We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
519
338
121
50
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
338
121
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course lough swilly kids club leisure centre sea view swimming pool soft play area peninsula restaurant lovely hotel family room evening meal coach tour roast beef sunday carvery food was lovely drift inn bar food
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

I can recommend this hotel
We stayed here for two days and the staff are
Very friendly and helpful
Nothing was to much trouble for them.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable ....and the food was lovely
Fantastic views from the restaurant
We had a great time....
Will definitely be back...

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kittybellNireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleeneMcD, Co- Ordinator at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted you had such a Wonderful & Comfortable time here with us at The Inishowen Gateway Hotel and you got to Enjoy Our Famous Views from the Peninsula Restaurant.
We have a great team here, our Staff are always happy to help, I will certainly pass on your lovely comments.

Looking forward to Welcoming You again here soon.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

I was on a coach tour and had a single room, which was spacious, with a double and single bed. Great food and service excellent. Waitresses offered to refill tea at breakfast which is unusual. Lovely public areas and friendly staff. Large swimming pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. Entairtainment on two nights of the trip which was good.

Room Tip: I was in a room with a view of the loch and mountains. Very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vestvesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleeneMcD, Co-Ordinator at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.
I am delighted that you had a wonderful time staying with us at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel and Enjoyed our lovely surroundings here in Buncrana, Great to hear you enjoyed our leisure facilities also.

We have a great team here who are always happy to help when they can, I will certainly pass on your lovely comments.

We hope to see you again Soon
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Stayed with some friends got a birthday celebration..got a great deal, food in restaurant was superb, staff were the nicest we have experienced, ever.....especially Lisa who has exceptional people skills. Hotel is beautiful, pool area small but excellent. We have had so much fun here. Cannot praise this place highly enough, and will be recommending to our wider circle of friends

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misskia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleeneMcD, Sales Co- Ordinator at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your lovely review
I am delighted you had such a great stay with us here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel with your friends for some Birthday Celebrations.

We have a great team of friendly and very helpful staff here at the hotel, and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your Delicious Dinner's in our Peninsula Restaurant

Look forward to seeing you again here in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Group of female friends here for couple of nights bed breakfast and evening meals. Rooms are lovely, airy, clean and everything you need. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Food is really good. Highly recommend

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleeneMcD, Sale Co-Ordinator at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us here at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel and Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely Review.

I am delighted to hear your stay here was an enjoyable & comfortable one for all.

Hope to see you in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

More could not have possible went wrong.. on arrival to the hotel two family members how had booked rooms were told their room had been cancelled and because the hotel was full they were told there was nothing that could be done, even though few days before these rooms were confirmed by the groom, so the groom had to take 30 minutes of his photo time to try and sort this problem, at the same time next to him, his bestman was being informed that he was being downgraded but still had to pay the same amount of money for the room.. not only unprofessional but outrageous.. the groom then asked if the two family members could stay in a room with other family members as they had a extra bed in their room not being used they hotel agreed because it could help them out and would only be for one night and everyone was happy to do so. Well not everyone because this meant the bride and groom taking their children into their room on their wedding night as they were meant to stay in with the other family members. then on departure an extra €80 charge was added to the room for them having more people in even thou no changes had to be made to the more.. this came as a shock as this was not explaining or agreed when they checked in. After all these room problems the bride was given a glass which was broken but only noticed when it had cut her lip.. when she returned the drink and glass to the bar there was no apology just asked what was in the glass and replaced... when the bride and groom were checking out they brought these concerns to the managements attention but it was brushed off and again no apology was given, these was very unprofessional. Which makes it worse is that is came from the management.. the only positive from the weekend was the lovely food and great service from the younger c&e staff.. and the manager on the day which the short blonde hair who sadly I did not get her name.. was outstanding from start to finish and if it was not for her and her team the weekend would have been a complete disappointment altogether. So I would like to thank that lady for her great and professional work, shame this hotel didn't have more like her..

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 90,003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoleeneMcD, General Manager at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit following your weekend stay at our property. We are disappointed by comments posted following discussions with our Wedding and Event Co-ordinator Sinead whom we understood addressed your concerns, if this was not the case I am happy to discuss with you off line at a mutually convenient time.

Regarding the accommodation booking as explained, the reservation was made via booking.com and subsequently was cancelled prior to your arrival, this was confirmed when we entered the reservation number from booking.com which was given to us by the groom. The reservation number confirmed the booking had been cancelled, the groom was present when this was confirmed. This could only have taken place by the guest who made the reservation or someone who had access to the website and the reservation number.

Our team worked with you and your family on the day to assist where we could in finding a solution. The suggestion to share rooms was a private arrangement between family members, the hotel assisted in accommodating this request. Following extensive checks we did not make additional charges to any guests accommodation of 80e, again I am happy to discuss with you offline and on receipt of an invoice from the hotel. The best man had made a reservation for a superior room which he did not receive however he did get a refund on the upgrade for both nights and on the second night did receive the upgrade, this was the hotels mistake for which we apologised and as we understood had resolved with the best mans partner.


We appreciate your kind comments regarding our duty manager Patricia and have forwarded them to her.
If you would like to discuss this further please contact me on joanneboyle@inishowengateway.com

Kindest regards
Joanne Boyle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews