We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tank memorail is brilliant”
Review of Slapton Sands

Slapton Sands
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Slapton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Naturist beach which is located on Slapton Sands, near Strete, south of Dartmouth. In 1944, it was the site of the World War II military exercise, Exercise Tiger.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Popped in here on Saturday to take a look around and spent an enjoyable hour wandering about the Sherman tank and the history behind it's reason for being there is very thought provoking. There is a wild bird hide with good views too.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sparkymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shingle beach"
in 26 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 47 reviews
"car park"
in 48 reviews
"sherman tank"
in 35 reviews
"lovely beach"
in 12 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 10 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 11 reviews
"mackerel"
in 13 reviews
"half way"
in 7 reviews
"long beach"
in 12 reviews
"fresh air"
in 4 reviews
"long walk"
in 6 reviews
"easy parking"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"across the road"
in 6 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 4 reviews
"the start bay inn"
in 13 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

I first experienced Slapton Sands on a field course prior to doing my geography O level. I was probably too young for the sad history of the beach to mean too much but visiting it more recently with the greater awareness brought home to me its tragic history.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

A stunning beach with lots of nature. I have been using it for more than 20 years, but the cafe has a noisy generator that drowns out nature, the sea birds have gone and no longer roost on the beach, probably driven away by hundreds of dogs that are left to run around uncontrolled.
If you go, take antiseptic wipes as you will step in or sit in the mess being left by dogs. Such a shame, we used to see a whole range of seas birds, seals, shoals of fish close to shore, occasional dolphin, cuttle fish mating spider crabs. This year we have only seen dogs and abandoned fire ash.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

My last review of Slapton Sands included reference to the closure of the A379, the beautiful coast road. I spoke recently to the contractors working on the road realignment and repair and I was advised it will be open before the end of October. Great news for the locals and for visitors.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This wonderful stretch of South Hams coast is, unfortunately, difficult to access easily as the coast road from Kingsbridge to Dartmouth has been closed awaiting reinstatement after storm damage.This work will be completerd soon - check before you travel. But the area is still there to be seen by the more persistent visitor. The great sweep of Start bay is best seen from the approach from the Dartmouth direction, before arriving at the barrier. Slapton Sands, together with the WW2 tank memorial, pubs and restaurants is only accessed from the opposite direction via Kingsbridge.
Don't be put off - it really is a delight - either way!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank properjob929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slapton Sands also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Slapton Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing