We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Castle Lodging”
Review of Carrigeen Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carrigeen Castle
Ranked #3 of 7 Cahir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This castle has a very interesting history and the Butler family has owned it for years. While the exterior looks like a castle, the interior doesn't, but was still gives you bragging rights to say you stayed in the castle. We were the only guests, having booked 4 rooms, one of which was on the 3rd floor where the inmates (Yes, it was a prison) were housed. Glad we didn't get that room, as it was spooky up there. Owner is quite eccentric, but rooms and breakfast were good.

Room Tip: 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwllmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2015

We have stayed here three or four times and each time we visit Piegg is as friendly as the last time we visited. David stays in the background but is also very friendly. When we were there this time Piegg was waiting to go to hospital and we have not been able to find out how she is. hopefully okay as we will definitely visit again

Room Tip: The rooms we had were converted prison cells and were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

My Mom and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We had a wonderful time in Ireland, however, we unfortunately decided to ignore the bad reviews about this "castle" (it doesn't look like a castle on the inside at all). We arrived twenty minutes past the check in time, which was between two and four. We were standing at the front door while it rained on us, ringing the doorbell for about ten minutes. We finally decided to walk around the back and when we knocked Mrs. Butler answered and told us to go back around to the front and ring the doorbell again. So we hauled our luggage back around to the front door and waited. She didn't answer the door until we rang the doorbell again… She then led us to our room and was very rough and rude. She asked us of our plans for the rest of our trip. She told us that everything we had planned was a terrible idea and how could she get it through our heads that we were stupid for wanting to do the horrible things on our itinerary… Yes, she really said that!! We had planned on taking a taxi to the next town because the bus would take over twice the time to get there. She said that she would call and set up a taxi for us. The first taxi she called said they would drive us for 180 Euro. She hung up with him and said he sounded very lazy on the phone which obviously annoyed her. She called a second person and said, "great news, I found you a taxi that will take you for 150 Euro". Yay! Maybe she's not so bad after all, we thought, she helped us find a deal on a taxi... The next morning she knocked on our door at 8:15 to make sure we would be at breakfast on time by 8:30. When we sat in our assigned seating, a nice couple we had met the night before came down and were saying hello to us. This angered Mrs. Butler, she yelled at them to sit in their assigned seats and to stop bothering us. They were startled and were very embarrassed at being yelled at in front of everyone at breakfast. So the taxi picked us up and drove us to our destination. When we got out or money to pay the agreed upon 150 Euro, it turned out, after a lot of calls were made, that Mrs. Butler had lied to us about which taxi was cheaper because she didn't like the "lazy" taxi driver and told us the other taxi was cheaper. It was actually 250 Euro and ended up costing us an extra 100 Euro. Such a horrible experience.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
14  Thank Xtina_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We were greeted by David and shown to our room. Later we met his mother Peg. Both were friendly, knowledgeable hosts. They told us about the town and we enjoyed getting to know them. The room was very nice. We had a bathroom across the hall. We did not have to share the bathroom. It was a great value for the money. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The "castle" was actually a prison which we loved! Our room was in the "keepers" quarters but it was still a kick! Easy walk to the village for dinner.

Room Tip: There is no WiFi! We were fine with that as we were on holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfisch125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Not one of the posh castles but you are not paying for that. There is lots of ambiance and the host was very nice. Only an hour and a half drive from Dublin. It's actually an old prison which adds some mystique.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed at the Castle for 3 nights 16-18 Aug 2015 and were lucky to meet Murray and Pauline who were a vacationing English couple. Murray's father had been head butler to the last owner of Cahir Castle and Murray grew up on the estate before making his way to England. . We enjoyed Murrays stories over a very generous breakfast each morning and he made it sound like the TV show Downton Abbey .
Peig and Murray are friends so if u can time your trip to when Murray is in residence I'm sure you would enjoy meeting him.

Room Tip: Bring cash, Peig wants to avoid the Credit card charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Beautiful property and charming rooms. We only stayed one night, but we had a very pleasant night's sleep and the breakfast was delicious. The sitting room was very inviting and we thoroughly having tea here - we felt very much at home. The city was just a few minutes' walk down the road and if you've never stayed in a castle before, then make this one your first...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahir hotels
18.4 km away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
26.2 km away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
441 reviews
24.8 km away
Hollymount House B&B
Hollymount House B&B
#1 of 7 in Cahir
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Tinsley House B&B
Tinsley House B&B
#2 of 7 in Cahir
48 reviews
21.5 km away
Annaswood B&B
Annaswood B&B
#6 of 7 in Cahir
2 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrigeen Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrigeen Castle

Address: Cork Road, Cahir, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cahir
Price Range: $101 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic castellated (former bridewell prison) home. Bedrooms are in former cells and keeper's accommodation, with many original features, accessible via a cut-limestone staircase tower. A comfortable, spacious building overlooking the heritage town of Cahir, and encircled by a walled garden and extensive grounds. Architecturally listed and in family ownership since 1919. Centrally located in town: heritage amenities, restaurants and bus/train stations all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carrigeen Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrigeen Castle Hotel Cahir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing