We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONFIRMATION MEAL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CONFIRMATION MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently joined my family and grandaughter for a Confirmation day meal at the Old Imperial Hotel. The food was superb - beautifully fresh ingredients - and the staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. Well done and best of luck to all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1947Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear 1947Mary,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which I have passed on to the hard working team we are lucky to have here. It's much appreciated and we hope to play host to you again some time.

Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    58
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
94
120
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Booked in for 3 nights over Christmas 2011. Arrived and was shown to our room immediately by a helpful staff member.

The room was clean, spacious and had a old cosy Irish home feel to it. Except it wasnt as cosy as it was freezing, we put our bags down turned on the heating and headed out for the evening.

Arriving back to a still freezing room was not nice especially in December and as it was late we wrapped up warm and headed to bed. Waking up in a freezing room is worse and this was not helped by finding out that there was no hot water.

I headed down stairs to complain about the lack of heating and hot water to be told : "The boiler is not working and we are closing next week to have this fixed".

I immediately returned to my room to pack my bags - upon coming back down to reception to check out I was told I would be charged E92.00. After a short to the point conversation I left my details for the manager who called me later that day to say no charge would be made. Shocking.

Room Tip: Check the boiler works!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheQueen_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear TheQueen_202

Thank you for your review. We would not blame you for checking out as would have done so ourselves if in the same situation however would like to point out that at the time of your stay we were not the proprietors of the hotel and said same boiler and heating system was changed before we took over on January 20th.

Mark Golden & Mark Johnston
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in Youghal last week-end. It was our first time in Youghal and both the hotel and the surrounding area impressed us. When we arrived the hotel staff were up to their eyes with 160 Confirmation day lunches. We were still greeted with real friendliness. This friendliness and willingness to please continued over the week-end, from the bar staff to the dining room staff to the owner. When I praised the quality of the brown bread served at dinner I was presented with a loaf to take home with me! The only criticism I would have would be the decoration of the bedrooms. While they are spotlessly clean, the decor needs to be updated. The owners actually had someone in advising them about this while we were there. One thing they shouldn't change is the staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear AustinL

Thank you very much for your kind and helpful review. We agree wholeheartedly that the one thing we won't be changing is our wonderful team as they have all given their heart and soul to the business since we took over in January. We received some very helpful advice that weekend on how to upgrade the bedrooms and that is our next undertaking.

Thank you again for your kind words
Mark golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stopped off at the hotel for an evening meal & were glad we did. The starters were promptly served & lovely. The mains were beautiful, obviously made using fresh ingredients, I had the seafood & my wife had loin of pork. Desert & coffee were very good. it was a lovely meal served by efficient & friendly staff at a very good price. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkMustapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear CorkMustapha

Thank you for review, your thoughtful post only encourages us to work even harder at what we are providing here. We look forward to seeing you again.

Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed for weekend on a special that included 2 B&B and one evening meal. Exceptional good value. The food is the best i have experienced in a long time. Rooms are grand, clean and comfortable. But go for the food alone, you will not be disappointed. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Small hotel that respects the customer. Will definitely be back, sooner than later I hope. Mark keep up the good work, and the personnel touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenlaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Helenloais

Thank you very much for your heartfelt review. It gives us the encouragement we need to work harder at what we are providing here. Hospitality is to be hospitable and that is the motto of all the team here. Thank you again.

Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here 5th Feb for one night...The room was spacious and warm. The welcome we recieved was exceceptional, in fact the girl who checked us in gave us the hotel no. and told us if we needed anything day or night while in Youghal ring...Thats what I call " The Personal Touch"..The food was excellent, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlowIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Ann1313

Thank you very much for your feedback. Words of encouragement make us work all the harder. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and hope to see you again!

Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

An absolute find in the middle of Youghal town. Gorgeous old wooden panelled bar - very cosy with a lovely open fire. The food was absolutely five star quality and very reasonably priced - try the curried Monkfish and don't skip desert because they are wonderful too. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. Rooms are well presented with everything that you could possibly need. A very well run establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Ann1313
Thank you for your very kind review which I only noticed today that I had not responded to. It was pretty hectic back then when we had taken over. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully playing host again.

Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.1 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.2 km away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
15.5 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
21.9 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing