We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Rolvenden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: he Bull Inn, is a Coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century, situated in Rolvenden at the heart of the Weald. With open fires and comfortable surroundings providing a refuse to weary travellers, locals and dogs alike.We pride ourselves on good home-cooked country pub food, using local produce wherever possible. We also offer prize winning wines and beers from local vineyards and the village’s own brewery ‘The Old Dairy’A warm welcome, daily specials and a monthly changing menu await you at The Bull.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Monday lunch on the spur of the moment to celebrate a friends birthday. Heaving with guests, lovely atmosphere, and very airy. Super menu and the food was hot and plentiful. Sweets were to die for, the apple tarte tatin with ginger and marmalade ice cream was superb. Such a warm welcome and time for a chat when presenting the bill, we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shervic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

We’re so glad you all had a jolly time and enjoyed our food and surroundings! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a fabulous review and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2018

We stopped by at about 6.15pm on a weekday evening to try and get something to eat prior to having a 7pm appointment 10 minutes away. We explained to the barmaid that we were in a real rush and would it be possible to get the food served asap, especially as we had a hungry 5 year old. The barmaid was absolutely lovely and did her best to advise which dishes would come most quickly. In fact all 4 of us were served, fed and watered by about 6.40! Lovely food and fantastic service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 900Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thanks for the good review - we do try to do our best! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We visited the pub during early evening, it was busy and I found it difficult to manoeuvre the occupied bar stools to get to the bar to order our meals. Once there, it took me a while to catch the eye of the landlord who was intent on serving his locals even though they were behind me in the queue. Eventually, one of the other staff saw my plight and served me. The menu offered a range of dishes and we certainly enjoyed our meals. It's commendable how well the locals are looked after it's just a shame that it has to be at the expense of passing trade.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Just had a very enjoyable meal at The Bull. Nice place, nice staff, nice food, nice beer. What more do you need I’d recommend the Stifado (can’t recommend anything else as my wife and I both had it). Will certainly return when next in the area

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank DouglasM3561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Thank you for the good review - we do appreciate you taking the time to do this - and future customers will too! I hope you’ll visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We stopped here for tea, coffee and cold drinks.

The staff are delightful and very helpful. My mint tea was delicious and served in a nice cup and saucer.

The interior decor in the bar area is really nice, with hops over the bar. The dining area inside is a bit old fashioned and the toilets could do with updating. Not sure about the two men in the outside seating area! A bit off-putting really.

Lots of plants and tubs of flowers in the outside seating area make for a really nice, welcoming, place to sit on a nice day. Plenty of car parking space.

All in all we would return.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Thanks for taking the trouble to write us a good review it’s much appreciated by all! I must explain, the gentleman outside are the Blues Brothers - most people are amused by them! The pub lavatories are not the newest but spotlessly clean, we don’t own the building and hope our customers are sympathetic to this issue! I hope you’ll return and try our delicious home cooked food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

 
Stone in Oxney, Kent
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing