We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation, Fabulous hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Sunroom diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Out by the sauna in the sun!
Sunroom diner
Hot tub fun
View of the local beach 10 min drive from the house
Galway Bay down at the beach
For extra guests - in main house. Downstairs double bedroom with terrace
For extra guests, double bedroom in main house
For extra guests - bathroom ensuite in main house.
view of Burren just moments from the cottage
Deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ballyvaughan, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cosmic_co...
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation, Fabulous hosts”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Woodsmoke is the cottage we all dream of owning, the accommodation is simply superb with stunning views in all directions, Ciara and John have provided everything you would need for a perfect stay. John and Ciara are the perfect hosts, always available for advice yet never in your space.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catatonia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Back for a return visit- just as amazing in winter!”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A group of us booked out here again for a reunion, and even though there was a winter storm coming in, we couldn't have picked a better place to sit in front of the fire, cook a big meal and just relax. The nights were clear so sitting out in the hot tub and looking up at the stars was just unbeatable. Ciara is still an incredible hostess, and this place is a true gem in The Burren. Fast wifi, plenty of of bedrooms and amenities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way!”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had the most perfect stay at Woodsmoke during July and August. It looks amazing in the pictures; it is even better in real life! Ciara was wonderfully welcoming in every way. The house is in the perfect location to explore the Burren, it is also in the perfect location to just enjoy the house and the immediate surroundings. We look forward to returning in the very near future. Thanks again from all of us Ciara.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan_g...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having read all the previous reviews it fully lived up to expectations. Thoughtful, personal touches were very much appreciated and our lovely hosts could not do enough for us. Would recommend to anyone visiting this part of Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary F
Edina, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Wood Smoke. The house was perfect and the surroundings very beautiful . It was a convenient location and near the aillwee cave. We had 3 generations of our family staying there, twelve people, ages 7 to 75. Our hostess
was wonderful and the house was clean, roomy and comfortable.The young people enjoyed the hot tub. the location is beautiful.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oldschool...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here as a couple with our three year old daughter. The house was perfectly suited to her (and therefore our) needs with loads of age-appropriate dvds, toys, books and games. The space indoors is very well laid out so that she could play and entertain herself within our sight while we relaxed and read or prepared meals.

The mezzanine space in so many houses is a sort of non-area that you just walk through to get to the bedrooms, but in Ciara's house it is actually a cosy and welcoming place to be. Here again there is a comfy seating area with lots of books and a good reading lamp alongside children's toys.

In late November it was a mad dash in the frosty night across to the hot tub, but to sit in the tub looking up at the stars was wonderful. Being from Dublin, we rarely see stars! The house is in such a good location, in the countryside yet not at all remote. Being able to get to Ballyvaughan on foot is a real bonus. All in all, this feels like a home rather than an impersonal rental property, and Ciara really cares that her guests have the best possible experience during their stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing