We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Roseville”
Review of Roseville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roseville
Ranked #1 of 7 Youghal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I cannot rate this Guesthouse highly enough. Richie & Caroline are very welcoming & friendly people.

The setting is lovely, there is a beautiful garden where you can sit out on a nice day. It is situated near the road but far enough off it so you do not hear traffic.

The room we stayed in was gorgeous. The décor was very tasteful & we had a little pantry that was very handy for us with a fridge, cutlery, ware etc.

The breakfast was delivered each morning to the room & was the nicest I have ever had in a Guesthouse.

Richie is a very talented musician & invited us to hear him play on the Wednesday evening in The Nook. There was a wonderful atmosphere there & I would highly recommend this also. Roseville is situated very close to lovely restaurants and the beach. I also went on the tour of the Clock Tower, another highlight of my trip to Youghal.

All in all, I would highly recommend Roseville as a lovely place to stay and also Youghal as a place to visit, not just for international visitors but also Irish & local people from Cork. I live just 45 minutes away. I think we often underestimate & don't see what is on our own doorstep!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 950MariaB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

HI Maria,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, hopefully we'll see you back at Roseville again sometime

Regards,

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Roseville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

This B&B is really a top accomodation. Rooms are just wonderful and the breakfast is great. We were invited to a local pub at night with great Irish music. The people are just wonderful. This place is highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schumachermat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thanks so much for the review ! It was lovely to have all 3 of ye stay and join us at The Nook !

Regards,

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed with some old college friends and didn't have been more impressed with Richie and Caroline and the welcome and attention we were given. Our rooms were like hotel suites, with entrance separate from the family home and tea/ coffee malking facilities in both rooms. There was a great selection of foods for breakfasy and it was presented beautifully. Our 'check- out ' was at our own leisure and in no way rushed. The stay felt more like visiting friends than paying guests and we all agree it could be come an annual ' reunion.
"Mile buiochas Richie agus Caroline!'

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

HI Liz,

Thanks so much for the glowing review, hope to see ye all again soon !

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I stayed in Roseville Guest House last week with some friends. We live in different parts of the country so each year we choose a different place to meet up, this year we chose Youghal. Richie took the booking and I was really impressed with his friendly manner and he was very interested and helpful in offering suggestions for restaurants etc.
From the moment we arrived, we were made very welcome by Richie and Caroline who suggested that we have a glass of wine in their garden as the weather was glorious. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with a nautical feel to them. The room I stayed in was almost like an apartment such was the space and comfort, beautifully decorated and immaculately maintained.
Breakfast was sumptuous and included home made smoothies, granola, oatmeal and a delicious selection of hot foods to choose from, all made to order.
I am lucky to have travelled in Ireland and abroad. I don’t do reviews normally but the relaxing oasis that Roseville is and the welcoming nature of Richie and Caroline really deserve special mention. Looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BerKilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

HI Bernie,

It was lovely to have ye staying with us, thanks so much for the kind review!

Regards,

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Richie and Caroline made us feel very welcome. We had a large room they called the garden the garden suit. It was quiet and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Roseville. We visited the local pub called Treacys known locally as the Nook. The music there on the Wednesday we went was excellent. Youghal is a great town with plenty of eating places.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

HI Dave ,

Thanks for the review !

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I honestly cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Richie and his wife (apologies - I have forgotten the lady's name) care hugely and have put a lot of passion into their business and it really shows. The room was huge, spotless and really well laid out.

The furniture and finishes in the room would have looked at home in a 5 star hotel, the breakfast was lovely and could be customised the night before. Richie was evidently very keen to ensure that my stay was as comfortable as possible, and I really felt appreciated and well looked-after.

The only tiny thing that could have made the stay EVEN better, would have been some toiletries in the bathroom. Shampoo and showergel etc. With the new airport rules, you can't really bring your own, so I was a bit stumped on that one. Not a big deal though, and didn't affect the quality of my stay at all - still 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy Shovel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

HI Andy,

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for the fantastic review , we've addressed the valid points you made.

Regards,

richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My husband and I stayed at Roseville for a week, it was recommended by family members who live in Youghal. It met all our needs, as senior citizens it was important to have a nice big walk in shower. Our room was ground level with a private entrance, it was very clean with a little fridge. Its location is great, in the middle of town, yet is is so quiet we felt like we were in the country. Plenty of parking and a short walk to the bus stop, if you don't have a car, there are buses on the hour to cork city and Waterford city and little towns a long the way. There is a lot of history in Youghal, it's a wonderful town to visit. Richie and Caroline are wonderful hosts, helpful in every way and the breakfast is wonderful.
Thank you, Richie and Caroline.

Room Tip: Call and tell Richie your needs and concerns and he will help you pick a suitable room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosevilleyoughal, Owner at Roseville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thanks so much for the review !

Regards,

Richie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.2 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
338 reviews
0.1 km away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
376 reviews
0.2 km away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
15.2 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
9.3 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseville

Address: New Catherine Street | Youghal, Youghal P36 DP22, Ireland (Formerly Roseville Bed & Breakfast)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Price Range: $185 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roseville Guest Accommodation : Built in 1838, Roseville is a magnificent Georgian residence enclosed within an enchanting walled garden in the centre of Youghal town. This heritage town is at the gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East and is the perfect base from where to explore East Cork and West Waterford. Accommodation at Roseville consists of two magnificently reappointed rooms: the Garden Room and Garden Room Suite. Though part of the house, each room has its own private entrance from the garden courtyard. Both rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and will appeal to the extended-stay traveller. At Roseville Guest Accommodation we pride ourselves on our warm welcome and attention to detail and our unique Room Service Breakfast is no exception. Tuck into fresh homemade breads and preserves, together with juices, smoothies and overnight oats for the health conscious, along with a hot breakfast delivered fresh to your room each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roseville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseville Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing