We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot”
Review of Dooly's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dooly's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed at Dooleys for one night recently on a dinner b & b all inclusive package that was booked by a third party so dont know about its value for money. The hotel rooms were spotless clean and comfortable. There was a tv in the room but there were only a couple of channels working. The food in the hotel was well presented and tasty and service was very good.A pleasant stay all round.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolysHotel, General Manager at Dooly's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Hugh,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Dooly's Hotel. We offer a variety of excellent packages and roll out a new 3 course menu from next weekend for €59.00 for 2 people inclusive of a bottle of house Wine.

I hope to welcome you back to Dooly's Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephen O' Connor

General Manager
Dooly's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

On a little tour of a number of counties lately I had the pleasure of staying a night in Doolys of Birr. It looks quite massive from the outside but once inside you discover that it is an 18 bedroom hotel, hence quite small but on the night in question it was full of activity with the local dancing school in full session and later dancing for adults. We took a bite to eat in the bar and have to commend both the chef and the bar staff.......the food was yum and the waiter and barmaid were just delightful. Our room was spacious (which cant be said for a lot of rooms these days), very clean and comfortable and testiment to the bar facilities we later tried a number of the local bars but as these didnt quite match up to what we had witnessed earlier in the hotel we retired to the hotel bar......warm and cosy spring to mind! The final gem mention for this hotel was the breakfast before we left....as I had had my fill of 'full Irish' brekkies at this stage I opted for a pair of poached eggs.........well suffice it to say they were the BEST poached eggs that have ever been presented to me making my overnight in Birr a memorable one and very much thanks to Doolys and the only reason it gets 4stars and not 5 is that part of the carpet in the early stages of the stairs were very unclean and just took from the lovely ambiance going round but otherwise well done all round. Did I mention great value?!

Room Tip: As there is no lift one would be advised to look for lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauraaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolysHotel, General Manager at Dooly's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Mauraaaaa,

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed all our facilities on the night. It can be a little busy with dance class for the young aspiring Flatleys & Butlers, Social Dancing with Gerry and local meetings but there is always a buzz about the Hotel on Tuesdays. Our Bar Food is served until 9.15pm and it's reassuring you commend both the chef & service staff.
The point about the stained carpet is taken on board and I assure you the carpet is constantly cleaned ... cream carpets are lovely but stain easily ... hindsight is wonderful !!!

Again I thank you for your kind comment and hope to welcome you back to Dooly's Hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephen O' Connor

General Manager
Dooly's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Called into this restaurant having been recommended by a relative what a disappointment. Staff not very friendly didn't seem bothered that we were sitting at table for neay 20mins without an order taken. We had to get our own menus to see what there was. Then we had to ask for waitress to come to our table to take our order who then got another lady to check if she had taken our order properly. Not what I would expect in a hotel. When food came we all had ordered soup and sandwiches - no roll served with the soup so had to ask to get what was on the menu. Never came back to see if we needed anything else so very poor service... Do yourselves a favour hire some staff who can do their jobs without customers having to ask for everything. Its a pity because the food was ok but alittle pricey however I will defo not be returning EVER a

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SINMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolysHotel, General Manager at Dooly's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Sinmon,

Thank you for dining at our Coachouse Bar recently and for taking time to compile this review.
The day you dined at the Hotel was particularly busy & it is most unfortunate you did not receive the level of customer service expected. I apologise for this. Your order for Bar Food was taken by a trainee waitress who confirmed the order with a senior waitress. This is procedure for a trainee. Our soup is advertised on the Bar Food Menu as gluten free & does not mention a bread roll. It is best practise to check if every customer is enjoying their meal and I will endeavour to ensure this is the case irrelevant of how busy the Bar may be. It was great you enjoyed your meal and your comments have been forwarded to our Kitchen Team. As well as the Coachouse Bar, we also serve an a la carte menu in the Emmet Restaurant.
Again I would like to thank you for your comments & I hope you will return to Dooly's Hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Stephen O' Connor

General Manager
Dooly's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We didn't know what to expect as we were down during the Vintage Festival but couldn't have asked for better! The staff were extraordinary accomodating and nothing was a hassle with them! The food was very well priced for the great quality recieved! Birr as a town is very sociable and we'll definitely return!

Room Tip: There is a nite club under the hotel and when we requested quiet rooms away from it........ That'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurah43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Was here on a very short stay to attend a concert, but was disappointed. Firstly, the price was too much, for the room we got. Eu99 FAR too expensive, given that we had stayed in many better locations recently at far cheaper rates. Our room looked nothing like what was on the site. It was VERY cramped, there was a sort of mini-hall which had paint peeling off the celing, paper falling off the walls. site says it was recently decorated. They must have forgotten this room, which was very old fashioned. One person alone serving breakfast for whole hotel. Waiting for half an hour, however was v. nice when we got it. I reckon the same person serving was also cooking. One plus... the ensuite was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasatecarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon in Ireland. The entire staff from front desk, general manager, bar and waitstaff were incredibly friendly and helpful! We had a glorious stay in their honeymoon suite with a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne! We found the place to be elegant yet comfortable with warm welcomes, excellent service and great food. We met Teresa at teh front desk when we walked in. She said hello to us by name before we even told her our names. She was fantastic the entire stay and really made us feel welcome. Thank you Teresa!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethA010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I had my hen party here and it was the best night ever, and this was down to the staff and the amazing value we received in the hotel. The food is amazing and I would def recommend for a wedding as the staff will ensure all guests are looked after. I have stayed in the Ritz before and I prefere Dooly's. Best Customer Service EVER!!!!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank bettyboo296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.7 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 km away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
105 reviews
14.3 km away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.9 km away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
177 reviews
17.8 km away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
34.0 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dooly's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dooly's Hotel

Address: Emmet Square, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: $141 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dooly's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doolys Hotel is situated in the beautiful Mid-Ireland. Doolys is a gem of a hotel in the centre of Georgian Birr. One of the oldest Coaching Inns in the country, the hotel exudes an old charm in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. All of our bedrooms are excellently equipped offering comfort, style and elegance. Dine in our award winning Emmett Restaurant where you can enjoy local and international dished. A visit to Doolys Hotel is an experience you will always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dooly's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolys Hotel Birr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing