We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gardener's paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Turkey House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
June Blake's Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
June Blake's Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Blessington, County Wicklow

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris w
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gardener's paradise”
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Despite its unprepossessing name the Turkey House is quite amazing. An ultra modern renovation of part of an old farm building, the Turkey House is an ideal space for up to 5 people. My wife and I enjoyed the space and the comfort, even if at times we were rattling around a bit.

The reason for picking the Turkey House for our stay in Blessington was, of course, June Blake and her wonderful garden, and we could not have been made more welcome by both June and her son Dara.

When not taking advantage of unrestricted access to the garden the location was great for visits to several other gardens in the area, and after a day traveling the well equipped kitchen at the Turkey House meant we could whip up an easy supper, while relaxing with as much wine as we wanted!

A great base in Wicklow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadner2
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great alternative to hotel rooms in a rural setting”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed here over Christmas/New Year 2017/2018.

Location suited with access to wonderful countryside (even in winter) and also a 20 min drive to family in Dublin south suburbs.

Turkey House was an interesting conversion which combined the feel of a traditional country cottage with a modern interior. Staying there was a nice change from anonymous rooms in hotels which we also considered for our stay in Ireland.

Great heating allayed our worst fear - that we would be cold in an Irish winter. We were probably too warm at times.

Dara and June were wonderful hosts, very helpful.

Good wifi/internet prevented any mutiny by our kids.

We did find it a bit dark - lighting was not up to the job in dark winter days. Summer would not be a problem. Some care was also required on stone spiral staircase.

All in all, a great location to consider, especially when the gardens are in full bloom.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing