We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended”

Fernielea Licensed Cafe
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We went for breakfast on a Sunday morning. This cafe was not overly busy but we still waited for ages for four coffees which came two at a time!! We then ordered our food but once again waited for far too long for it to arrive. The food was average, bland over cooked and expensive. The service was very poor with young people serving that don’t appear to have the skills required. The location and gardens are delightful. Great play area for kids. Decor could also do with a renewable. All in all a very disappointing day and will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sanditrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend the creamy mushroom dish, it was to die for! Coffee was also very good. Great selection of cabinet food, from slices to pies

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank yulske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We randomly bumped into this cafe because we were looking for a place to get some lunch.
The variety of food is great but is all just next level quality.
We choose the pork belly and it was really nice.
We had no place left for dessert but couldn’t resist the look of the Banofee pie and took 2 pieces with us (also some steak pies for tonight’s dinner)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank wlubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

My wife and I ate there today for the first time. Delightful setting and rustic in many ways. The service and quality of food could not be faulted. The coffee was great ! I cannot believe the two recent poor reviews were genuine. ! My wife had the Creamed mushrooms and I had the Sesame steak salad. We shared our meals as we often do, and both of us were very happy with the taste, the quantity and the tasty spicy sauces. . Two Punjabi staff were delightful and one named "Lovely" was friendly and efficient. We would eat there again and encourage our friends and all those reading this to do so too.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

Staff awesome, food awesome, overall awesome. Almost don’t want to spread the word, so it doesn’t get too busy! But this place is incredible, try the breakfasts, my fav is the cowboy beans, home made baked beans, ciabatta, two poached eggs, divine. And the staff are fabulous.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank PeterCJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fernielea Licensed Cafe also viewed

Riverhead, Auckland
Auckland, North Island
 

Been to Fernielea Licensed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing