We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
66
40
11
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
40
11
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousspiral staircaseshared bathroomformer jailfirst floorold fashioneda wonderful stayyogurtdollsirelandhosts
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 144 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2015

We have stayed here three or four times and each time we visit Piegg is as friendly as the last time we visited. David stays in the background but is also very friendly. When we were there this time Piegg was waiting to go to hospital and we have not been able to find out how she is. hopefully okay as we will definitely visit again

Room Tip: The rooms we had were converted prison cells and were great
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

My Mom and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We had a wonderful time in Ireland, however, we unfortunately decided to ignore the bad reviews about this "castle" (it doesn't look like a castle on the inside at all). We arrived twenty minutes past the check in time, which was between two and four. We were standing at the front door while it rained on us, ringing the doorbell for about ten minutes. We finally decided to walk around the back and when we knocked Mrs. Butler answered and told us to go back around to the front and ring the doorbell again. So we hauled our luggage back around to the front door and waited. She didn't answer the door until we rang the doorbell again… She then led us to our room and was very rough and rude. She asked us of our plans for the rest of our trip. She told us that everything we had planned was a terrible idea and how could she get it through our heads that we were stupid for wanting to do the horrible things on our itinerary… Yes, she really said that!! We had planned on taking a taxi to the next town because the bus would take over twice the time to get there. She said that she would call and set up a taxi for us. The first taxi she called said they would drive us for 180 Euro. She hung up with him and said he sounded very lazy on the phone which obviously annoyed her. She called a second person and said, "great news, I found you a taxi that will take you for 150 Euro". Yay! Maybe she's not so bad after all, we thought, she helped us find a deal on a taxi... The next morning she knocked on our door at 8:15 to make sure we would be at breakfast on time by 8:30. When we sat in our assigned seating, a nice couple we had met the night before came down and were saying hello to us. This angered Mrs. Butler, she yelled at them to sit in their assigned seats and to stop bothering us. They were startled and were very embarrassed at being yelled at in front of everyone at breakfast. So the taxi picked us up and drove us to our destination. When we got out or money to pay the agreed upon 150 Euro, it turned out, after a lot of calls were made, that Mrs. Butler had lied to us about which taxi was cheaper because she didn't like the "lazy" taxi driver and told us the other taxi was cheaper. It was actually 250 Euro and ended up costing us an extra 100 Euro. Such a horrible experience.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
18  Thank Xtina_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015

We were greeted by David and shown to our room. Later we met his mother Peg. Both were friendly, knowledgeable hosts. They told us about the town and we enjoyed getting to know them. The room was very nice. We had a bathroom across the hall. We did not have to share the bathroom. It was a great value for the money. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The "castle" was actually a prison which we loved! Our room was in the "keepers" quarters but it was still a kick! Easy walk to the village for dinner.

Room Tip: There is no WiFi! We were fine with that as we were on holiday.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tfisch125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

Not one of the posh castles but you are not paying for that. There is lots of ambiance and the host was very nice. Only an hour and a half drive from Dublin. It's actually an old prison which adds some mystique.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2015

We stayed at the Castle for 3 nights 16-18 Aug 2015 and were lucky to meet Murray and Pauline who were a vacationing English couple. Murray's father had been head butler to the last owner of Cahir Castle and Murray grew up on the estate before making his way to England. . We enjoyed Murrays stories over a very generous breakfast each morning and he made it sound like the TV show Downton Abbey .
Peig and Murray are friends so if u can time your trip to when Murray is in residence I'm sure you would enjoy meeting him.

Room Tip: Bring cash, Peig wants to avoid the Credit card charges.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews