she's a treasure! The room was clean and large - no complaints at all. I was greeted with a pot of tea and a snack by Paul. He was a wonderful host and couldn't have been nicer. I look forward to returning to Inny Bay one day soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12thNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us last summer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, with the backdrop of the sheep and the sunsets. We hope you will make a return trip some day. Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwkoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our last stop of our visit through Ireland was at Innybay B&B. Paul gave us a very warm welcome. Lovely view from the house and our room! In the evening we made a nice stroll to the lake. During our stroll we were accompanied by the two dogs of the family!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend your last night in Ireland with us at Inny Bay, and for taking the time to post your review. Delighted to have left you with good memories and hope that you will call again if you return to Ireland.
Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This home sits at the end of a rural country lane with a beautiful view of marsh iris and swans along the edge of Lough Ree. My daughter and I enjoyed an evening stroll along the lane and in the neighboring farm fields accompanied by the host’s sweet little dog. Inside the home there’s a nice sitting room, the guest rooms are very clean and well-furnished with comfortable beds, and the breakfast fare is excellent (with wide variety). Our hosts were warm, welcoming and very down-to-earth. An excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
We were delighted to welcome you both to Inny Bay and that the weather was kind for your stay. Jessie was delighted to be sharing your walk. We are glad that everything was to your satisfaction and we thank you sincerely for your review
Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

The location of the B&B was a little remote but we got to see an amazing sunrise over the nearby lake. The room was comfortable and the food was excellent. Jessie the dog made a great tour guide when we took a walk during the evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Inny Bay is indeed in a very rural location. We are at the end of a narrow lane at the edge of the lake so there is no passing traffic to spoil the sunrise or sunset. Thank you for allowing Jessie to accompany you on your walk and thank you also for your kind review.
Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noorden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

The staff is very kindly and the view over the lake is beautifull. The home has a working farm and its nice to see how this works. You can also rent a boat. Its located in the middle of Ireland, so you can drive everywhere you want to go. B&B breakfast is oke.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Inny Bay. We are delighted that you and your children enjoyed staying with us and seeing the farm. We hope that if you come back to Ireland you will call with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

A great place. A little off the beaten track, but if you want an authentic Irish experience, this is it. We arrived very late after getting lost, and they couldn't have been more gracious. Stunning views over the lake, a real farm, and a super friendly pub close by. I would make it a point to stay here again, but next time it will be for a longer time. Our group's favorite by far.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
We are delighted that after a difficult journey, you were able to relax and unwind with us here at Inny Bay, and we look forward to your return visit somewhere in the future. Best wishes to you all,
Paul & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

If what you are looking for is a bed and breakfast outside the city, this is a great option. It´s not hard to find and it is located on the outskirts of Athlone. Service is very good, breakfast as well. We did have some problems with the ´free´ WiFi... we could not log in. Anyway, we didn't have much time to get online, outside the B&B was great and we had a good 1 day stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdfoxe, Owner at Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Hi From Inny Bay, thank you for taking the time to writ a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found us without any hassle. It is unfortunate that you had problems with our WiFi, broadband has been problematic for us due to our location and we are constantly trying to improve this service.
Best regards,
Deirdre & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
14.8 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
17.2 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
14.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
15.3 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
15.6 km away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast

Property: Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast
Address: Annagh | The Pigeons, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inny Bay Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing