We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Kilkee Bay Hotel .”
Review of Kilkee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Reviewed 10 July 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in this hotel last weekend.
We had a lovely room and had intended to have dinner just one night, but actually had dinner the second night also, because it was fabulous!! We enjoyed beautiful food and wine! Compliments to the Chef/s and bar staff / waiters!
The hotel is located in such a fantastic place, with beautiful scenery all around the town itself. The panoramic views on the coast roads are just breathtaking!
But what made our stay in Kilkee was the staff in the hotel! They are second to none! We have stayed in higher rated hotels, and didnt enjoy it anything like our stay here. A huge thank you to Joanne, Sinead, Jack, Mannie, and Richard! But a special thank you to Lorna, who we mainly dealt with! She is a fabulous person and is a huge asset to the hotel! we cant wait to return in the near future! ( Our new favourite place ). We have recommended this hotel to all our family and friends also!

Room Tip: We had a lovely newly decorated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patblade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you so much for your very kind and super comments in relation to your stay with us – it is very encouraging when we get such nice words from customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Myself and my fiance stayed here last week for a couple of days and it wasn't the best at all. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel where deliveries came in, the curtains were scorched like someone put a cigarette out on them, the hotel chef was outside our room window either smoking or cleaning his car in his chef gear (that's why we didn't eat here) the shower had yellow tape wrapped around it holding it together, the cups in the room were filthy full of tea or coffee stains, Kilkee is a lovely place to visit but I would definitely avoid this place

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

We were surpisesed to read your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

It would appear that you were allocated a room which was actually off for maintenance which explains the issues with the shower and cups – for this we unreservedly apologise.

The chef in question has been spoken to and certainly this is against company policy and has been dealth with internally.

Perhaps you might consider returning and contacting us where we will be delighted to upgrade you to our mini suite for a return stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Horrible, dirty hotel, I took my mother there for two night break.
The room was smelly and dirty, the breakfast was cold, the staff tried there best but all they could do was apologies for the run down state. Worst of all it was full with foreign tourist, who also commented on it, with hotels like this is no surprise we are known as the "dirty Irish"
Kilkee is lovely, a national treasure but just stay anywhere but not here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Place Dated, needs a lick of paint, Banging of old doors is constant, Noise coming from back of hotel terrible, Sick of looking at Chef Out back Smoking or cleaning his car in his Chefs Clothes, Another reason why we didn't eat in it,

Room Tip: Stay Front of hotel noise out back terribe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erniehitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

All of the carpets were stained. Somehow, the handle on the main door was sticky.

Had to have my room changed as it hadn't been cleaned with bed clothes on the floor and clearly un-hoovered.

The second room was serviceable but clearly in need of some maintenance. The bed was average.

The staff seemed nice but not very professional. There are clearly some management issues here.

No internet.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aido179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel as we were only using it as a base and I got more or less what I expected. The hotel is well situated, about 5 minutes walk from all the local pubs etc. the room was fine and it was clean. bed was comfortable but very firm and I like a firm bed but this was edging on hard. the breakfast was a bit of a Fawlty Towers job. it really was a bit of a travesty. hard to describe why but almost everything was wrong. food cold. tables left uncleared. food badly cooked. Eggs were almost raw and nobody seemed to care. No brown bread. No yoghurts. The staff which were very young seemed to float around the place and really needed direction. I have to say that they were very nice and wanted to be helpful.

all in all. I would go back simply because south Clare and Kilkee is such a fantastic place. great walking and cycling which rocks our boat. the cliff walks are unbeatable and you seem to have the place to yourself. Cycling the loop head was also a treat. Kilkee rocks. Go visit.

Room Tip: No choice really. no great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I Stay in hotel on Thursday 23/6/2016 for 1 night the rooms were fine and clean
and staff friendly but breakfast terrible for a hotel Cold food rashers half cooked toaster half working and sour milk on table for cereal a woman asked for 2 boiled eggs got raw ones no manager in the hotel no supervisor either ireported it to reception on duty she was nice and load of people that morning complained about break if they don't clean up their act they wont get business
I

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
1.2 km away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
389 reviews
1.2 km away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
230 reviews
23 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
604 reviews
11.7 km away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
9.7 km away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkee Bay Hotel

Address: Kilrush Road, Kilkee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkee Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management following extensive renovations and redecorating May 2013, Kilkee bay hotel offers a warm friendly “cead mile failte” in comfortable 3 star surroundings.All of our newly redecorated en suite guestrooms combine comfort and convenience offering light contemporary decor and modern furnishings Each is equipped with • Satellite television• Direct dial telephone• Tea/coffee making facilities• Hairdryer • Complimentary toiletries PJ's Bar is where you are invited to simply enjoy yourself in comfortable surroundings enhanced by vibrant conversation, stirring music sessions, plus of course one of the finest pints in Clare! Crokers restaurant serves a menu offering a host of fresh, locally sourced delicious dishes. Our excellent conference and banqueting facilities make our hotel the ideal wedding venue and the only choice for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kilkee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Kilkee
Bay Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing