We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”

Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful old town where old protective walls still stand.

Definitely worth the time to visit and see the walls and let your imagination run wild.

Well worth the time to visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"blackwater river"
in 3 reviews
"heritage trail"
in 2 reviews
"hike"
in 2 reviews
"repair"
in 3 reviews
"protected"
in 2 reviews
"century"
in 3 reviews
"gate"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 8 reviews
"church"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2016

The walls stretch almost around the town and they a re a landmark of a fortified town where i the infamous Cromwell wintered his plundering and raving army.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 805Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Youghal is a really old town with a fascinating history. I would really recommend a walk around the walls.

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

The walk along the medieval town walls has been improved enormously over the last few years. One gets a great feeling of history walking over where the cannons used to point out over the town (any likely serious attack coming from the seaward aspect) It would be great if they could extend this further.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank relaaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Brought my grandchildren down to the old church today and around the old graveyard leading up to the town walls we went into the gardens through the second gate and had a stroll around the grounds.Cannon set at upper level of the garden ,fromhere we had fantastic view of Youghal town and harbour area, we do not appreciate enough the histoy that we have here in Youghal.Well worth a visit and most of it is free to all.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank blackhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Landward Town Walls of Youghal also viewed

 

Been to Landward Town Walls of Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing