We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice and calm”
other travellers have booked this property
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Night shot of house- Look at those stars!
Main Deck- 600 feet from the ocean with great oceanview and sunsets
The sunsets are magnificent there at the house- they rival Arizona!
kayaks and boogie boards, in closet on  first floor/great snorkeling 2 minutes from house
My favorite room in the house- airy and breezy and candilibered ceilings
TV area with netflix, dvds,
Kitchen lava bar
View from 600 plus foot deck
House six hundred feet from the ocean
Family room and kitchen
Kitchen has dishwasher plus oceanview
refrigerator and microwave and electric stove
Another TV area shot
Upstairs Master Bedroom/ King bed in there now
Newer photo of upper blue ocean master
View from family room into master
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
Upstairs Second Bedroom/ new queen bed in there a Certa!
Newer photo of upper second bedroom
Upstairs 2nd Bathroom- the fish bathroom
Lower master with bamboo canopy bed
Another shot of lower master
Another view of lower master
Downstairs Bathroom
Another view from the deck
Another deck view from 600 foot deck
Futon is now in lower master and bunkbeds are here
Gameroom  with a  ping pong table, small pool table and air hockey , bar and  ocean toy closet
Queen bed in gameroom/washer and dryer is also here
Queen bed in gameroom
A Two minute walk  from the house there's this wonderful swimming and snorkeling hole
Snorkeling hole and Papa bay where the whales frolic in the winter time
Milolii beach park- this area is down in the village where there are tidepools and a hike to beach
Milolii beach park- drive down Milolii Road to the town and there you hike into Honomolino Beach
Another view of house
Nearby Honomolino Beach- drive into Milolii, park at the community center, hike in 15 minutes to  very private beach...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Milolii, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
桂太 松
1 review
“Nice and calm”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

So nice house. We excited.
I love this atmosphere that very calm and silent.
Also windy night was good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review! I really appreciate it! Come back again! Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ojulien12
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just perfect. House by the ocean, plenty of room, clean, extremely helpful hosts. Great to visit Volcano national park. Would stay there again for sure.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! I really appreciate that! Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcparis18...
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Gem of a home”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great home with fabulous views. Nearby "hidden" beach was a real gem. We enjoyed our stay in this quiet and relaxing home. Nicely located between kona and volcanoes natl pk for easy access to both locations. Would love to return! Cheryl really took the time to answer all emails in a very short amount of time. Daniel, the house manager, was full of knowledge and gave great recommendations. My recommendation, stay longer than you think you want. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you so much Madison for your review! I really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
1 review
“Best House in South Kona”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Loved the house. Best place to stay in South Kona on the Big Island.Spend at least a week, you will be glad you did. Aloha, G&D

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure hosting your group! Hope you come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pats53
Sequim, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tropical respite”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We've just returned from our third stay in the makai house and it is a perfect fit for us. We love its proximity to the sea, that the location is far from the tourist crowds, the quiet and dark nights. The house itself is ideal...comfy beds, ample bathroom space, washer/clothesline/dryer, beach towels, good kitchen provisions. Daniel is always warm, welcoming and helpful. Suzie is wonderful as well. They both contribute much to make our stay comfortable.
If away from touristy Kona is a must for you and you don't mind driving a bit for groceries/gas, then the makai could work well for you, too.
Thank you once again, Cheryl. We'll return. Aloha.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
I can't wait to rent to you again! I am hoping you will stay a month this next time. October 15th through November 15th would be great! As always it was a [pleasure renting to you for the third time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePandas...
1 review
“The Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed in the home for a total of 7 days and i enjoyed every second. One of my favorite activities was the Swimming home about 400 FT from the front door. Where you walk onto the ocean and it is a great snorkeling spot and. Also you are in the perfect location to go to either of the two major cities on the island. The view from the deck is absolutely breath taking. in all i had a amazing and wonderful experience.

Your age range 13-17
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
It was a pleasure having you at the house! Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly J
1 review
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A truly relaxing experience! We needed time to regroup and reteam with the teenagers. It was not hard to sit around the lanai table after a bbq dinner to play games (provided at the house) and laugh together - a few boys vs girls challenges with ping pong and pool (I won't tell you who won because I don't want to hear the taunting again!). The boys golfed the girls shopped! The extremely clean house was amazing and comfortable with all the fully stocked amenities of home. Daniel is a wealth of information about the island - abuse his brilliance. Do shop for groceries prior to getting to the house; it is a trek to the house. Listen for the horn to signal for whales and use the binoculars to view them from the lanai. The geckos, whom I have named the "George Family" all have different markings on their backs. the one with three orange marking resembling a cats paw is Boy George - he is a mischievous one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you for choosing my house for Christmas! It was a pleasure having you there! Come again! Remember other times of the year are much more reasonable- hope you come back! I will look for the George family the next time I am there! It sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities of the house. Daniel is great isn't he!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing