We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not be recommending”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
newry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“will not be recommending”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

booked to stay 3nights 08/04/12 stayed 1 nite and left staff not very helpful family rooms very small and cramped beds uncomfortable even kids couldnt sleep not child friendly children running wild up and down stairs playing with lifts no facilities for them we felt we were in lobby minding everyone else kids as they not allowed in bar after 7pm there was children running around bedrooms knocking doors and if you want something to eat with kids had to sit in lobby staff wasnt bothered when approached about the problems asked me was i not told it more corporate and wedding hotel they dont cater for kids breakfast terrible scalding hot plates put in front of kids after me asking them not to give plates so DANGEROUSLY hot to children stale food stuck to high chair husband and daughter both vomited after breakfast in hotel room when booking out receptionist wasnt very pleasant hotel has no atmosphere very disappointed WE LEFT AND BOOKED INTO ANOTHER HOTEL

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    239
    93
    32
    22
See reviews for
213
277
17
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
louth
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We got a great deal on pigsback for ourselves and 2 children for 1 night bed and breakfast. I requested a family room to accomadate the 4 of us but the room we were given only had a single and double bed. I contacted reception and the girl said another bed would be sent up but I had concerns that this extra bed would make it a very tight squeeze and asked to be put in a larger room, I was told there was none available. Bed arrived and left absolutely no space for a family of 4 to move around, very uncomfortable night which included most of us banging our toes of furniture as we tryed to move around. To open or close the window in this room meant you had to climb onto a very deep window still and lean over, not a very family friendly room!!! Breakfast was ok, we arrived at 10am , the choice of continental breakfast wasn't great, no pastrys left ,no breads, cheeses, ect which I would have expected from a 4 star hotel. Was.really looking forward to staying in this hotel but left disappointed

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jellytots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I think it's about time that the furniture down in the reception and bar were changed! They are worn and dirty and make the place look really bad. The windows are also filthy. The artwork needs to be updated also.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eili22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

stayed here overnight 08/04/2012 entering the car park we thought good, it looks busy thats a good sign, check in was ok pleasant enough girl on the desk, our room was just off reception, nice and handy, key card opens door also operates electrics in room which unfortunately also includes the heating, the room was mighty cold as a window was left open, by the time we got the room heated up it was time for dinner, i`ll come back to that, anyways lookin at the hotel i`d say it was built 10/12 year ago everything new nice and shiney worthy of 4 star only problem is nothing had been replaced had to wait for the tv to warm up it was that old restaurant was much the same napkin had holes in it wallpaper pealing not a big menu but it was ok wife had duck i had steak cooked just right pink but still chewy breakfast was very good large selection from conti to full irish again staff very efficient, we did not go near the gym as we are a bit long in the tooth for that so no comment there but most i would give this hotel is 2.5 to a max 3 star

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grandpabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed in the Cavan Crystal with my wife for two nights in March 2012. The common areas of the hotel were fine, well furnished, spacious and bright with high ceilings. Our check in was quick and efficient.

The room was ok, everything you would expect in a four star hotel room with not much in the way of added extras. Little touches like a turn down service, complimentary bottles of mineral water, greater range of television channels etc which we've seen in other four star hotels were missing. We felt the room didn't have a great degree of character and it overlooked a drab empty parking lot. Having said that, it was very quiet and we both slept very well.

Breakfast was good, a mixture of buffet continental foods and meat, fish, pancakes available to be ordered. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly.

The highlight of our stay was the restaurant, where we ate on the first night. The food was fantastic, really creative and tasty. There were plenty of the little touches we missed in the room on offer in the restaurant including a pre-dessert mini ice cream cone. Whoever came up with that deserves great praise!

We both used the gym facilities and they were good, plenty of cardio machines and a good swimming pool.

The hotel is located a bit outside Cavan town and a car is a necessity for journeys into the town and around the locality.

All in all, a good solid four star hotel which could be excellent with a little more of the personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaevusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here one night for a conference and found everything to be top class, the exterior appearance is very good and plenty of free car parking is available.

The room was large and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, plenty of storage space also, the lights are simple to use with no over sophisticated switching.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was fine and a few drinks in the bar later, at €4 a pint for Guinness this was good value.

When we arrived and prior to evening dinner we learned that apparently the bar doesn't serve food after lunch time and is restricted to just soup and sandwiches after that time, meals are only served rom 6.00pm up in the restaurant.

This is unusual in a large hotel, a lot of people don't want, or can't afford full meals, in a hotel at night and a simple bar food menu seved up to 9.00pm would I think fill a gap in the bar service.

Breakfast was good with a large selection of cereals, preserves, breads and fresh fruit salads and hallejulah another hotel that actually takes your order at the table for your hot food which arrived on a well heated plate looknig fresh and appetising, full marks for that service and don't go down the hot bin self service fiasco route please.

Our conference room was well laid out and serviced by Pat who did a great job organising last minute items for us including a smaller separate room for a side meeting, he was ably assisted by Irene in the refeshment department and the reception staff also deserve a good mention.

There is I believe a large leisure centre but time was against the idea of using that, I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

great hotel with luxury bedrooms with fab four poster bed.
friendly staff,excellent food in restaurant,great spa treatments and pool.
great pub about 500 yards away for nice atmosphere and excellent steaks!! (cheaper food and drink than hotel).
can highly recommend this hotel and plan to visit it again in near future!!

Room Tip: upgrade to room with a four poster bed,very luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loyal1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
4.4 km away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
19.0 km away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
37.9 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
566 reviews
17.7 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.1 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavan Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavan Crystal Hotel

Property: Cavan Crystal Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavan Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavan Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing