We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
8
7
5
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
7
5
5
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here. The food was delicious. Seafood was really fresh. The lady working there was so friendly and welcoming. Food finished at 9 and we arrived late and she was still happy to serve us.
Great experience, Would recommend this place!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Aoife G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre H, Owner at Myles Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi AoIfe G,

Thank you for your great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us .
I will pass on to the staff you were very happy with the service also. We hope to see you in Myles again soon.

Thanking you,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This B&B is on the main street of Kilkee, in a quaint old building with many original features. Like the steep stairs. The ceilings are surprisingly high, while the rooms themselves are surprisingly small. There are lovely varnished pine floors in the hallways, which make the hallways quite noisy. The reception area on the main floor is in a narrow hallway; a sign states hours of operation, and although I was there during the stated hours there was no one available to check me in. The sign stated that in the event no one was there, staff in the bar would be able to help. While I was waiting to be served in the dining room, I overheard a new server telling another employee that someone had asked about the reception desk; the response was, "Well, they'll have to wait. Not my job." The pub is busy much of the day, and service there is not exactly speedy. The food is only adequate. Live music is provided nightly for your listening pleasure. I was very glad to have ear plugs with me. Having said that, I did enjoy a good night's sleep once the music ended.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank DisIllusioneD_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre H, Owner at Myles Creek, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi DisllusioneD52,

Thank you for your review,

Myles Creek Guesthouse is a protected building and we are happy you enjoyed the original features,
We do have larger rooms on request when available.

The reception desk opens at 11 am and we do have staff in the bar area to help guests before this time. We have late breakfast for guests to 12 O Clock. Check in to the rooms is standard time from 2 O Clock of course if a room is available we will accommodate check in earlier.

I am not quite sure what day you checked in as your name is not clear and you say you were being served in the dining room while waiting for reception so iI am a bit confused as dining room is for guest breakfasts . I can only apologise if for some reason staff were not on hand to help you, i can only say it was an extremely busy week and staff were doing their best to cater for everyone and food cooked to order takes time. Live music at weekends only .

We hope to see you back again maybe at a quieter time in Kilkee

Kind Regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

The lack of decaf coffee, in the room and for breakfast, in this day and age is unacceptable. Wifi didn't work at any stage of our visit. The room was clean. Service for breakfast wasn't friendly. A lack of secure car parking, was a big issue! When we left and got to our car, someone had vomited all over the windscreen and damaged the car bonnet, as if it had been danced on. I couldn't recommend Kilkee as a safe resort.

Room Tip: tThe rooms at the front, certainly get all the noise and music from the pubs, discos and party goes till the early hours of the morning.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre H, Owner at Myles Creek, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi Josephine W

Thank you for your review,


We have just updated all our rooms to include tea, coffee facilities along with a TV room providing the same. We are sorry you are so upset at not having decaf coffee this can be addressed.

WIFI is a problem in Kilkee in general especially in the busy month of August.

Kilkee is a seaside town and parking for all is on the main streets, we are sorry if you had a bad experience with this , We have no control over what happens on the street but in general we do not have a problem with guest parking. Also we have cameras outside our building.

We hope to see you back in Kilkee maybe at a quieter time and I am sure you will enjoy the town.

Thinking you ,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

We stayed here for a night. Although the room was very small it was clean and tidy, overlooking the main road one set of stairs up. A little noisy though and a commotion outside at
3.00am woke my wife. The redeeming feature of this guesthouse was it’s lovely vegetarian breakfast. Although we are not vegetarians we ordered it as we didn’t want any bacon.

Room Tip: Wifi was very patchy and not secure
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bbcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre H, Owner at Myles Creek, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi bbcw,

Thank you for your review,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us ,

We are very sorry about noise on street , It is generally quiet apart from busy weekends.

Larger room available on request.

We hope to see you back again in Kilkee,

Kind Regards.

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, clean and cosy on a miserable wet day. Can't see what all the complaining is about . Would definitely stay again

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews