We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic family stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

we booked this hotel on a flash deal with booking.com really fab deal. Booked three rooms fantastic views over golf course onto the sea. really clean spacious rooms. All had flat screen tvs with built in dvds. the bathrooms were really clean & sparkling. We all loved the swimming pool & jacuzzi. Staff were great they brought out floats & googles for the kids. But by far the best was the kids club, large soft play areas, air hockey & snooker tables, & cinema room & much more. They had a ball!
We had a fantastic meal in the bar downstairs really good value & giant portions. After which we slept like babies in lovely comfortable beds.
One tiny gripe was very offhand girl in reception who kept querying our booking in a very rude manner so had to pull out all information twice still didnt seem to make her happy even though she agreed all booking was correct. Would like to believe it was just off day as everyone else couldn't have been nicer & will be going back again soon. Ideal short family break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    267
    98
    44
    26
See reviews for
269
299
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

A lovely Hotel with friendly helpful staff.The room was very comfortable. We loved the leisure facilities of the pool and sauna and jacuzzi. We arrived on Saturday afternoon (on a very good Booking.com flash deal) and Immediately went for a lovely swim. We didnt eat in the hotel (although it looked fine) but we went to a pub a couple of minutes walk up the road and had a nice romantic dinner by candlelight. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyofthebann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nice clean hotel. staff very nice. bar food good. rooms really dark when you shut curtains so no light comes through.

Room Tip: facing the loch is nice view to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjim1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We got a deal on Booking.com flash deals and stayed on a Saturday night, hotel was lovely, staff were very friendly. Our room was very spacious, clean and warm, but my sister stayed in another block, her room was not as comfy and very cold but we all did enjoy our stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 274, was lovely, sister stayed in room 400?? room not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NannyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed for a night in October beautiful hotel fab view onto sea :) very reasonable rates dinner which was in bar was very quiet but it was October midweek to be expected but dinner was absolutely gorgeous dessert fab used the pool very nice steam room wasn't working but not big deal staff seemed ok I would go back
Only negative the shower leaked onto bathroom floor

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellimary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very clean hotel lovely pool and jacuzzi,breakfast was lovely and our four course meal was delicious especially the dessert:) the fact that you could play golf for free on the course beside the hotel was a big bonus for my boyfriend overall lovely part of the country and a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: choose seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdreclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We booked this as a last minute New Year trip. On check in, we got a lovely girl called Danielle who was so friendly and helpful. Throughout our entire stay, all staff were so helpful and professional at all times. Food was good, service in the bar and restaurant was excellent and the facilities for the children are fantastic..... we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
17.6 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
1.1 km away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
21.6 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
28.8 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
25.5 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing