We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning property and location with a warm and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Private and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed
The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Living room
Duck pond
Bedroom dressed for a proposal (and she said yes!)
Relax in the sunny garden
Garden patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sidlesham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ellierobs...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning property and location with a warm and friendly welcome”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for few days in the summer holidays the location is stunning, tucked away in a beautiful country lane on the South Coast a short walk away is Pagham Harbour which is a beautiful nature reserve, a good old fashioned country pub and also an upmarket well renowned restaurant (The Crab and Lobster). Just a short drive there are glorious beaches the lovely old market town of Chichester. The property is cosy and beautifully presented it has everything you could need. The welcome goodies were very much 'welcomed' after the journey and the warm and friendly manner of Julia was just perfect - we will be back next year.....

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you and your family again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commentat
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Holiday Experience Ever EVER!”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I could not find this place as is somewhat off the beaten track and when we arrived late this was noted in ill tempered fashion by the owner which was not a good start for a weary traveller! She had agreed to phone me reference our checking in early but admitted that she had omitted to do so. Then my daughter and I were very disappointed with the actual accommodation which is very small and cheaply meanly decorated with bottom of the range appliances etc but thought we'd stay anyway for one night as we were exhausted. Then we discovered that the TV did not work at all nor the Wifi which let me online for about one minute and that was it! The toilet was smelly though (there was a strong and unpleasant smell of bleach throughout the studio) so my daughter refused to use it and had subsequent 'accident' as a result of this! Phoned e-mailed (in brief time when internet worked!) and texted the owner to register my disapproval but heard nothing. When she did eventually come she was just cross and ill tempered as though it was somehow our fault that nothing was working etc! That other travellers had found nothing wanting so why were we complaining? Her incivility was breathtaking. Was so fed up by this juncture that decided to leave the next morning and the owner said that I could not do this without losing money as the minimum stay was for two nights so I would forfeit the money for the second night(!) At this juncture I was so annoyed at the prospect of spending the outlandish £200 for one night in this mean and malfunctioning accommodation that I was compelled to accept her offer of a full refund and go home! So had to drive home all through the night spoiling our break completely. The ONLY good thing to report was that she did eventually give us our money back however this was effected by her throwing it on the table in ungracious fashion(!) Was so worried as had given her cash on arrival as per her request. NEVER AGAIN!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing there was nothing appealing about the place
Liked least: Cheap malfunctioning or non available facilities despite advertisement of these
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeebeeb
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My daughter loves to be at the beach for her birthday and this year wanted a curry for her birthday tea!! The Stable was perfect for both - a spit away from the idyllic beach at West Wittering and a quick zoom along to 'foodie' Emsworth in the evening. The day on the beach was fab - low tide at 3pm so miles of white beach and shallow water and pools to play in and hardly a cloud in the sky.

You need bring nothing but yourselves and your jimjams to The Stable - a selection of goodies, including a birthday cake (for daughter) and Pinot Grigio (not for daughter!) and yummy choccies awaited us, along with milk, coffee, tea etc. There is a little dishwasher and a little washing machine, a clothes horse in the little shed outside and tablets/powder for both machines!

We had breakfast in the garden both mornings but weren't there long enough to check out the barbie! The beds are very comfy (the sofa bed extremely so) and the place is immaculate - not a spec of dust anywhere. There were lovely posh bath & shower gels in the bathroom with matching handwash. Enough towels to dry an army and lovely bedding. A hairdryer, iron and tabletop ironing board. Lovely mood lighting - it was just all round lovely!!

Reading through the guestbook, it's apparent that it's a big hit with dog owners too, as the garden is fully and securely enclosed, and very private. It's a truly 'get away from it all' place to stay on a very quiet country lane, but with supplies a matter of minutes away.

We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
I am so happy that you all enjoyed your stay and especially that your daughter had a fabulous birthday. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucyb222
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful cottage, lovely stay!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Rookery Farm Barn Stable for a week and had such a lovely time. The cottage is within easy reach the Witterings and a stroll down to Pagham Harbour. Julia was really accommodating with my dogs and five year old. The place was super clean and cosy and there were some lovely welcome touches with chocolates and wine! I would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing