We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peacefull”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 201- Ballyvaughan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alistairi...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely and peacefull”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Very easy to get to Galway and close to the Burren.easy drive to Doolen and the cliffs of Moher.recommend o connors pup in Doolen

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anette_ne...
Mainz, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect home away from home”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I spent a whole month in one of Douglas' beautifully and thoughtfully furnished luxurious cottages together with my little dog Maya. It was important to me to see the sea ;-) and have a fireplace! Oh the view! Every day a different one! And the warmth and coziness of the gas fire! And even without it the apartment was always warm and welcoming! Douglas and his mum really care about their guests! Everything is so well taken care of and if anything needed Douglas stops by and solves the "problem"! He even put a large bed instead of the two small ones for me! And I am still trying to find out who made that mattress!! Never had a more comfy one!! Bye bye back pain!! And on top of all of that you get your cottage cleaned every Saturday! It's all included in the price!! Thanks again, Noemi! You do a wonderful job! Douglas is a kind and easy person and goes out of his way to make your stay an unforgettable one - as well as all the others you might meet during your stay! There is lots of things to do and see around and more than one lovely pub with gorgeous seafood not far! Also a little Spar for your everyday needs is only a small distance from the house! It's a secluded and peaceful place but not too far away from other houses to either feel lonely or maybe even scared! I am missing the place terribly! (Maya does too!! ;-)) We are longing to be back one day!! Thank you so much Douglas, for making my stay in Ireland a really special one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denniskal...
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is perfect for two people. We loved the cozy fireplace and fantastic view of the Bay. It was so easy to get to all the wonderull sites in the Burren. We'll be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage 201 Ballyvaughan”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A beautiful cottage by the sea, when we arrived there was a lovely fire on which was very welcoming,the cottage is spotless and had everything you needed ,was lovely and warm and very cosy ,a beautiful place to stay looking out to the sea

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranichin...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid view”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

30 m from rocky coast - splendid view - everything there-even open gas fire.
House standing alone - 2 appartments only. Landscape Burren outstanding views, Wild Atlantic Way in area, village closed by, nice singing in pubs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield2...
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent seaside location, though you need a car to go shopping unless you are a strong walker.
Cottage itself is very comfortable to stay in, great that heating and washing machine and tumble dryer are included in the price, though you need to find out that the machines are in a separate little building just outside the cottage.
Overall very good value, good to find a place suitable for a couple - so many cottages are for 4+ guests with prices to match.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg_mc
TARPON SPRINGS
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage with beautiful view”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
11
people found this review helpful

We recently spent a week at Whitethorn that we rented through Shamrock Cottages. The reservation was easy and payments went through without a problem since we are located in the USA and Shamrock is in the UK. The cottage is just as advertised. A beautiful view overlooking Ballyvaughn Bay and further out to Galway Bay. We even had a resident sea otter visit on several occasions. The interior of the cottage is very comfortable with a sitting room, kitchen, and bedroom with ensuite bath. The kitchen is well equiped if you decide to cook. As advertised, there is a washer and dryer, but we did not realize it was there for several days since it is located in a shed behind to cottage and details from the owner didn't mention it. The Burren is a very interesting part of Ireland and we had no problem visiting all the sights we wanted within and easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing