We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brigi121
London, United Kingdom

Awful food, poor service and expensive

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 6, 2017
This was the first time we had eaten at this hotel, having lived in the area for many years. For €29 per person the food was very overpriced. We had a choice of 2 starters, 2 main and 2 desserts. Choosing a 'feuillete de poisson' for starters, I can only describe this as a supermarket bought fish pasty. Tasteless and poorly presented. My friend had the other starter option - scrambled egg!! Main course left a lot to be desired, three barely cooked pieces of pork served with mashed potato. Barely edible. Dessert to be fare was ok but it was a portion of nougat icecream whereby my friend had a pineapple fritter which she has had better from a chip shop. The waiting staff were wearing jeans, were not attentive and just as we had finished the coffee were promptly given the bill, despite wanting extra drinks. Very disappointing overall and with a bill of €150 we all came away still hungry.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    1.9 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.3 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • eDreams
    2.5 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Piscine
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$80
    • Hotels.com
    4.6 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    La Chaumière
    C$90
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      C$90
    8.5 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    15.7 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
    9.5 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    15.1 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Jardins & chambres
    24.0 km from Chateau De Laleard
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Saint Hilaire de Villefranche
    Reviews (50)
    Filter reviews
    50 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    14
    5
    9
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    21
    14
    5
    9
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 50 reviews
    Reviewed August 14, 2017

    We were very warmly welcomed - the atmosphere is calm and relaxing, exactly what we were looking for. The grounds are super, the pool cold but refreshing. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good with hot croissants! I would firmly recommend a stay here.

    Date of stay: August 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jennifercarhaix
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 21, 2016

    Typically French rooms, comfortable and clean. We had adjoining rooms which was perfect. Bathroom a little tired, but comfy beds. Fabulous meal on the terrace, lovely grounds, perfect for a stop over. Was expensive though!!
    Very friendly staff.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Philippa937
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thierry F, Propriétaire at Chateau De Laleard, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

    Thank you for your message !!

    See you later with pleasure !!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

    Our room in the front annex was very poor indeed; like a cheap motel room and not at all worth the price.
    The rest of the establishment was potentially quite nice (and looked great in photos) but the restaurant was shut and there was nobody behind the bar; it was like a ghost town.
    I am sorry to say that during three weeks touring around France, on this occasion, this was easily the worst place we stayed but cost above average.

    Date of stay: July 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Stuart d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 9, 2018
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: October 2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed July 6, 2018
    Google Translation

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews