We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Pretty

Part of the the local history. A stunning building and easy to find in the city of Rochefort... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
northants90
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Loved this castle!

A lot of effort has gone into making this a fun and educational day out. Not only do you have a... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2018
bronagh80
,
Lisburn, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 256 reviews
  
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
170
74
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
74
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middle ages costumes castle moat french history animals
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 256 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

We arrived just before 5pm and were the last to leave. Our children loved the fact we could all dress up and explore the Fort in medieval clothes. The quiz is fantastic and ensures you get to explore every part of the Fort & grounds. Great games for the children to try too. A real hit with all the family and highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank measton2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

We plucked this place out of our map, and what a brilliant surprise. It was like travelling back through time to the middle ages. We were all given the option to put on some "Costume Dress", and take part in both Kids & Adults quiz's along with games from the middle ages which our kids loved. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. If you are in this part of France, don't miss out.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank trentysarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André R, Propriétaire at Chateau Fort de Saint Jean d'Angle, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thank you for your comment, we are very glad you enjoyed the castle !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

We went one Sunday morning in June. As anyone who has been to France knows finding something to do on a Sunday is like a miracle. So when we found this place we were very happy. We arrived about half an hour after it opened and we were the only visitors. This amazed me. The place is brilliant. Dressing up for adults and kids. Games in the open air. Animals to pet. A well restored castle the only shame is that not all is open. But all in all I thought it brilliant and we spent a good few hours here. Take a packed lunch.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank christopher a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

We called in here to kill a bit of time but kids loved it.seeing mum and dad dress up as knights and Princess.. played games and had a laugh.a good couple of hours fun.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank daniel40arrandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2015

For the second day the weather wasn't fit for time on the beach, so almost in desperation we visited this château expecting it to take less than an hour. To our surprise we were captivated by the work that had gone into its restoration and the imaginative way in which the information was presented. Both adults and children were welcome to dress up in Medieval costume to add to the atmosphere. Display boards gave illustrated guides on travel, food preparation and consumption, medicine and weapons for sieges. There were also gibbet, scaffold and stocks, tents and a vegetable and herb garden. There were several games to play based on hand and eye coordination, for training to become a knight. Then there was the castle itself to visit. Over 2 hours later we were still there so we stayed for the picnic basket which was on sale. I'd definitely recommend this for families with young children.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews