We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place in Southern Ireland”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cahir, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Robert C
Woodvale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Southern Ireland”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a fabulous getaway. Situation a few kilometres from the castle town of Cahir. It is the ideal location to explore southern Ireland, within an hour of so drive to Cork, Wexford, Limerick, the cliffs of Moher and the like. A great host - Tracy - and a warm welcome from the dog Lizzie (We'd happily have brought her back to Aussie with us!).

The Granery is an excellent holiday let on a farm. The furnishings and inclusions in the Granary are excellent. If you're home at the right time, the cows from the next farm will wander back and forth from their milking, while Holly the horse passes the time (when she's not showjumping) grazing in a small paddock at the from.

This was a superb holiday (and the weather was good, too). We would recommnend it to anyone and an ideal base for a holiday. There is also plenty to see in Cahir itself including a magnificently restored castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to like. Just fabulous
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacrilegi...
Qormi, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Perfect week!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my partner spent 10 days in Ireland and booked our first 7 days here. It was such an amazing experience. The owner, Tracy was so friendly and always tended to our needs. We arrived late, past midnight, so she switched the stove for us prior to our arrival in order for the cottage to be warm when we arrived. She also left us some freshly baked scones, which were delicious. Whenever any of the amenities, such as the fire starter, ran out, she would get us new ones.

The cottage is situated in the countryside and is close to the owners own house and also a farm close by. It is at least a 10 minute drive to the closest town, meaning it is in a really tranquil area. The area was relaxing and the air was so fresh. The cottage was very spacious and consisted of the living room with stove, sofa, tv and beautiful furniture, a well equipped kitchen that included complimentary tea, coffee, salt, sugar and also herbs, a bedroom and bathroom. The view from the cottage was breathtaking, countryside and mountains!! The cottage also had free wifi.

The owners have a horse in a barn close by, which you can go see. They also have two cats and a dog that are very playful and friendly. In fact one cat used to come to our door in the morning and we would let him in and give him milk. Also, there was another dog from a farm nearby who used to visit. He come and jump around and play. These were some of the friendliest dogs and cats that I have come across.

I would recommend this place to any couple who wants to stay in a relaxed quiet area yet be within driving distance of the town. The price is also very worth it. Will definitely stay here again if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melisande...
2 reviews
“Pure Bliss - A real Haven in Ireland”
Reviewed December 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed for a week at The Granary with my boyfriend and I must say it was one of the best experiences of my life. We arrived one cold winter night at 1am. The cottage is totally immersed in the Irish countryside and I guess we were kind of lost, however suddenly we could see the lights of the cottage beaming at us cheerily from the road. We parked (there is ample parking space directly in front of the cottage) and as we entered, a warm colorful fire leapt from the very easy to use stove in the living room to welcome us.

The cottage is really beautiful - the living room has a very comfortable sofa, a flat screen TV, thick rugs and ample heating. The kitchen is just enormous and splendidly provides anything an experienced cook needs.

The owners are very friendly. They knew we were coming very late and would have no food for breakfast, so they left us not only their signiture home made scones (totally delicious), but also tea, coffee, fresh milk, jam and butter. The bedroom was spacious, clean, and very comfortable, and all the things we could need during our stay were provided, like toiletries, cleaning liquids, empty bags for shopping, as well as a very very big starter pack of wood, coal and firestarters for the stove (these lasted us for the whole week). There was also wi-fi on the premises.

In the morning, as soon as we opened the door, a joyous welcoming party consisting of two beautiful cats and a playful dog awaited us. They surrounded us and started playing with us - it was so charming! The dog from next door also payed us a couple of visits during our stay. Honestly - it was just like being at home!

Thanks for making our stay so special. I truly hope we may come back someday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlitterMo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY-LOVED IT”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lets go to Ireland for our holiday we said, where? So after trawling through the internet we came across The Granary at Cahir, read up on it and booked it. I'm so glad that we did, we just fell in love with the cottage and it's position it was in. We got a lovely welcome from Tracey the owner with a full plate of homemade scones, butter and fresh milk MMMMmmmmmm. Nothing was to much trouble for her, she's a mind of useful information. The cottage is set within a farm, so yes there's 2 cats, 1 dog, a horse and another dog from the farm next door. All of these animals were quiet and no trouble at all. Both me and wife adore animals so hey we loved having them around the place. The cottage is perfect even with Wi-Fi yeahhhhhhhhhh. Lovely and spacious, clean and it's all yours for the week. We slept like a log in the comfy bed but boy is it dark over there. When you wake up in the night you cannot see your hand if you place it in front of your nose. Everything is there in the kitchen, and there's a Aldi with other shops in the village. We loved our stay here, we both felt very safe and secure. This cottage is perfect for anyones holiday, so much so were thinking about returning in 2016 as Cahir and Ireland is a fabulous place to have your holidays. *Just a quick note it says you have to pay for the electricity that you use whilst in the cottage, fear not it worked out at a Euro a day if that and that was having meals in using the cooker.* Also use the toaster it's fantastic, trust me on this one, I watched it for hours Ha Ha Ha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LindaL5
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful spacious cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely cottage, wonderful setting! The welcome from Tracy was second to none!! The extra touches of fresh scones to having salt, pepper, milk in the kitchen on arrival. It's the small things that make all the difference!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wali N
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of Irish hospitality and charm”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The Granary, a charming and comfortable converted farm building in the Tipperary countryside, was one of our best stays ever. Owners Tracy and Tom made us feel so welcome with many thoughtful touches such as tea and scones when we arrived. The cottage was spacious, beautifully furnished and had everything we needed, right down to salt and pepper, sugar in the sugar bowl, and cozy fires in the evening! The setting, in a scenic farming area, is near mountains we'll remember for their dramatic beauty and wonderful hikes. Towns, villages, historic sites and ruins were all accessible and made for a "best ever" visit to this part of Ireland. We would love to go back to The Granary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country charm and setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing