We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Was just here for one night but our room was clean and quiet. We were even invited to the local Fashion Show that was going on that night at the hotel upon checkin. We also ate in the restaurant that night and had a wonderful dinner and good service. It was actually one of the best meals that we had during our stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    145
    69
    36
    45
See reviews for
193
139
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here at the end of August last year on what was a memorable stay for all the wrong reasons. Having enjoyed a week in Dublin, we checked in early on a Friday afternoon and made our way to the room. The room, with its outdated decor, was not very clean to say the least. The bathroom was decorated with discolored tiling, spots of mildew and smelt of moldy sports gear. We were given a different room upon speaking with reception and were shown to a room where the TV didn't work properly and there was no milk or towels. Another call to reception! We were relieved to be out off the first room, and due to tiredness we decided to stay in the hotel and have dinner rather than venture out straight away. Big mistake! A really simple pasta dish shouldn't be so hard to get right but there was all the sophistication of a cheap and nasty student canteen about this particular meal. Waiting staff were distracted and generally absent. We waited for 45 mins for our main course. It was a meal I could have prepared in the kettle in the room!

I would suggest checking out Lough Boora & Birr on a day trip from Dublin maybe because our stay here put a real damper on what was an otherwise great trip. Birr is a nice little town in the summer. Bad food and bad service is just unacceptable for this price and can really ruin your stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a nice modern hotel which manages to maintain some of its old features. I stayed here recently with a friend of mine, we got a lovely room, however there were two things missing from it, a phone, a bin and the UHT milk was out of date. The room was also quite cold, but the receptionist had told us about this when we were checking in. We ate in the bar and the food was nice. It was very busy there, and they coud have done with some extra staff but all in all we enjoyed dinner. The breakfast the following morning was very good and there was a good choice of food options. Overall a nice stay but if some basic things were included it would have made improved the stay further.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolannLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've eaten in the restaurant with a relative. We found the staff very slow, careless and gave the impression that they'd prefer you weren't there. The food when it arrived, carelessly slung on the table was ok but very overpriced.
I spoke to staff about booking a function and found them fine, but while discussing the same with a manager or assistant manager, I found him to be one of the rudest individuals I've ever dealt with. We held our function elsewhere and were much happier.
Avoid if possible.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TResa408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The staff at the County Arms hotel were very friendly and accommodating. I have a dairy allergy and they were very helpful in providing alternative milk.
The facilities in the leisure centre are also great!
The hotel is very easy to find and is in walking distance to local amenities and sites!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sqaoife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Again another brilliant stay at the County Arms hotel. Third visit down to Birr, Co. Offaly with my fianceé. Staff as usual were amazing. From the moment I walked into the hotel it felt like a home away from home.
Rooms was excellent and having stayed in both of their master suites on previous visits for a weekend treat away it is an experience I would highly recommend. Staff went above what you would expect to make our stay amazing.
Same staff working there on the three years I have been there which in itself speaks a lot about the hotel. Family run and that comes across when you visit, you can see the pride their have in their hotel and the personal touch is amazing.
Now to another very important part, food in the restaurant and the breakfast was excellent yet again. Bar in the hotel is great, very lively and friendly atmosphere and drink was very reasonably priced. Again bar staff were excellent.
Tommy Tiernan was there for a comedy show this time around and he added to an already very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. To cap it off was given the option for a late checkout at no charge which was a lovely gesture for a memorable weekend away with my Fianceé. One hotel I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Master Suites for that extra special trip. Deluxe rooms overlooking the garden are also amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinKirrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Apologies it has taken me awhile to add my review but looking at a few reviews thought I would let you all know about my experience at the County Arms. I had my wedding reception at the County in August 2011. From start to finish I was so impressed and no task was to small for the county. We had alot of guests staying at the hotel and they were highly impressed and still today speak highly of the hotel. Please dont let the very few negative comments put you off the county as this hotel is really highly recommended and you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey_UKSca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.7 km away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 km away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
17.1 km away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
34.1 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
31.5 km away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing