We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
22
12
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
12
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats raspberry room animal lovers furry friends fur babies delicious breakfast animals norma pets rescues falls
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We stayed in the Raspberry room and it was beautiful and very clean.The bed was comfortable and I liked the whirlpool tub that was big enough to stretch out in.Norma the owner was very friendly and knowledgeable,she gave us great directions for getting to the falls since the main route was under construction and I enjoyed chatting to her later in the evening.I liked petting the dogs and cats and the dogs were very quiet as soon as the initial excitement off our arrival wore off and you would never know there are animals in the house unless you see them.The rooms and common areas smell fresh and I didn't see any fur at all.

Room tip: The Raspberry room has a large whirlpool tub and access to a private deck.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margaretgf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normak2618, Owner at Cote's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Thanks so very much Margaret! You made my day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Tricky one this. Booked after reading about the dogs and cats that had been rescued by the owner and being pet-lovers/animal rescuers ourselves seemed the perfect overnight stop on our road trip. 5 dogs and 7 cats in residence when we arrived - dogs nearly brought the house down with their barking when we arrived.

Now its impossible to have 5 dogs in a house and for the place not of smell of dogs - even with our love of pets this was just a bit too much even for us I'm afraid. The dogs roamed everywhere downstairs including dining room and kitchen so there was an undeniable pong. Upstairs there was little or no smell as they didn't go there. The cats were not an issue at all - in fact we loved them and they were all super friendly.

On the subject of friendly the owner is definitely her own person and not completely without her idiosyncrasies - not going to be everyones cup of tea, a combination of gruff, grumpy, sarcastic…. without doubt likes animals more than humans. Must be admired for her efforts to rescue them however.

Room was clean, we had a king bed which was comfortable, bathroom was small however and shower pressure almost non-existent. Breakfast was I am afraid distinctly average (scrambled eggs were "omlettized", no cereal on offer) and at approx C$190 incl taxes I thought this was a bit expensive for what it was.

In short loved the cats, less so the dogs, don't expect too much human love from the host, not a great breakfast, rooms OK, bit too expensive.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normak2618, Owner at Cote's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thanks for your opinion...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stopped in for the night on our way back to Ontario. It was our 8 year anniversary and had booked the Raspberry room. Norma and her furry friends were amazing. Norma was extremely welcoming and friendly, as were her fur babies. It is the perfect B&B for animal lovers like ourselves. The room and house were very clean, the bed was comfy, and Norma makes a delicious breakfast. I hope to return one day. There is also coffee in the room which was a huge plus! The B&B is close to the highway and we were able to walk downtown for dinner. Highly recommend! :)

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normak2618, Owner at Cote's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Just off the TransCanada and walking distance from restaurants, we met Norma our extremely friendly and enjoyable host, along with her several furry friends. Our room, the Plum Room, was immaculate, cozy and had a comfortable sitting area and private bath. There was a small refrigerator, coffee machine and separate heat thermostat.

We walked downtown in 10 minutes to a very acceptable meal at Le Grand Sault restaurant.

Breakfast was lovely and made to order.

We will definitely stay at Cote's on our next trip to Halifax.

Room tip: The Plum Room was great
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normak2618, Owner at Cote's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you two as guests. The very best of 2017 to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Walked into a house of 2 friendly golden doodles, a standard poodle, around 5 or 6 cats, and a very accommodating host that makes a mean breakfast when she is not rescuing animals and making their lives better. The room was huge, and even with all of those fur babies, the place was immaculate, Jason's allergic to cats but not even a sniffle as she keeps it so clean. Really pleased we were too tired to keep driving and stopped in last minute!

Date of stay: December 2016
1  Thank 63LynnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews