We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
625
222
103
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
222
103
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ailsa suite garden room wedding reception bridal suite lovely hotel anvil hall four poster first class db b jacuzzi bath full scottish breakfast lounge bar wedding meal bride and groom bed and breakfast wedding guests staff were amazing
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely hidden gem this hotel is from the moment you step through the door you are made to feel so welcome...hard working and friendly staff who can't do enough for you...great value for money and our room was very comfortable.... hopefully won't be long till we return....keep up the great work guys you so deserve all the great reviews...Ian and Eunice MacDonald..X..

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eunice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just one night and would not hesitate to return. From the moment we pulled up in the car park and had a welcoming chat with the owner as our dog decided he wanted to try out his car to the point of checking out, everyone was so friendly. Ate in the bar at night and the burgers were perfectly cooked. Good cooked breakfast with plenty of cereals including gluten free to choose from. When they say the hotel is dog friendly they mean it. Lovely clean bed provided for our dog plus bowls. We would not think about trying anywhere else now and will return. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rhona24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend came for a short break away and happened to stumble on this gorgeous hotel online. Where can I start the food was incredible and amazing value the staff members were all lovely and so welcoming the rooms were more than what we could have asked for, really homey and comfy. The only thing I could maybe mention was the smell of the shower curtain, maybe it’s time for an update on those. Other than that a 10/10 stay and would recommend to anyone

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband Stayed here on 8th of September for my birthday on a DBB deal through my hotel break which was really good value, Had a great night, Food was amazing and room spotless, The dinner allowance covers most things on the menu and we had a three course meal and only paid £5 extra on top of the £79 we paid for the deal which included a bottle of prosecco !!! Breakfast was also great and freshly cooked (continental Breakfast served as well) Staff were lovely and very polite even to the more unpleasant guests that moaned about children playing in the corridors ( There was two weddings on, After all it is Gretna) Imagine children at a wedding enjoying themselves !!! Gretna shopping village is only a couple of minutes away and well worth a visit, We picked up loads of bargains, I left my phone charger in the bedroom and phoned the day after and they posted it back the next day which was really appreciated, Overall a great hotel and we look forward to coming back , Only regret is we didn’t stay for two nights, Thanks to all the staff and hope to see you soon

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Reception had the wrong bill amont the reception quickly amended this great service at this point happy to say this continued throught our 2 night stay.
Fantastic room spacious so comfy bed
Also provided dog beds and bowls and water bowl.. great touch

Very dog friendly hotel

We also had food both evenings in the bar area and highly recommend this place the meals we had were simply perfect..steal & Ale pie yummy yummy
The burger was hand made and delicious.
Soups home made very scrummy...please watch out for the devine sticky toffee pudding & caramel sauce ummmm fantastic...

All in all great food

Breakfast was excellent the sausages are superb..
And selection is great
Service was perfect each time.

The only few improvement can be made
In our opinions is quicker bar service
As day time receptionist seems to do both which means you may have to wait just a short time.

Also our shower temperature controller was hot or cold difficulty to get it at good temperature to have a long shower

But does not stop the showers working.

So all in all for £55 a night Inc breakfast it was fantastic
£30 for our 2 dogs for the 2 night
Good prices

And we are booking in for next weekend as well.

I'm sure you won't be disappointed in this *** star Hotel in Gretna.

Sorry no photos to add.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cattsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews