We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views, roomy, and comfoartable...(with a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher The living room, with stove and wood floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher
The living room, with stove and wood floors
The kitchen, looking south west towards the Cliffs of Moher
Walking on the boreen, near the house
The garden and picnic table with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance
View from the boreen across the road, 10 minutes walk from the house
The cottage has five bedrooms with great views - here's bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
View from the front door of Galway Bay on a summer evening
Bedroom 5
Ballinalacken Castle - looking north from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 3
Cows at the edge of the Burren, down the boreen (the start of which is 2 minutes walk from the house
Another amazing sunset, seen from Gorse Cottage
In the sea with a couple of dolphins just a few metres away, Fanore beach
View from the front meadow looking out towards the Aran Isles
The house, taken from the garden on a summer evening
View of the coast northwards from the cottage, late evening
The western side of the house from the herb garden
A walk down the boreen, 400m from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CarrJL
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great views, roomy, and comfoartable...(with a few caveats)”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Looking to book a cottage for 6 adults on the west coast of Ireland, our search brought us to Gorse Cottage and it worked out very well. Located equidistant from the main streets of Doolin and the nearest grocery store in Lidoonvarna, the cottage is a bit secluded but not so far away from the towns that you feel isolated. Great views of Galway Bay and the Cliffs of Moher can be found from the upstairs bedrooms and the yard (and also from the kitchen windows if someone would attend to the overgrowth outside.)and the surrounding farmland is also quite lovely. An easy walk down the road will lead you to a view of The Burren's amazing stone formations making this a scenic locale. Two living spaces and a large kitchen area provides room for family togetherness or to find your own quiet space. Beds were comfortable, more so than many other rentals I've stayed at, and the bathrooms were modern with good water pressure. Heating system takes a bit of mastering but works well and cool damp nights can also be warmed up with a nice peat fire in two fireplaces. Lovely artwork throughout the house by one of the owners adds a nice element to the home and was much appreciated by this guest. The owner's father, Ted, lives right up the hill from this house and can be a great resource for information when and if needed.
Now for the caveats:
If you do a lot of your own cooking, be advised that while the steel pots are in good shape, but the non-stick frying pans that were once non-stick no longer fit this description. No blender and less than adequate items like peelers can make for some kitchen q adventures.
The TV and CD player are ancient by today's standards. (Two remotes one for just volume?) While this is not of vital importance, a better set up would be beneficial on a cold rainy night. Particularly when you combine this with a portable 3G mobile station with a limit on data, so streaming to replace the weak entertainment choices available can be a problem.
All in all, the house suited our needs and while I did have a few issues, it proved to be a good choice for our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views...
Liked least: Antiquted TV and kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Great to hear you had a good stay. All visitor feedback is very important to us as we really set our sights on ensuring that all of our guests have a first class stay. We have already resolved the smaller points you mentioned (frying pans and veg peeler) and I would ask any future guests to make sure they report any similar small inconveniences to Ted who lives next door and will replace any faulty items as quickly as possible (the kettle recently stopped working and he sent in his own kettle while a new one was being sourced!). There is a hand held food blender (mouli) which I hope you found. We'd also like to reassure guests that the internet signal at the house is generally very good, however based on this feedback we are considering if we can remove the one-off 10 euro top-up contribution request for guests that use more than 2Gb per week. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaK3451
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable New years visit, perfect setting, good friends and tunes!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gorse Cottage to celebrate New Years and it was the perfect cottage for us, we were a group of ten, 25-27 year old's. We wanted somewhere where we could sit by the fire, make dinner, have a few drinks and play a few tunes. This cottage catered perfectly for all of this. It was a pleasant surprise when we found out the owners father (who lives just up the hill) is a brilliant and well known, local musician and singer. We asked him to come over on New Years Eve, which he did, and we all played guitar and sang songs together, it added so much to our visit, absolutely brilliant.
The cottage itself is absolutely spotless and is very tasteful, it also has everything you could possibly need for cooking, cleaning etc. It caters perfectly for large groups and is very spacious. The setting is picture perfect and on a clear night, the amount of stars you can see in incredible! I'd recommend this cottage to anyone- We hope to return again in the Summer for some more tunes!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CissyLee
Lostine, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Spectacular Cottage”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is a spectacular cottage in a beautiful setting. We truly enjoyed our stay. It has all of the amenities while giving that wonderful country feel. Very clean and comfortable! I would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and cozy.
Liked least: Nothing - it was exactly what we hoped for!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwhitma
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“The house was amazing, I would definitely stay here again, it was exactly as advertised!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Gorse cottage in June with three adults and 5 teenagers! The house was beautiful it had everything we needed and more. There was more than enough room for all of us, we were not sure because booking over the Internet can be tricky but it was even better than we expected. The views were amazing. The owners dad is near by and he was an added bonus he was charming and helpful with his stories and tips about the area. We have already recommended the cottage to friends and we will hopefully be able to get back there ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable had everything we needed, just like home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, great views, large kitchen well-supplied with utensils
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing