We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a great place! We spent two great nights at Ballynalacken. Warm reception and the finest staff you will ever meet. We enjoyed the castle tour before dinner. The dinning experience was one of the best I have ever had. Five Star! We invited some guests for dinner who did not stay at the hotel. They were very welcome and went away promising to stay at the hotel on their next trip to Doolin. There is a cosy bar on the premises and the owner was so kind with his advise on the local area. I would highly recommend this establishment should you be in the Doolin, or county Clare area.

Paul & Jan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphymanohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Hello Paul and Jan
Thank you for taking time to post a review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you also for booking direct to avail of a seaview room.The kitchen staff are glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed dinner .
We look foward to meeting you and your friends in the future
Thanks again
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
272
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The first time we visited Ballinalacken Castle hotel we fell in love with the place and the location is an amazing added bonus. So it was an easy choice for us to pick Ballinalacken for our recent wedding. We held our reception in one room, had dinner in the restaurant and off to the bar for a sing song after. The food was out of this world and all our guests commented on the high standard plus the choice of local, fresh producce. The venue, the bedrooms and the location were all exceptional and I could not recommend it highly enough. Cecilia and her staff looked after everything we needed and all our needs were met. The views were spectacular for photos. All our guests enjoyed the weekend immensely and we even got a tour of the castle on the grounds. We had guests from the UK and the States and they have all mentioned coming back to Ballinalacken Castle in the future. This part of Co Clare has always been one of our favourite spots in Ireland so it was so special that we found Ballinalacken Castle Hotel to have our wedding. It will be a weekend we will never forget.
Edel & Seth

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Hello Edel
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,We are gald that you and seth enjoyed your big day with us.We have passed your comments on the food to the kitchen who were delighted.
As always it was our pleasure to host the wedding.We hope you enjoyed your honeymoon.
We wish you and seth every happiness in your future life together.
We look foward to having you and your families stay with us again.
From all the team at ballinalacken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Kids loved the horse and donkey and the tour of the castle. Would love to see it again if a restoration happens... the kids ran through the fields for hours and the Burren starts just down the road. The food was delicious, the rooms lovely.

Room Tip: If you want a 4 poster, you need to specify. Our room was a little cramped with a double and 2 sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hello Danielle
Thank you for the nice review.we are glad that your family enjoyed your stay and also the food.
Its great to hear the children had so much fun.Thank you also for booking direct with hotel to get a seaview room.The family rooms have a superking and sigle bed and on request we provide another single so that 4 people can share.We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
From all at Ballinalacken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at this perfect hotel. This is our second visit, our first was last summer. Last year we had booked through a third party site and were not allocated a seaview room, we were a little disappointed that they were fully booked and could not change our allocation. It was our own fault not to phone ahead. This year we rang ahead and booked a fab room and you could see for miles around the Cliffs of Moher and the Arran Islands. We had a dinner in the restaurant and it was very good. Afterwards we retired to our room with two brandys and watched the best sunset that I have ever seen. It was like a scene from the movies. We are into walking and we spent most of our days walking the Burren and also did the new cliffs walk. We have already booked again for the end of August for four days this time. If you are in the Doolin area do not pass this one.

Room Tip: Phone ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.We are glad you enjoyed you stay and your seaview room.
We are sorry that we could not provide you with a seaview room last year.As explained to you we give first perference on rooms to customers who book direct with the hotel website and not third party sites.we note your comments to us that you were confused about which was our website.We have a direct link to our site at the top of this page under our name and also tel number and email address.
We did take your advice at your recent stay and now have inserted "offical site "at our website address so that people will not get confused in the future.
We will have walking maps available for your visit in aug
We look foward to meeting you in aug
Regards declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were thrilled when we arrived at Ballinalacken Castle. Very pretty spot. We stayed one night, ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the bar! Food was great. The staff is very friendly and said "they would never say no to us". Declan gave us a tour of the real castle in the morning. We met Betsy the horse and Ned the donkey. Very interesting and very Irish. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this spot. We recommend the Cliffs of Moher from the top and also the boat tour in Doolin!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. Its just which great view would you like!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETM10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed the food and bar.It was my pleasure to show you around the old castle.Glad also that you enjoyed the rooms with the seaviews.Thank you for booking direct with hotel to gaurantee a seaview room.We hope to see you back again with us on your next trip.Enjoy the summer in new york.
From all the team at Ballinalacken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Top notch all the way around, the hotel is located a little ways outside of Doolin (Northish?) on a hill which overlooks the Irish Sea. The hotel was originally a manor house and has beautiful architectural details. Dinner and breakfast were both very nice. This property was acquired by the family of the present owner/operator in 1938 from the O'Brien family which held it for centuries, the Castle next door was an O'Brien castle. Really nice base for exploring County Clare. For Hotel guests wishing to experience the Doolin evening music scene, taxi service is cheap and easy from the Hotel to town and then you can either prearrange with the cab driver a time to fetch you for the return trip or he'll give you his number and you can call when you are ready. As good as it gets, in summation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccerfut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.We are glad you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast.We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Ireland.Thank you also for taking the time to book direct with the hotel to avail of one of our nice seaview rooms.If we ever visit New Orleans we will take up the offer to visit you.It was my pleasure to show you around the castle .
Do call to us again when you are in Ireland
Declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed one night, but it was our favorite hotel of our week in Ireland. We had an ocean view room-beautiful sunset. Ate dinner there, the food was superb. Decklin gave us a tour of the ruined castle which was extremely interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you April for your nice review of our hotel.It was my pleasure to show you around the O Brien towerhouse.I have passed your comments on the food to the kitchen who are delighted.
Thank you also for taking the time to book direct with the hotel to avail of one of our lovely four poster rooms with great views of the sunsets.We look foward to meeting you again .
Regards declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
4.5 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.6 km away
Aran View Country House
0.0 km away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.0 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
12.5 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing