We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable and Friendly”
Review of Hotel Kilmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kilmore
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Clare
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable and Friendly”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed another great stay at the Kilmore over the October weekend++. Our check-in was instant and done by a very pleasant and smiling receptionist (Majella). Our room was at the front of the Hotel (as requested) with a view of the rolling countryside, it is also facing easterly so we had the sunrise in the mornings. The sleep quality was very-very good with a very comfortable bed.

We dined there on Monday night in the Hotel Restaurant and both of us agreed that from start to finish the food was really great. The breakfast was also very good with no restrictions to the amount of food you put on your breakfast plate. There is also a complimentary news paper available.

The bathroom was very roomy with fresh smelling towels etc and a very large shower. The cleanliness of the bathroom was very high as was the room and the Hotel in general.

We found the family of staff very attentive and friendly in every respect. All-in-all, we really had a lovely time in the Kilmore which we used as our base for touring in the Cavan area with all it has to offer. Will we be staying there again! YES.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerCo_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    58
    22
    17
    15
See reviews for
67
70
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

It had been a long, but pleasant plane ride from JFK in NY and a full day of sightseeing. We were ready to 'chill out' and relax. Hotel Kilmore was our first hotel stop on our 10-day Ireland vacation and it proved to be a pleasant one. Everyone was so pleasant and helped make our short stay a memorable one. The pub was great and was the place were I had my first taste of Guinness. Wow, terrific. I was hooked. Recommend this hotel. Nice low-key place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for the week of the fleadh, fabulous hotel, great food and service, bedroom small but extremely comfortable and clean, shuttle bus running in and out from the fleadh which was a great service and meant we never had to move the car, would highly recommend this beautiful hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibereen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here this week shared a triple room for 3 adults 1 double bed and 1 single. The room was tiny with saloon style doors on the bathroom. It was extremely overpriced for such a cramped room. Staff were nice and mostly helpfull, particularly the night time porter. Decor was nice and modern. Would not stay again however as it is just not value for money.

Room Tip: Do NOT book na triple or famliy room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monicaleis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Kilmore Hotel is basically just a standard hotel, no bad points but nothing really to write home about, the rooms look as if they have recently been refurbished and are the best thing about the hotel with a nice big LCD TV and standard bathroom, with a swing door! (remember the old wild west saloon doors well thats what you get.)
The wifi is not free and is 12 euro for 24hours and it is rubbish it is slow you cant even listen to internet radio far less watch youtube.

The meal at night was my main complaint it was ok just standard bar food but not at bar prices, starters at around 8 euros and mains averaging 20euro plus, I know Ireland is expensive for food but this was well above average, I had Chicken Fajitas 20Euro which in any currency is expensive, Steaks came in at 28Euro. Obviously i never eat in the resteraunt so can't comment.

Breakfast was ok cold buffet and cooked breakfast if required.
B and B rate was 69Euro but adding on my dinner I was well over 100Euro avaluable lesson learned.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Clare
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My wife & I stayed here again as we were in Cavan for a long-ish weekend (May 7th). The stay was brilliant and the "family" of staff were as usual exceptional.

When we arrived after our long journey from Co. Clare (Ireland) we were greeted by the smiling faces of the reception staff. Check-in was as usual very fast. Our room (211) was at the end of the hallway. It was a pleasant room with a lovely view of the rolling countryside and the front garden area of the Hotel.

The sleep quality was great. Even though our room was at the front of the Hotel there was no noise during the night nor from any passing traffic. My wife and I had a full night’s sleep in a very clean and comfortable bed.

The cleanliness of the room and bathroom etc was very-very good and the bathroom linen had a fresh and pleasant scent.

We dined there that evening with our guest and we all enjoyed the meal very much. The quality of the food was exceptional and to a very high standard. The dining room staff (Lorcan, Louise and Caryn) who waited on our table were exceptionally courteous and attentive.

Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short because of a slight problem at home. However we are going back there again very soon for another stay and we are looking forward to this stay very much.

Because of cutting our stay short and because of the “weekend-package deal” we were given a voucher for the one night’s B&B we missed out on.

Thank you to the management and staff of the Kilmore. You always make our stay there very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerCo_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here for a wedding we were attending, it was lovely, room very nice, not overly huge but comfortable. Room was fairly pricey though! Breakfast was nice, we were late arriving down but still plenty to be had!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
5.3 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
1.3 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
19.6 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
25.7 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
16.8 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilmore

Property: Hotel Kilmore
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kilmore 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kilmore, Cavan, situated just five minutes from Cavan Town on the main Dublin to Cavan Road.The Hotel Kilmore is the perfect blend between Old World Charm and New World Elegance. The hotel location, set amongst landscaped gardens, makes it the perfect setting for a pleasurable weekend break, lavish banquet, wedding, conference or business event. We offer our guests an uncompromising level of service, personal yet efficient. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmore Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing