We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!”
Review of The Lodge, Doolin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge, Doolin
Ranked #28 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have stayed at the Doolin Activity Lodge many times ove rthe past few years and wish to inform people about what a great place it is. Every room we have stayed in has been warm, comfortable and very clean. We have sampled both the Self Catering Units (all of them because of travelling in different sized groups) and the B&B rooms.
Most rooms have lovely views across Doolin and the fields down to the sea. When using the self catering apartments you can also choose to have breakfast in the on-site restaurant and it is always a good breakfast with lots of choice. Nothing is too much trouble.
If you choose self catering - the apartments consist of either 1, 2, 3 or 4 en-suite bedrooms. Each bedroom is lockable so if you aren't using the whole apartment your valuables are safe. Each apartment has it's own lounge, dining area and kitchen.
If you choose B&B you also have the use of a very modern and comfortable kitchen, dining room and lounge with books etc provided.
The Lodge is run by a lovely family from Doolin who are very happy to help you with any queries etc you may have about places to go etc.
The position of the Lodge is also perfect and is in easy walking distance of the 3 pubs which each have traditional music available every night. It is also a nice walk down to the sea (approx 15 minutes walk) past all of the little gift shops and the Music Cafe so plenty of places to stop for a coffee or an ice cream. We have also completed the walk to the Cliffs of Moher a couple of times which is exhilirating and breathtaking but correct footwear and clothing should be worn as it can be quite dangerous in places due to the height of the cliffs.
We really can't compliment this place highly enough - you just have to visit yourself to check it out. Each time we come home and somebody asks about our holiday on the West Coast of Ireland we tell them it should be compulsory for everybody to visit at least once!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely views over fields down to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATHERINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just back from a fantastic girls weekend in the Doolin Activity Lodge. The lodge is located so close to doolin village, only 5 minute walk. There were approx 14 of us and we had a whole block of rooms to ourselves, including a sitting room and huge kitchen. The rooms were really modern, beds were super comfortable and they were really clean. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic and set us up for the day. We were well situated close to Lahinch where we went surfing, so its a great place to base yourself if touring around west Clare. The owners were always popping in and out of the lodge making sure that you have everything you need, they were so helpful to us. We would definitely visit the lodge again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We enjoyed staying at this B&B. Room was spacious and very nice with huge tub. Floors could have been a little cleaner, but otherwise the room was very clean. Unfortunately the free WiFi didn't reach our room, so we did some web surfing in the parking lot :) Breakfast was great, especially the french toast, which was amazing! I can't say that the front desk (a young man) was very helpful in planning our cliffs of moher cruise, but he responded to our few requests. Great location for walking to both parts of town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

If your looking for somewhere with great Trad music Doolin is the spot and stay at the Activity Lodge. I have stayed there several times Very good rooms, lovely breakfast. Deidre and staff are first rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T.McN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here for a second time (firstime was 2.5 years ago), the location is great, the rooms are spotless. I think Doolin Activity Lodge is quite good value for money. There is lots of parking available and its a short walk in either direction to Doolin or Fisherstreet. The only area I think that could be improved on is the breakfast, its quite greasy and could do with more healthy options, fresh fruit and irish jams. Overall a nice stay!

Room Tip: Room 46, 3 double beds, great for a group or family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed a room with three beds and a small lounge/kitchen area. It was spacious enough for all three people and it was nice to have tea/coffee to prepare in a separate room. The bathroom was a little small and the shower head was a little too low (I'm about 6 foot). A few friends stayed in the larger adjacent apartment which has a lot of spare living space if that's what you're looking for in a bed and breakfast.

The restaurant above had a lot of options for breakfast and the food was good.

The accommodations themselves are pretty equidistant between most of the local pubs and not too far a walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standardGeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I and my mother stayed here for two nights in mid May 2011. Our rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The only downside to this B&B was the lack of electrical outlets in the room. It's a little hard to charge a phone or use a hair dryer with only one available outlet. They had free wi-fi and computers available in the reception area as well as free parking. All in all, we had a nice stay. Doolin is a cute little town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.9 km away
Aran View Country House
8.4 km away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
103 reviews
2.6 km away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
146 reviews
0.4 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
477 reviews
1.2 km away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#5 of 20 in Doolin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge, Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge, Doolin

Address: Doolin, Doolin, Ireland (Formerly Doolin Activity Lodge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: $109 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, Doolin is located on the Wild Atlantic Way in the centre of Doolin village. The renowned Gus O'Connor's pub is a 3 minute walk from here where you will hear some great traditional music sessions. Doolin is an ideal base from where you can explore the vast Burren region, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the neighbouring counties of Galway and Kerry. We have luxurious sea view rooms, large ground floor family rooms, wheelchair accessible rooms and private suites which are ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together. The Lodge is non smoking and we provide free parking and free WiFi throughout. Breakfast is served in our courtyard dining room and we have a varied menu catering for all tastes. We offer an on site laundry service and are happy to book any tours or trips that you wish to take during your stay as well as being on hand for any other information you require. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay with us here at The Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge, Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing