We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Becketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Becketts Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Leixlip B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Recently visited Beckett’s restaurant with a small group for a business lunch on the recommendation of friends. Plenty of car parking out front, and the house itself had a welcoming and homely feel. We were warmly greeted by our host and promptly seated in the conservatory area, which was appropriately decorated for the Christmas season.

In the room:
The conservatory was bright and spacious and the table well presented, with crisp white linen and clean glasses and cutlery. We did spot a few cobwebs on the columns throughout the room, and the low winter sun did nothing to hide the dirt on the conservatory windows, but that’s something easily remedied. The plush padded chairs at table are worth an honourable mention as we found them particularly comfortable. Ambience was quiet and relaxed, and the clientele a mix of locals and small groups out for a working lunch.

At the table:
The bread basket lacked variety, with one choice of white and brown bread, but the offering was fresh and there was plenty for everyone. The butter could have been a little softer and proved difficult to spread.

Good selection of starters on the Christmas lunch menu, and I was pleased to have selected the warm salad with Clonakilty black pudding. Well presented on the plate, the sweet mustard dressing and mild smokiness of the Toulouse sausage complemented the dark flavour of the pudding well.

Likewise, a good selection of main courses, and having mistakenly ordered the vegetarian option of red kidney bean and coriander Wellington (thinking it was beef wellington!), I was glad I had. Often the vegetarian option is an afterthought in restaurants, but the Wellington here was very good indeed. The pastry was crisp and the filling flavourful with a subtle hint of coriander, which I really enjoy. A serving of vegetables and roast potatoes normally accompanies the main, but I asked for a side order of chips instead. I was disappointed when this didn’t arrive, and had almost finished the main before I saw any staff to enquire.

All was forgiven when the desserts came to the table, and once again the wide selection meant that there was something to everyone’s taste. The Christmas pudding was my preferred choice; rich, moist, and hot throughout, it was covered in a deliciously warm brandy crème anglaise. The pudding was the best I’ve had in a long time, and perfect on a cold winter’s day.

Tea and coffee were average, and there was only one milk jug (with a chip on the pouring spout) between our group, so it was a bit of a stretch. Cappucino, Latte and Expresso were available at an additional charge.

At 24 euro the lunch was reasonably priced, and given the attention to detail of the food and wide selection on the menu I was more than happy with the offering. The additional service charge of 12.5% was a little more difficult to swallow - I like to reward for good service when I receive it, but I found the service at table to be variable and at times rushed and a little distracted.

Elsewhere:
The restroom was easy to locate on the ground floor, and although small was clean and tidy with plenty of mirrors. All facilities are located on a level ground floor, and corridors and doors are suitably wide to accommodate wheelchair users.

In summary:
Enjoyed my first visit to Beckett’s restaurant and found the food to be the real star of the show - excellent quality and presentation, a well-designed menu, providing a wide variety of Irish and international flavours. Service was variable, but overall would recommend Beckett’s if you’re looking for quality food in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
50
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Recently stayed and dined at Becketts. I had dined here previously - many years ago - and remembered it as having been a most enjoyable experience so looked forward to returning.

I really loved the accommodation - the rooms are most comfortable and unique. Very spacious with beautiful high ceilings and individual character. We had two rooms between our party and, while they were different, they were both really lovely. The TV came on itself during the night which was a little 'freaky' but funny ... maybe the remote from the room beside ours activated it? Not really sure what happened but it was not a big deal.

We enjoyed dinner from the early bird menu in a very busy dining room with great atmosphere. The meal was most enjoyable (compliments to the chef) but the service a little rushed towards the end of the meal.

Having enjoyed a fabulous meal, we felt that the experience of it was a little ruined by the fact that an 'issue' was made over €0.38 on the bill. The bill presented to us had automatically included 12.5% service which we felt was a little high. We also felt that it would be more appropriate to have service charge at the discretion of the diner.

The service at breakfast the following morning was completely different. Colm (I think the gentlemans name was) was most pleasant and friendly, helpful and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble - Thank you.

I would certainly recommend Becketts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had the opportunity to start our trip in Ireland with a 3 night stay at Becketts and had such a wonderful experience we came back for our last night too. Colin and his staff made us feel so welcome, the food was excellent and the accommodations were really top notch. I would highly recommend Becketts to anyone traveling to Dublin. It is just steps away from a bus stop ( 20 minute ride to city centre ) and about 30 minutes from the airport. Easy drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Wonderful warm hospitality,good bar and excellent restaurant , Room 5, suite, very comfy,
service provided by Colin Fitton and his team, superb, only thing missing was hot Irish breakfast, but what was on offer which very enjoyable and possibly healthier.
Nice atmosphere - easy company.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merrymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Recently dined in Beckett's Restaurant........early bird menu was average.... €26 for four course sounds like good bang for the buck but bit cheeky to add on a 12.5% service charge, especially when there were only two of us, and not like it was a big group of 8 or more!!
Food was nothing exceptional....the mackerel salad starter was probably the best part, but my friend had to return starter off ham and liver paté - so tough you would need steak knife to cut it.....and accompanied with two thick slices of ciabatta....strange combo.....our mains were ok......my pork was bit dry and only saved by the apple puree sauce....tasteless though.
I love cheesecake but Beckett's offering was a huge disappointment......they certainly know how to charge for wine by the glass. We should probably have opted for the four course with bottle of wine which costs €70 and most importantly does not include the infamous service charge.....I think that's bit cheeky in these times to take for granted to include a service charge for early bird menu! There are much finer establishments in the city and I won't be back to Beckett's...... the surroundings are quite quaint . I won;t be rushing back though!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace-Heno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine77Lorraine77
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for one night only with my husband. It was a very last minute decision to stay here, phoned and got a good deal. Was told it was a small double room. Arrived late at the hotel and was greeted by a friendly guy, had my credit card ready expecting him to ask for it but he told me I could settle everything in the morning.
The room was small and the en suite was tiny but apart from that it was fab. The place is full of character, they have a lovely area away from the bar where you can sit and have a drink. the hotel was full of people having dinner. Cannot say a bad word about this hotel except that the room was small and even that wouldnt put me off staying there. The staff are very friendly and its full of charm, its not like other bigger hotels that are only interested in your money. Cannot wait to stay here again and next time Ill check in early and make the most of this lovely hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine77Lorraine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed one of the larger rooms for one night whilst on a business trip in the area. Very impressed with the boutique feel and personal service. Excellent restaurant, which was very busy with non-guests, which is generally a good sign. Very good menu and wine list. Dined with business colleagues who we very impressed with the food. This hotel is a great alternative to the sameness of the large chain hotels and great value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcbantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.6 km away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 km away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.9 km away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.8 km away
Leixlip House Hotel
Leixlip House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Leixlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.2 km away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Hotel

Property: Becketts Hotel
Address: Cooldrinagh House, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Becketts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Becketts hotel is a 3-star property located on the outskirts of Dublin city which was the home of the famous Irish writer Samuel Becketts' mother. This Country house has been fully restored maintaining many or its original features. It boasts 10 guestrooms beautifully designed including double, single, twin and suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Becketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing