We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
43
39
16
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
39
16
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cavan town full marks mash staff were lovely lovely hotel farnham craic meal receptionist fab
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Spent a night here whilst over on business. Arrived quite late after flight delays, staff were friendly and welcoming. Lobby area is dated but nice enough, room was spacious. Bedroom area was slightly dated, had a flat tv in the wall in the corner of the room which seemed an odd location for it. The room had a double and single bed, both of which were comfortable though the pillows were rock hard. The bathroom area was large but the bath with overhead shower were desperately in need of modernising.

Food at the bar was very good and thankfully was still taking orders until 2130.

They play live music in the bar which can be heard from the rooms. Also walls seem pretty thin so you can hear the people next door speaking or watching tv.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018

I know this hotel many years but never stayed in it but worked in the area, I was up for one night on a night out with locals as i was finishing work in the area after many years.
I knew most of the staff from working there and chose this place as getting a taxi out of the town is near impossible later on in the night, this hotel is slap bang in the middle of the town and thats all one wants on a night out.

Rooms are old fashioned and I had a room with three beds and only needed one but asked for a doulbe bed as i like my comfort but this was fruitless after asking the girl to change it upon seeing it,the girl I originally booked with was off so there was nothing done its a satellite town so staff have to travel far and wide in most cases to get to work.
Anyway I took the room i was given and it was priced high but there was other activites in the town if i recall which was the result of that but it was cheaper than surrounding hotels that has some rooms left but priced like a bank holiday weekend in dublin.
TV was small room was quite bug but it had three beds and the shower area was refreshed although the toilet was very close to the wall which can be often the case in hotels but not comfortable for sitting on.
The bar is nice and a friendly spot and drink is priced well and they serve really nice food in the restraunt attached to it at the rear which is spacious. There is free parking and there is a contanied area at the back with cameras which would be the suggested place to park if you can,there is also on street parking and local car parks withing walking distance.
I had one gripe with the hotel when one of my friends felt unwell and there was a big securtiy detail brinign him in to refresh himself as his wife was collecting him soon and given the staff knew who I was and my friend whom is a local it was uncalled for but i can understand to a point but again helping a friend out that they all knew including me there was no need for the interrogation and then to be suggested pay extra money for him to stay for literally 15mins until his wife collected him.

As a security professional myself I can relate to having others come back to your room but it was clearly not a situation like that and should have been accomodated in a better manner.

Despite all that if you want a night out and staying here and want everything at your fingertips and just need to put your head down this is the place to be without a doubt,other hotels are a good taxi ride away and cost much more and getting one is no easy task. The locals are great and there is good craic in the hotel and always something on in here so you wont go astray regardless.

Room Tip: Higher the better facing the rear
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jimboirelandDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two days We had the carvery was ok The bar food is much better The breckfast is basic but nice and the staff are friendly and v helpful There s privite parking at the back of the hotel Rooms clean and bright

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank freshokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

We enjoyed our stay at Farnham Arms Hotel. It is centrally located in Cavan so everything is an easy walk for restaurants and pubs, however they do have a very good restaurant and nice bar attached to the hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. The wifi had excellent reception. The free breakfast that comes with the room is fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 3,305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful stay in a great room. We arrived to a luxurious massage which set us up nicely for an hour or more in the thermal spa and infinity pool. Dinner was fantastic, the staff were so helpful and very efficient. Breakfast was a let down though so not full marks

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews