We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Slapton Sands”
Review of Slapton Sands

Slapton Sands
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Slapton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naturist beach which is located on Slapton Sands, near Strete, south of Dartmouth. In 1944, it was the site of the World War II military exercise, Exercise Tiger.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Went camping at Slapton Sands through the camping and caravan club - excellent site with amazing views and walking distance to the "beach" and nice places to eat - staff at the camp site were very helpful and friendly.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 23trish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shingle beach"
in 26 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 47 reviews
"car park"
in 48 reviews
"sherman tank"
in 35 reviews
"lovely beach"
in 12 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 10 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 11 reviews
"mackerel"
in 13 reviews
"half way"
in 7 reviews
"long beach"
in 12 reviews
"fresh air"
in 4 reviews
"long walk"
in 6 reviews
"easy parking"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"across the road"
in 6 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 4 reviews
"the start bay inn"
in 13 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2018

We had planned to drive from Kingsbridge to Torcross and all along Slapton Sands, as we had never been to this part of Devon before.
We were enjoying the experience of the waves crashing into the shore on our right, but about half way along the road we suddenly came to a halt, discovering the road ahead was closed. We were sent on a diversion that took us many miles out of our way and it took us ages, along tortuously narrow roads to get to Stoke Fleming.
I cannot recall any signs in Torcross or before saying our journey would be subject to a diversion. It spoiled what had hitherto been an enjoyable day, despite the wet weather.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Have driven past this beach a few times and didn't realise it's beauty until taking a trip specifically to there.

We enjoyed chilling there for a couple hours in the September sun admiring the views and pebbles on the beach with our 2 year old.

Loved it and will deffo come here again!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Reena83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Just back from slapton
What an amazing week
Apartment right on promenade
All dog friendly
Even The boathouse restaurant
Shingle beach but with right footwear worth a dip as sea is crystal clear
No traffic on prom so safe for all

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Debs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Took my daughter and three grandchildren to Slapton sands, dropped them at one end drove down to the middle carpark, to wait for them took them an hour and a half, as they kept stopping and looking at the boats and people fishing . By the time they got back to me and the car they were tired out from all the fresh air.
Kept them awake all the way to Kingsbridge for chips a walk round then they all three fell asleep on the way back home . And slept for an hour, they missed the Dartmouth ferry ⛴.
But enjoyed running around on the beach.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 154wilfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slapton Sands also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Slapton Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing