We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dundalk, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Joanne S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stopped here for the second consecutive year and yet again not only was the cottage superb but Pat and Kate excelled themselves again. Nothing is too much trouble and they are so friendly. We will be coming to this area again and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We cannot recommend this cottage highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trackerc
lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed & helpful”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great few days in the cottage apartment.
It might be a little difficult to get to the first time, but then you appreciate the relaxation given from being away from the roads. We listened out for the horses occasionally passing our window to give us a cheery wave.
Katriona was helpful, pleasant and flexible. She bobbed over with some tin foil for us as we did an easter sunday roast.
Its not a complaint, but more so guests can allocate rooms suitably, the upstairs bedroom is large and spacious but its open to the lounge via the stair well so if one part of your party needs quiet in the evening then you'd consider this.
Great bedding, clean house, comprehensive fixtures etc. We were very satisfied.
We missed there being no wifi but thats a minor point. We would recommend and look forward to coming back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeandja...
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage. Wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from Valentines weekend at this great cottage. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, fantastic level of amenities. Dishwasher, washing machine as well as everything else you would ever need for a more than comfortable stay. The cottage is a short drive outside the village. Very peaceful and just what we were looking for. We dined out in Carrickmacross on the Friday evening and Kate offered to drive us. We drove ourselves but the offer was really appreciated and she made the point that if we needed anything then just to call. Could not recommend this place highly enough. Grab yourself a trip and go soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01sammy
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at the cottage, peaceful quiet location which was exactly what we were looking for. The cottage is very clean and comfotable couldnt ask for anything better, Owners are very friendly and greeted us both on the date of arrival and departure which was lovely. Will definatley stay again in the future, highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roswest
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet, comfortable and central location.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was a bit difficult to find the cottage but it was not a problem. We asked for directions in the village shop. The cottage was lovely. Clean, warm and comfortable. A great quiet, central location to explore places such as Dundalk, Carlingford, Black Rock, Dublin and Newry. The welcome pack was very useful. The pie was delicious. Thank you Kate for your warm welcome, help and support. We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location to explore area
Liked least: Outside area of cottage, although plenty of parking space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation in a peaceful location ideal for touring the area.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a peaceful, rural location and is equipped to a high standard. Catriona very welcoming and helpful. It is a superb base for touring the wider area including Mourne Mountains and Boyne Valley regions. Lots of options for eating out within a reasonable driving distance. Cluskys excellent as was the Fiddlers Elbow in Carickmacross.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlairg...
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, comfortable stay.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a fabulous, relaxing stay at Pat & Kate's cottage. The cottage is fantastic value for money, it has everything you would need, well equipped kitchen, large bedrooms and ample living area. The location suited us fine, quiet, remote area, very peaceful, but a great base for touring Northern Ireland which was what we did. The village of Inishkeen is beautifully quaint with a play ground for children, a pitch and putt course and an adequate food store. It's also the birthplace of Patrick Kavanagh, where there's a Kavanagh Centre and you can visit his simple grave. Kate gave us a great welcome leaving scones, milk, teabags and cornflakes for us, checking in on us once to check if things were ok. We hope to be back to use as a base for exploring Leinster.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing