We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sharonmurray37
London, United Kingdom

Waterville

Review of Sea Lodge Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 31, 2023via mobile
The hotel was superbly decorated, the room was lovely well furnished and had everything we needed. Staff attentive and friendly. Breakfast superb and plentiful, lots of choices whether continental or cooked. We had a very pleasant stay.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: There is no lift, there is only one flight of stairs to rooms that is well lit, spaced, not steep...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$236
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$253
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$260
0.4 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Old Cable Historic House c.1899
C$195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$182
  • Hotels.com
    C$182
  • Vio.com
    C$195
0.9 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$188
C$171
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$188
1.2 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
    0.2 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • StayForLong
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.1 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.5 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Algotels
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
      1.2 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Day
        0.4 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
          2.2 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          • Booking.com
          • ZenHotels.com
          • Agoda.com
          3.6 km from Sea Lodge Hotel
          Free Wifi
          Free parking
          View more hotels in Waterville
          Reviews (263)
          Filter reviews
          263 results
          Traveller rating
          191
          38
          20
          4
          10
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          More languages
          Traveller rating
          191
          38
          20
          4
          10
          Show reviews that mention
          All reviews fish and chips a sea view room steak staff were lovely hotel restaurant wonderful stay amazing views bay kerry ballinskelligs
          Selected filters
          Filter
          Updating list...
          1 - 6 of 263 reviews
          Reviewed August 25, 2023 via mobile

          We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights. Rooms clean. Good beds. Good night's sleep. Good breakfast. Staff friendly. Excellent location looking out to sea front. Parking at front of Sea Lodge. Staff gave good recommendations for food at lobster and doolys. Both walking distance.
          Would recommend. Just to note no lift or air con. No bar open yet. Would def stay again.

          Room tip: No lift or aircon, excellent location
          Date of stay: August 2023
          Trip type: Travelled with family
          Thank MfromIrel
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed August 4, 2023

          We were lucky to stay in the room which you can see on the hotel's website. The view was just breathtaking.
          The manager was nice and helpful. He informed us at the start that they don't have a chef and recommended some local bars which worked for us good. Though the bar was closed for the public he still served the drinks for the hotel guests.
          As there were not many guests at that time the manager agreed to serve us the breakfast in our rooms so that we could enjoy it on the balcony.
          Clean and friendly place, surely will come back here.

          Room tip: It's worth spending some extra euros for a sea view.
          Date of stay: June 2023
          • Trip type: Travelled with friends
            • Value
            • Location
            • Service
          Thank Jaco J
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed August 3, 2023

          My partner booked this hotel through booking.com we booked a double room b and b. When we arrived we had a twin room. When we spoke to the person who checked us in he debated what we had booked despite my partner having evidence of the double room booking.following a small debate and blaming booking.com he showed us to a double room. The room was lovely, clean and roomy with everything you need..
          When we went down stairs we asked for the bar to get a drink.to be told it was closed. We later discovered the restaurant was closed so in essence we were paying top hotel prices for an air b and b. The following morning I had bacon and eggs and it was delicious. My partner ordered the full irish. He was very disappointed. 2 rashers which he reckoned were cut from.a guinea pig, 2 tasty fried eggs, 2 and a half mushrooms ( I kid you not) a sausage cut in 2 and a pale hash brown. The coffee and orange juice was overly and fresh.

          We went for a spin after breakfast leaving our bags in the room . Check out was 12 and we returned at 11.50 to find someone in our room. When my partner asked what they were doing she replied they had a strict 1200 checkout and when he Pointe it was 11.50 they just repeated checkout was 12
          00. He had to ask them to leave. At checkout he expressed that he felt the hotel had falsely advertised their facilities as there was no bar or restaurant and the person he was dealing with stated it was clear on booking.com and that the error in room booking was booking.coms fault and what did he want . Was it an apology by email. After leaving he got an email apologizing but saying it was clearly stated in booking.com.about the hotel facilities which I had checked after he came out and told me what the manager had said and it clearly stated bar and restaurant. It has since been changed. He did return to the manager to clearly tell him that the error was on their part and the experience was down to them .
          The room was lovely but after that it was downhill. No restaurant no bar... basics you expect when you book a b and b or air b and b. The manner iof the person my partner dealt with was disappointing and we paid hotel prices for essentially a b and b experience. I was told it as up for sale. I'm not sure if thats true but ring the hotel and bargain your price down as it's not a hotel experience. The front

          door was open late with no security person about. We won't be back .

          Room tip: Do not pay hotel prices . This is a b and b experience only.
          Date of stay: August 2023
          • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
            • Value
            • Location
            • Service
          Thank Dympna G
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Sea Lodge Manager, General Manager at Sea Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2023

          Dear Tom,

          We are sorry you had some bad experience in our hotel.
          I tried to compensate you for your inconveniences which you didn't accept.
          Now I understand why as you describe your experience on all possible channels.

          First, the question of booking - the reservation comes automatically from the booking.com to our system and we do not interfere into the system. On your request I found you a double room and even offered an upgrade to the sea view room which you discarded.

          The breakfast, I came twice to you to ask you if everything was ok - why didn't you say you were not satisfied - we could have prepared you extra breakfast.

          The check out time in our hotel is 11 am.

          The front door is open at night as we have the night security sitting in a room with monitors and ready to react at any moment and there are cameras all over the hotel inside and outside.

          Once again we are sorry for your bad experience and pity we didn't find a compromise to make your stay agreeable.

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed August 1, 2023

          We booked what we thought was a hotel and paid hotel prices. No chef no food and no dinner service. Felt like we were trespassing when we went into the bar. The lights go out when you are not in the room. Breakfast was awful. We were booked for two nights but stayed one night. Far too expensive for BnB, charging hotel prices. Got fantastic accommodation in Waterville for same price for the next night elsewhere.

          Room tip: Check full services before booking.
          Date of stay: July 2023
          • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
            • Value
            • Location
            • Service
          1  Thank S4994IUkevinc
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed July 22, 2023

          The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spotless & comfortable with everything you need. We had a balcony room with beautiful views. I stayed for 2 nights with my mother & sister. We visited Derrynane, Ballinskelligs and Valentia Island. Lovely breakfast in the morning, in a friendly atmosphere. Good choices for breakfast. The people we met working there/running the hotel were friendly & helpful. We will definitely return.

          Date of stay: July 2023
          • Trip type: Travelled with family
            • Value
            • Location
            • Service
          Thank CaroBu
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          View more reviews