We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œgood food and location”
Review of Arnolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arnolds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food and location”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

went for a short break, nice location , really good food and staff friendly but could be cleaner and decor needs revamped.

Room Tip: rooms warm and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    116
    35
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
180
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Just spent 3 nights here it was great. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food that we had was was well cooked and presented with a good selection. The hotel is great well run and clean. we have no problems reccomending it to anyone thinking of going there to stay

Bill & Serena Portrush Co Antrim

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent a week at Arnold's Hotel riding horses, eating good food, and drinking cold pints. The staff was terrific. The owners were friendly and ever present. The weather even cooperated to make for one fantastic vacation. The rooms are a bit dated and my husband missed his sports television channels, but I thouroughly enjoyed the bit of a step back a few years. And don't worry, the pub has a nice flat screen showing sports, and WiFi, so all sports and technophiles will be happy.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel should provide personal safes in every room. We stayed 2 nights, and €200 that had been left hidden in a case in the wardrobe disappeared while out golfing. This was when the room was being cleaned. The incident was reported to the Garda (police). No apology from the manager / owner. Staff were not questioned as "all our cleaners are local & completely trustworthy". Internet is available in the lobby /lounge, but does not extend to the bedroom. Evening meal was tasty, but breakfast was very slow, and marmalade / ketchup & even sugar was only available on the buffet table - not on the individual tables. Bedroom was small & decor very dated. Bathrooms are very tired & shabby & hot water ran out in the shower. A trip to remember - for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doctor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in the hotel. Bedroom clean and a few "tweaks" could have left it a little more up to date and modern.
Food excellent in bar - had a little while to wait but tasty when it came.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice, variety and very helpful , caring and attentive staff.
Fire in reception area was very inviting and welcoming as were all of the staff we spoke or dealt with.
Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oonagh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel has a lot going for it. A great location overlooking the bay and all staff pleasant and helpful. An open fire in the lobby is very welcoming. Our room at the back of the hotel was quiet. Breakfasts were outstanding with fresh fruit and freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. We enjoyed a quiz night in the bar where they were raising funds to restore the market house in the centre of the town. This followed our meal in the restaurant which was excellent. Our only complaint was the standard/service in the bar area for food. Neither meal we had there was quite up to standard. One of our meals on the first occasion was overcooked and on our second attempt we had to wait over 45 mins to get our order. The reason given for the delay was that another couple had earlier ordered the same choices as us and the chef thought our order was the one he had previously cooked and didn't realise ours was a different order! In their defence the manageresses on both occasions were apologetic and on the first occasion reduced our bill. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would go to Arnolds again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnergeticSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Arrival was not the warmest with the receptionist looking over the tops of her glasses, rather like miss Jean Brodie, and making me feel like I was at school again! Anyway got our key to room 6!
The room was large, odd shape but was ok! The furniture was very tired and is in serious need of renovation! Bathroom ok, with the exception of the large crack from top to bottom in the tiles near the door! Looked like there had been an earthquake!
I don't think they turn the hot water on until 8am as tried to get a shower before this time but no hot water, but seem to have plenty after 8!
Btw the showers not powerful at all, but there was a decent bath if you wanted a wallow!
As room 6 is at the front of the hotel, you do get traffic noise, but traffic is a lot less in the evenings! You do get a lovely view though
Would not recommend the restaurant as service was poor, and my food not good, but friends food was very good!
Breakfast was the highlight of the stay, which was freshly made!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
4.4 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
787 reviews
8.6 km away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
268 reviews
8.7 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
384 reviews
22.0 km away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
29.0 km away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Hotel

Property: Arnolds Hotel
Address: Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arnolds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of discovery at the Arnold Family Hotel, Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the hidden gems of the local area steeped in History, Heritage, Culture and Music. Established in 1922 the Arnold Family hotel is renowned for excellence in food and hospitality using locally sourced produce. Indulge the senses and your passion for good food and wine in local Cafes and restaurants. Visit the local historic sites, explore miles of scenic walks, hidden coves and sandy beaches off the beaten track. Go Horse Riding, Golfing, Surfing and Fishing. Cycle the highways and byways, go island hopping to Tory and Arranmore. Visit the local Art Galleries, The Famine Heritage Centre and the Village Craft Shops. Donegal is simply paradise Local Attractions: Killahoey Beach, Horn Head Discovery Point 9 Mile scenic Drive and Walk overlooking Tory Island, the Errigal to Muckish Mountain Ranges. Glenveagh National Park, The Glebe Gallery, The Ards Peninsula, Ards Forest Park, Bloodyforeland, The Atlantic Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing