We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry tourists’ salvation ”
Review of Il Capriccio

Il Capriccio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tuscan home cooking . Meat and fish . Always open for dinner , and for lunch only on holidays or high season.Tables outside . Foreign beers . Bread , pasta , desserts and digestive liqueurs are all homemade . Live music is performed by the owners spouses : Nanni ( the chef) and Sonia ( the director of the hall ) . Friendliness , simplicity , passion and love for food and for customers . A winning combination for exciting moments , to try ...
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Poggio Murella’s village hungry late in a Sunday afternoon and the only place open serving food we could find was Il Capriccio.

Door was open and a party of four seemed to be finishing their meal. We entered and sat down as a gentleman in an old t-shirt appeared from the kitchen and as we asked whether the kitchen was still open (at 2pm), he shrugged: “so and so” but still started serving us and recommended us what was on offer.

My companions had pasta margarita and a plate of a day. I had a massive plate of beef. Food was delicious and the amount of meat very generous. Service was very friendly and flexible.

Thank HannaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Il Capriccio, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la sua bella recensione e l'aspettiamo la prossima volta in giaca e cravatta.
Saluti,Danilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 849 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Slow service, half of the time the waiter didn't hear us. Maybe, he's deaf?..
I ordered a meal - wild boar. The smell was too strong and too spiced! They said that this type of meat is quite strong... so why the hell add even more spices then???
Wine was bad too. We founding better wine in other restaurants.

Thank cortezalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo D, Proprietario at Il Capriccio, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie,però se Lei non gradisce i sapori forti mangi un petto di pollo.
Purtroppo,il nostro aiuto di sala è vermente sordo.
Dovremmo forse rifiutargli il lavoro e la possibilità di portare a casa un tozzo di pane?
Giudichi chi leggerà.
Danilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

In this small family restaurant we ate one of the best pasta and we drank an excellent red house wine. We highly recommend it.

Thank AurelianSarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo D, Proprietario at Il Capriccio, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie mille Sig. Aurelian per la sua squisita recensione.
Saluti,Danilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

This restaurant is positioned in a small village and we were entertained by looking at the locals who were reunited in the street after dinner (as it was normal almost everywhere many years ago).
We ordered a meal with appetizers and a filetto and it was really nice.
Staff friendly and competent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeonardoL3598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo D, Proprietario at Il Capriccio, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie Sig.Leonardo per le sue parole carine espresse,La saluto con affetto,
Danilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Lovely small, intimate ristorante in a rustic quiet village. The food was delicious, and the red wine we had complimented it well. The host made a great effort to make us comfortable and feel welcome by explaining as best he could the menu in English. The meals are not rushed, but nothing is in the surrounding village of course, and the experience felt like we were eating respectfully at someones home, so a place for quiet voices. The meal was expensive; a bottle of wine between two, a starter, two courses and a dessert was 145 euros but it was a great meal and we felt we had enjoyed a genuine taste of Tuscany.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 22,811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danilo D, Proprietario at Il Capriccio, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per le belle parole spese nei nostri confronti.
Saluti,Danilo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Capriccio also viewed

 
Manciano, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Il Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing